We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for cost rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Tambor Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Tambor Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Tambor Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tambor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not bad for cost rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visit Costa Rica a lot and have never had good service. Not like cancun or Punta Cana anyways. That being said, the buffet at Barcelo did not disappoint with their bad service. There are two specialty restaraunts however that surprised me with good service. You have to make reservations for these restaraunts, for every 2 days stayed you get one reservation. The beach is nice and there was zip lining and scuba diving fairly close. Don't book through the hotel, you will pay an extra $30-$40. They gave my wife and I a room with 2 full beds. Did they want us to sleep separately?? Overall the food was not too bad, but lacked variety.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Steven

Thank you very much for let us know about your comments on this website.

Regarding with the beds, the hotel has king size beds that are available when you request your reservation.

We fully appreciate the comments related with customer service and food. We´ve talked with the executive Chef for him to expand the variety and presentation about the food at the buffet in our main restaurant.

We hope to count with you in our facilities.

Best regards.

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    48
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
71
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Barceló Tambor Beach in Costa Rica and were VERY disappointed. This is an all inclusive resort but after staying at several other all inclusive resorts in Costa Rica we would never recommend this location. Front end staff were very unfriendly and not helpful to say the least. We were needing to have wifi to stay in touch with our business back home and after paying the ridiculous amount for wifi it wouldn't even work sitting directly across from front desk. The room was clean and a very comfortable bed but the food was NOT good in many respects. Pools were dirty. An overall BIG disappointment. If you are planning to go to Costa Rica and want to stay All Inclusive I HIGHLY recommend RIU Gunacaste, RIU Palace or Barceló Langosta.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mr Quapp,

We really appreciate your feedback made through this webpage and fully regret your stay in our resort didn´t met your expectations, we have been working in each one of the several observations aimed to improve our customer service.

Our hotel is going thru a renovation, in fact our internet service and antennas has been changed in order to achieve a better coverage and speed regards our conexion.

Likewise, we have proceeded to replace and expand our pool staff, in order to accomplish our hygienic parameters set by the company.

We would love to have you once again in our hotel if you eventually decide to logde so you may personal see the changes and improvements we have been doing.

Thank you very much for your time and for let us know about your experience in our hotel.

Best regards;
Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent time in our vacation. The service we received was amazing. The whole staff was very helpful. Special thanks to Edwin, Luis and Marjorie. They were wonderful!! Went out of their way to accommodate me and my friends.

All the surrounding was just amazing. The parrots, monkeys, iguanas and having the stable on site was very convenient and very affordable. Juan at the stable gave me the best horse back riding I ever had.

As for food I have to say that vegetables and fruits were so fresh. The Japanese restaurant had extremely fresh sushi.

My recommendation would be to have free wi-fi. It is so surprising that it isn't included; when visiting tambor I notice a small little hotel advertising free wifi. Makes me wonder why the bar ell wouldn't offer this service.

Activities were great, dancing, aqua aerobic and water sports. However the shows at night were just plain awful... Ended up going to bed early as sitting there was just not tolerable and there was no escaping it..

I would definitely go back. All staff try to accommodate even though we were not speaking Spanish, their smile was genuine!!

Julie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Ms Julie;

Thanks for publishing your comments on this website.

For Barceló Tambor Beach is a real pleasure to know that our hotel met your expectations for your vacation at the resort.

We will be willing to deliver your congratulations to our mentioned staff and the chef of the Japanese restaurant.

In according to the free Wi-Fi, this is a non-included service as well as the national and international phone calls.

We had let know to our lead entertainment about your comments regarding with this service and we have been working to improve our night time shows.

It would be a pleasure for us to count with you among our very distinguished customers.

Greetings;

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of four spent a week at this resort during March break. We booked through Nolitours and flew into the resort from San Jose, and everything went smoothly. We upgraded to an Oceanview room, and were put into building 3 with the closest view. It was magnificient, just down the stairs and less than 30 seconds onto the beautiful sandy beach with plenty of empty loungers under the palm trees. It was never crowded, and rarely more than 15 people on the whole stretch at a time. The front desk can tell you when is low tide and you can walk 15 mins. across the river to Tambor beach, a little south of resort. Not much difference but a nice walk along the beach. The surfs were amazing, like a warm wave pool, and we can hear it from our rooms. You can walk way out into the water during lower tides, and even higher tides. I am not a beach person, but I spent as much time in the water as my kids (ages 12 and 16). It was great, no crowds of teenagers and it was March break. The pools were never crowded. There were locals there but that is to be expected, and they were very friendly. Their summer break is mid Dec. to mid Feb. The restaurants provided great service, and local, traditional cuisines, which we really appreciated. I liked that they didn't try to imitate North American menus, although you can still have omlettes....We did several excursions, which were excellent value. We did the zip line and Montezuma which was $70USpp, reasonable considering a taxi is $40 each way. Also went to Curu and Tortuga, and the sun set dinner at Mal Pais. The biggest bargain is the horseback riding offered at the resort. We did the 2 hours for $34 which went into the mountains and then back along the beach. We didn't have time or we would've also done the $17 hour on the beach. The horses were pretty tame, and it was the first time my daughter was on a horse. March and April are the hottest months, still very dry in early March. Then it goes to rainy season. I gave this resort a 4 because it is older, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the grounds are immaculate. It is located in a protected area so it is still unspoiled, very natural with an abundance of wildlife. They have excellent live entertainment, but it's ashamed that they start so late that they play to a big empty venue. We were up before 7am most days to enjoy the surf. Thanks to JC, the guide from Sun Trail tours, Charles from Nolitours, and Alex at the resort, all of whom helped plan our fun excursions. We loved our time here and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ocean view is great, but you'll miss the "monkey shows" people are raving about closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear customer;

Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, thanks so much for the time it took to publish your comment.
We are very glad to know that your stay in our resort was important to your family and you had a great time while you were in here.
Each one of your comments and observations make us thrive and improve as hotel and our staff is permanently opened to receive suggestions not only to grow, but also to exchange ideas and implement as result, a better customer service.
Once again thank you very much for choosing Barceló Tambor Beach as you vacation place, we have been honored to receive a great customer that became a friend of our big family.

