We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Tambor Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Tambor Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Tambor Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Brandywine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greatest Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First let me start by saying this hotel was much better than I expected. The photos on the website did not do the hotel justice. I have to give the staff at the Steak House kudos for the dinner on Thursday 26, June 2014. There was an unexpected storm and we were forced from the dining area into the actual kitchen by high winds and rain. The staff still prepared a meal for us and everyone that chose to stick around was served a great meal. Absolutely fabulous

Room Tip: If you want a hammock ask for a corner room. Even though a hammock will not make the trip it may ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Notlrac 1971:

Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach resort& spa hotel.

Thank you very much for the time you spent on writing a comment through this website.

We have proceeded to congratulated our staff at the steak house “El rancho”, aimed they keep on working in such excellent manner and customer service.

It is a honor to know we have met your expectations during your visit in our facilities.

We hope to have you once again in our resort.

Best regards;
Raul Arranza
Braceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    83
    50
    23
    25
See reviews for
122
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The all inclusive price seemed great for the food, drink, and activities. Room comfy. Expect only one beer option, which was good local, but different varieties of light vs regular would have been great. Sunrise was beautiful on the beach, just be sure to wear shoes at the beach with the rocks. Glad we had our Keens. Only a few people knew english and we knew very little spanish, so it was a game of charades with hand gestures, but everyone was still nice and friendly. We only stayed 3 nights but had no problems making reservations two of those mornings for both special resturants for two of the nights. The food there was delicious. Compared to the other places we stayed around Costa Rica, This place was not evironmentally friendly at all! Every other hotel stressed how they wanted to conserve water, electricity, and recyling was huge. However at Barcelo every drink cup (paper, plastic and styrofoam) all went to the trash, what a waste. Maybe they should incorporate a refillable cup???!!! Dont expect to have free internet, that is not part of the all inclusive (alot extra!!). It wasnt really needed but it would have been great to check-in to flights and look up directions for a few places with out the huge fee. They have a trail where you can observe the parrots, macaws, and wild mokeys. One description stated the macaws are endangered and a breeding program was on the premises. BUT It would have been great to have an explaination of why some of the animals were there since some parrots looked like they could fly and should be released if so. Horses were also in a dirt/rock area with very minimal shade, I wanted to ride just to get them out and to some grass. They looked healthy but I still felt bad. So it was more like a non educational, captive zoo :( We went in late May, which was low tourist season and high time for the locals. Golf resort nearby, 9 hole course was good. Also near Montezuma, great place for souviners and at a great value! Resort also near ferry for easy travel back to San Jose. Good value Resort, just wish there werent so wasteful.

Room Tip: I did not not have a room option, luckily we ended up with a good view balcony and beach in the dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
2014 GatorFans;

We highly appreciate the time you spent writing your experience through this webpage.

We are so content our hotel met your expectations.

In regards with the recycling comments, It´s our duty to let you know about our recycling inner program. In which our staff is in charge of discriminate

the waste into non recyclable and recyclable matter. The waste are divided and sent to some companies for an appropriated treatment.

The waste which are non recycle are sent to a treatment plant under Ministerio de Salud authorization.

Every single room is equipped with special devices which main function is to control and measure the use of the electricity through a small box

which is located in the left side of the threshold at the main room entrance.

The hotel also has an reputable biologist for animal treatment as well as the flora and before mentioned fauna.

We have proceeded to make pamphlets of information or flyers for the customer to know about our recycling programs and green sustainability with the environment.

Once again, thank you very much; we hope to see you back in our facilities.

