We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another FABULOUS stay at Barcelo Tambor Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Tambor Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Tambor Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Tambor Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another FABULOUS stay at Barcelo Tambor Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

During our annual trip to Costa Rica, the entire family absolutely looks forward to our stay at Barceló Tambor Beach. It is the one thing we do the same every year. This year was no different. The accommodations, dining, staff, activities, entertainment, etc. all absolutely get my highest recommendation. The security is also great. There is a safe in every room and there is plenty of space to fit phones, tablets, and other valuables. In addition, when we forgot and left one of the tablets out, the cleaning staff left a note reminding us to utilize the safe - and it was also signed and witnessed by a security guard. We - and our valuables - felt perfectly safe, as we always do.

There is plenty to do - for adults or kids, including a kids club and a teen center. Group activities are scheduled throughout the day or you can choose to do your own thing. You can also book excursions directly from the hotel. Free rentals are available for kayaks, boogie boards, beach volleyball, tennis, archery, etc. The nature, animals, and other scenery are fabulous - and there is an refuge nearby if you want to visit.

We speak English and Spanish, but there are no issues here for those who only speak English. The staff, including the entertainment staff, make everyone feel welcome and plenty of them speak English.

If you have any questions or need suggestions, please feel free to send me a private message and I would be happy to help.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are available for a slightly higher cost - well worth it. Otherwise, any room is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    72
    45
    22
    21
See reviews for
109
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for our honeymoon - stayed 6 nights but could have stayed longer. We didn't do everything on offer, and we really loved being there. Honestly, a beach view room wasn't worth it - we were out doing things or at the pool all day. Such a lovely place!

Food varied at the buffet
Staff lovely pleasant helpful
Rooms extremely clean - cleaners a constant but subtle presence in the hotel
Amazing pool (best one I've ever been In?!)
2 incredible restautants: miyako (japanese) and el rancho (steak and seafood)
Wide selection of all inclusive cocktails and smoothies on tap from 10am- 10pm. What's even more delicious is that you can swim up to Ron Ron, the pool bar, and perch there in the warm but refreshing water all day if you wish and get very merry with the other guests.
Fluffy towels in the room and at the poolside
The gardens are beautiful and teaming with wildlife: colourful butterflies, large iguanas and skinny lime green lizards, crabs who scuttle in off the beach, and majestic scarlet macaw parrots nesting in the palms.
Activities: kayaking, volleyball, tropical dance lessons, water aerobics, table tennis, mini golf among the free ones, with extra activities (e.g. horse riding and off site excursions to conservation reserves and snorkeling trips) which you have to pay for.
Parking easy
Guest services - should know more about the area e.g. where the nearest pharmacy is, how much entry is to the national conservation reserve.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter one far from the action ask for room number "600 and something".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was very helpful and understood English very well. The front desk helped me get my phone hooked up to internet.
I made a few requests for a bday for one of the guests and the Hotel went above and beyond!!! David, Laura and Carlos are great!!
The concierge team is amazing!! Gonzalo, Tathia and Alex. They can get your excursions set up for you to enjoy everything there is to do at reasonable prices.
From zip lining to snorkeling. Our questions were answered and the guides on the tours are well educated on Costa Rica. JC was an excellent tour guide to Curo and Tortuga island.
The hotel food is excellent. The buffet had choices for everyone.
Rooms are clean and fresh. Bedding is nice.
Beach view rooms are amazing.
We enjoyed the nightly entertainment and took in the nature sights by day. The birds all around the property are beautiful.
Even the squirrels are pretty.
My group did not want to leave ....next time we will stay longer.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son had been here before and enjoyed it. When he called this time to make reservations he stressed that he needed handicap accessible. He walks with a walker. He was assured that it was. It was not!! Instead he had to spend 7 days in a wheel chair because of the dangerous, slippery tiles. No one spoke English, not even the staff or management. We were the only English speaking people in the whole resort. The tile around the pool and in the restaurants was extremely slippery. We saw quite a few people fall including ourselves. The food was for the most part very greasy. The help tried to be helpful but was unable to communicate with us. My daughter in law couldn't even get cold milk for the baby because of the lack of communication. There were no shows at nite. Their idea of a show was a half hour of games for children and they only spoke Spanish. The beach was advertised as white sand. It was muddy and dirty. We ended up leaving 2 days early and going to San Jose. I've travelled quite a bit and I've never been so unhappy with a place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

For one it takes 3 hours from the airport!!! That charges $250. It's up a bunch of scary dirt road. The hotel was nice but not worth going for this location, I was ready to turn around and go back to the US before even getting in the cab. There is no beautiful scenery outside of the hotel. Wifi is not included and if you pay for wifi and you have more than one device u can only use one device at a time IN THE ROOM. There is no wifi on other hotel areas. The food was plain disgusting, would have thought that would have been at the least ok. This is my first day here and I still have some days to go hopefully it gets better but other than that I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE AT ALL!!! Come at your own risk

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ms. Kimberley H.:

Receive our greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach Hotel.