We hope to have you in our hotel in future vacation.

Best regards;
Raul Arranz
Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This was the 4th time we were at Barcelo Tambor. We went back because we always loved it, but this time were very disappointed. The first day my husband went out early and put our towels on chairs on the beach, which we had done every other time, and when we got there they were gone. We had to pay for internet service; which is terrible there! We've travelled all over Costa Rica and never paid for internet at any other hotel. The last day, we went for a walk on the beach, left our sandals by the chairs, came back and they were gone.
The buffet wasn't what it used to be and service was not what it used to be either! So sorry that a place we used to love is a place we will now never go back to!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ms Sally S.

We appreciate the time you invest in publishing your comment on this website and we fully regret about your recently stay in our hotel wasn´t good for you.

According with the incident on the beach, we have already gather our security staff and some changes has been made such an increase on the number of security members in order to avoid thefts and missing belongings.

In the same reunion with the different departments we argued about your comments regarding food and the restaurant customer service. Therefore, we landed to the conclusion that we must improve the food appearance and the quality too as well as the given treat at the main restaurant.

It would be a real pleasure for us to give you a second perspective and so you may know about the several improvements made at the hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your time and for your comments.

Regards;

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff at the hotel was very friendly, joval and helpful with questions and concerns and spoke very good english. The resort grounds surrounding the resort is bonita (beautiful) at the pool side or a few steps to the beach. The only set back is the food not very tasty not sure if the resort is cutting back on their budget. The only time I enjoyed the food was at the El Ranch Steak House & Sea Food on the premises. I found out by speaking to another guest who told me about it. You have to line up by 8.00 am in the morning at the front desk to make a reservation because its only 10% of the guest are allowed to dine each day. Its a great place to relax.......

Room Tip: Corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear customer;

Greetings from Barcelo Tambor Beach,

Thank you very much for the time it took to write a review. We are more than pleased to know our resort met your expectations. In fact it´s very gratifying to know that you stay in our hotel was special and heartwarming.
According with the food issue, I personally have spoken to the chef in order to improve the quality of meals and beverages and we are trying to incorporate day by day a variety of different meals aimed to fill guest necessities and their likes ..
Again, thank you very much we hope to have you in a future vacation.

Regards;
Raul A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed Monday- Saturday. The room was decent size, clean and comfortable. It, like the rest of the resort, is well kept, but not new and shows some signs of age. The resort is on the smaller side of the All-inclusives that we have been too. Great because you don't have to walk a mile to get to restaurants, lobby, bars, etc. It is a little limited in the variety of food, but it was pretty good. Tons of wildlife around. Iguanas and macaws are all over. There is a macaw breeding facility on the property. Great nature trails. Monkeys in the trees near the spa around 5pm. The beach is darker sand and a little rocky in places, but beautiful! The water is like bathwater. The resort is set in the middle of a private cove. There are no other resorts or houses. Most employees speak at least a little English. All of them were VERY friendly. As some other people have said, it gets busier on the weekend with locals. It was still not what I would consider crowed though. During the week it was almost deserted. No problem any day finding a good spot on the beach or getting a cocktail. Took an ATV tour through the forest along the coast. More monkeys, great views, a waterfall and got to see some local neighborhoods, highly recommend it. Also took a snorkeling tour. Started with a short shuttle to national park. More monkeys, deer and other wildlife. Then took a small boat a short cruise to a floating dock area. Incredible fish! Then lunch and time to explore on a private white sand beach with crystal clear water. DO NOT MISS THIS!!! It made the whole trip!! The "airport" is literally next to the resort. It was about a 1/2 hour flight from the airport in San Jose. Tiny 12 seat plane, single prop. A bit bouncy, but its over quickly and beats the 3 hour trip if you take the ferry. The people who really stood out: Ivan, the bartender in the lobby bar, best margaritas I've ever had. Guarr , waiter in the steakhouse. He was very attentive, helpful, outstanding service. Gonzalo, arranges excursions, transportation and restaurant reservations. He was great, didn't try to push the trips, just explained everything honestly and took care of the details. Overall if you are looking for a spectacular, private location to relax and enjoy this is perfect. If you are looking for glitzy, super modern and high end go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room 245, ocean view. No issues. All rooms seem to be pretty much the same, except for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear customer,

Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach,

We must thank you for the published comments and observations made in this website.

We found ourselves very happy to know that your stay in our resort was heartwarming and the hotel met your expectations as well as the different excursions and the surroundings.

We have congratulated to the staff in order to keep on working with the same enthusiasm.

Once again We thank for your comments and we hope to count with you again in our resort.

Best regards;

Raúl Arranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Tambor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor Beach

Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Barcelo Playa Tambor
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica
Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tambor Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Tambor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Tambor Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.