Att: Raúl Arranz
Director Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have been to several places for warm weather vacations: Aruba, Cayman's, St. John, Thailand, Hong Kong, Philippines, and I have to rate our vacation at Barcelo Tambor in Costa Rica the biggest bargain of them all. The biggest surprise was the park and aviary in the resort, which provided wildlife watching without having to hike great distances. In fact, without binoculars or a long camera lens, we identified about 15 wild bird species we'd never seen before. There were, of course, another dozen or so domestic or in the aviary, including a spectacular Peacock. Ever see a Scarlet Macaw feed a hungry Green Macaw? We did!
We found the buffet and snack bars to be a bit below average, and the steak and Japanese restaurants to be average, though the steak restaurant has a terrific ambiance right by the water. The gym is also below average, though I've never found a good one in any of our warm weather vacations. The beach is pleasant, and the pools are large and very clean.
We had good experiences with the staff and the operators that did the tours. (It's great if you speak even a little Spanish.) We can heartily recommend the Tortugas tour and the zip-lining experience, and some of the local talent puts on decent live music in the evening (sometimes).
One other caveat: the trip from Liberia Airport takes 3.5 hours on the road, and some of that road is dirt, perhaps as much as an hour of it. If it rains, some portions of the dirt road seem downright dangerous, though our driver seemed unfazed. There is a Tambor airstrip less than one mile from the resort. Next time we go (and we will) we will check out local air travel to get there.
If you're looking for a a bargain in a warm weather vacation, we think you will be pleased at Barcelo Tambor.

Room Tip: Don't take a late flight from the NYC area. There is a long ride from Liberia to the Airport. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Mr Maine

We are more than happy for the publication of your comments through this webpage.

We are taking into consideration your observations you made about the buffet restaurant and Japanese restaurant too.

We have had a reunion with our executive chef who will be focusing on those important spots.

It would be a real pleasure for us if you will be able to give us a second opportunity of enjoy our resort,

We hope to have you in a near future.

Best regards;

Att: Raúl A.
Director Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I visit Costa Rica a lot and have never had good service. Not like cancun or Punta Cana anyways. That being said, the buffet at Barcelo did not disappoint with their bad service. There are two specialty restaraunts however that surprised me with good service. You have to make reservations for these restaraunts, for every 2 days stayed you get one reservation. The beach is nice and there was zip lining and scuba diving fairly close. Don't book through the hotel, you will pay an extra $30-$40. They gave my wife and I a room with 2 full beds. Did they want us to sleep separately?? Overall the food was not too bad, but lacked variety.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Steven

Thank you very much for let us know about your comments on this website.

Regarding with the beds, the hotel has king size beds that are available when you request your reservation.

We fully appreciate the comments related with customer service and food. We´ve talked with the executive Chef for him to expand the variety and presentation about the food at the buffet in our main restaurant.

We hope to count with you in our facilities.

Best regards.

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Barceló Tambor Beach in Costa Rica and were VERY disappointed. This is an all inclusive resort but after staying at several other all inclusive resorts in Costa Rica we would never recommend this location. Front end staff were very unfriendly and not helpful to say the least. We were needing to have wifi to stay in touch with our business back home and after paying the ridiculous amount for wifi it wouldn't even work sitting directly across from front desk. The room was clean and a very comfortable bed but the food was NOT good in many respects. Pools were dirty. An overall BIG disappointment. If you are planning to go to Costa Rica and want to stay All Inclusive I HIGHLY recommend RIU Gunacaste, RIU Palace or Barceló Langosta.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Mr Quapp,

We really appreciate your feedback made through this webpage and fully regret your stay in our resort didn´t met your expectations, we have been working in each one of the several observations aimed to improve our customer service.

Our hotel is going thru a renovation, in fact our internet service and antennas has been changed in order to achieve a better coverage and speed regards our conexion.

Likewise, we have proceeded to replace and expand our pool staff, in order to accomplish our hygienic parameters set by the company.

We would love to have you once again in our hotel if you eventually decide to logde so you may personal see the changes and improvements we have been doing.

Thank you very much for your time and for let us know about your experience in our hotel.

Best regards;
Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had an excellent time in our vacation. The service we received was amazing. The whole staff was very helpful. Special thanks to Edwin, Luis and Marjorie. They were wonderful!! Went out of their way to accommodate me and my friends.