We really appreciate the time spent to post your comments through this website.

The Barceló Tambor Beach hotel is located 3 hours from San Jose airport (Juan Santamaria Airport), where you can take the highway to Puntarenas (Route 27) completely paved and then continues your trip by ferry (1 hour and 30 minutes) you are going to arrive in Paquera, just 20 minutes away from the Hotel.

Around the hotel, if would you like, you can go to the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve or Curu, also visit Montezuma's waterfalls and enjoy one of most beautiful sunsets on one of the beaches with a big surf tourism as Mal Pais.

The hotel has wireless internet service, which is not included in the all inclusive. Each key is for a device at a time and If the customer wants to get a password for more than one device at a time, it is necessary gets other password for other device, you can ask for it in reception.

Regarding the food, we consider that your point of view is very important and we are going to work together with the kitchen staff to improve the variety and quality of our menus.

Once again, thanks for posting your comments, which help us to be better every day.

Yours faithfully,

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Principal
Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you are used to five star resorts you may want to look elsewhere. Although this is a nice resort there are many things that could be done to make the experience nicer.
This was our first time in Costa Rica and to be honest I really thought that the resort would be similar to some other resorts we've been to, I was wrong. The staff was helpful but for the most part we felt like an inconvenience due to the fact that we did not speak Spanish. At a resort where many of guests are from Canada and the US it would be beneficial for their staff to be fluent in English.
The food was average at best. I admit that I am a picky eater and expect that the food for me would be less than desirable however, I travelled with 2 people who are not picky eaters and they were disappointed at the selection. It seems as though the food was either the same or slightly different each day. For guests that are staying for a week or more selection in the menu would be a welcomed change.
The pool was nice...more lounge chairs would be a good idea with additional umbrellas for shade coverage. On a couple of occasions after getting drinks from the pool bar we took the drinks to the other end of the pool and then were told by security that we could not have the drinks in that end of the pool...to be honest this is the most ridiculous rule at the pool. What is the difference if I drink at that end of the pool or the other? Nothing!
The rooms.. We stayed in a room that had 2 double beds. The beds were comfy and the bedding clean. The room overall could use a remodel, it's a little dated. The a/c was great, very powerful which was nice. Nice television with some English stations. The bathroom needs an overhaul. In the shower there was mildew, no water pressure. The cleaning staff provided a room of 3 guests 4 bath towels, 1 hand towel and no facecloths! The toilet paper although 2 ply was like wiping with cheap paper towel! (It's the little things)
The cleaning staff always did a nice job of tidying the room.
Overall the resort is average in my opinion and a bit disappointing. We had a good time and made the best of our girls vacation creating new memories....
Would I go back to this resort? I'm on the fence about this. I believe that some things need to change at this resort to give your guests a more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ms. Meloney D.:

Receive our greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach Hotel.

Thanks for post your comments on this website.

We have taken seriously your opinion and we are working on each of the observations described, to continue growing and trying to be better every day.

We are grateful if you give us an opportunity to meet the improvements that we are making, and we hope again to have your presence and your family in our facilities.

Once again, thanks for the time spent in publish your opinions.

Yours faithfully,

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Principal
Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Months later, my 6 and 9-year old still talk about the fun activities here, as well as the pools, food and also the macaws! There's quite a bit to keep young ones occupied between arts and crafts, trampoline, the various pools, and the macaw area (as well as spotting the wild macaws and watching the huge iguanas lounge about the property).

My son got a cut while in the ocean, and one of the dance instructors scooped him up and rushed him off to the on-site doctor, who thoroughly cleaned the wound and bandaged it. It's nice to have competent medical staff on site when traveling with kids.

The serpentarium seemed sort of untended too, but this is a minor detail.

I didn't see lifeguards on duty at the pool, though perhaps there were. As a safety precaution I'd make sure my kids were out of the pool before dusk, as it was hard to find them in the dim, crowded pools once it got dark (and night falls fast in the tropics!).

Also, for the trampoline and wall climbing, kids need to sign up at the activity area at like 10am. The activities then take place in the afternoon, but I saw several people show up disappointed because they missed the sign saying they needed to sign up beforehand.

The room was very comfortable and looked out onto a pleasant green space. The gardens are very pretty, and the maintenance crew unobtrusive. There was always fresh fruit and water available which is nice in the heat, and the meals were satisfying, if not always spectacular, but then again they are preparing food for hundreds!

A definite easy vacation with little ones, and beautiful views from the beach ... watching the planes come in off the ocean to land on the little strip next to the hotel was also neat for my kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Ms Sophia.

Thanks for publishing your comments on this website.

For us is a big pleasure to get to know your stay in our resort have met your expectations.

We thank your comments regarding our activities staff and the medical support.

We take into consideration your observations related to the serpentarium and the inscription of the activities aimed to get better in our customer service

Once again thank you very much for having the time to let us know about your experience in our hotel.

Best regards;
Raúl Arranz
Director Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Tambor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor Beach

Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tambor Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Barcelo, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Tambor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Tambor Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.