All the surrounding was just amazing. The parrots, monkeys, iguanas and having the stable on site was very convenient and very affordable. Juan at the stable gave me the best horse back riding I ever had.

As for food I have to say that vegetables and fruits were so fresh. The Japanese restaurant had extremely fresh sushi.

My recommendation would be to have free wi-fi. It is so surprising that it isn't included; when visiting tambor I notice a small little hotel advertising free wifi. Makes me wonder why the bar ell wouldn't offer this service.

Activities were great, dancing, aqua aerobic and water sports. However the shows at night were just plain awful... Ended up going to bed early as sitting there was just not tolerable and there was no escaping it..

I would definitely go back. All staff try to accommodate even though we were not speaking Spanish, their smile was genuine!!

Julie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Ms Julie;

Thanks for publishing your comments on this website.

For Barceló Tambor Beach is a real pleasure to know that our hotel met your expectations for your vacation at the resort.

We will be willing to deliver your congratulations to our mentioned staff and the chef of the Japanese restaurant.

In according to the free Wi-Fi, this is a non-included service as well as the national and international phone calls.

We had let know to our lead entertainment about your comments regarding with this service and we have been working to improve our night time shows.

It would be a pleasure for us to count with you among our very distinguished customers.

Greetings;

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our family of four spent a week at this resort during March break. We booked through Nolitours and flew into the resort from San Jose, and everything went smoothly. We upgraded to an Oceanview room, and were put into building 3 with the closest view. It was magnificient, just down the stairs and less than 30 seconds onto the beautiful sandy beach with plenty of empty loungers under the palm trees. It was never crowded, and rarely more than 15 people on the whole stretch at a time. The front desk can tell you when is low tide and you can walk 15 mins. across the river to Tambor beach, a little south of resort. Not much difference but a nice walk along the beach. The surfs were amazing, like a warm wave pool, and we can hear it from our rooms. You can walk way out into the water during lower tides, and even higher tides. I am not a beach person, but I spent as much time in the water as my kids (ages 12 and 16). It was great, no crowds of teenagers and it was March break. The pools were never crowded. There were locals there but that is to be expected, and they were very friendly. Their summer break is mid Dec. to mid Feb. The restaurants provided great service, and local, traditional cuisines, which we really appreciated. I liked that they didn't try to imitate North American menus, although you can still have omlettes....We did several excursions, which were excellent value. We did the zip line and Montezuma which was $70USpp, reasonable considering a taxi is $40 each way. Also went to Curu and Tortuga, and the sun set dinner at Mal Pais. The biggest bargain is the horseback riding offered at the resort. We did the 2 hours for $34 which went into the mountains and then back along the beach. We didn't have time or we would've also done the $17 hour on the beach. The horses were pretty tame, and it was the first time my daughter was on a horse. March and April are the hottest months, still very dry in early March. Then it goes to rainy season. I gave this resort a 4 because it is older, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the grounds are immaculate. It is located in a protected area so it is still unspoiled, very natural with an abundance of wildlife. They have excellent live entertainment, but it's ashamed that they start so late that they play to a big empty venue. We were up before 7am most days to enjoy the surf. Thanks to JC, the guide from Sun Trail tours, Charles from Nolitours, and Alex at the resort, all of whom helped plan our fun excursions. We loved our time here and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ocean view is great, but you'll miss the "monkey shows" people are raving about closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear customer;

Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, thanks so much for the time it took to publish your comment.
We are very glad to know that your stay in our resort was important to your family and you had a great time while you were in here.
Each one of your comments and observations make us thrive and improve as hotel and our staff is permanently opened to receive suggestions not only to grow, but also to exchange ideas and implement as result, a better customer service.
Once again thank you very much for choosing Barceló Tambor Beach as you vacation place, we have been honored to receive a great customer that became a friend of our big family.

We hope to have you in our hotel in future vacation.

Best regards;
Raul Arranz
Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Tambor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor Beach

Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tambor Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Tambor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Tambor Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.