We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, service was not so pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Tambor Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Tambor Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Tambor Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice stay, service was not so pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel was overall good. The rooms were just renovated and they added some nice features. Unfortunately there were some things that I didn't like about them...pillows are terrible!!!

Food was ok but nothing special, good and plenty of options to choose from. I didn't like the fact that in order for you to enjoy a dinner at one of the fancy restaurants, you have to stay more than three nights so the only option for you will be the buffet or something from the snacks.

Entertainment was terrible, the shows aren't any new and he staff is not very professional.

When it comes to the service portion they really have serious problems, from the front desk to the restaurants, housekeeping, bars... No one is friendly they treat you very harsh and the just font care. I think the main problem is that they are contracting local people and they don't care about their job, by local I mean people from puntarenas and not from San Jose.

Facilities were good. Unfortunately the Pool water was very hot and I didn't enjoy it because come on! You're at the beach!!!! Lots of sun, but hot water in the pool was not a good bet. They should make something about it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    71
    45
    22
    21
See reviews for
107
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took a trip with my family to this hotel. I packed high hopes, I had heard about a recent 2 million dollar renovation that got me excited. What this hotel is missing can't be bought. Poor quality service, nobody smiles on a hall way, the cleaning ladies don't look happy to answer back good morning. Yes, I'm into manners and things like that. It is called hospitality when it comes to hotels, this one lacks greatly. I had to change my room, and the person on the front desk did the job with a frown on his face the whole time.
Now to the part that as a traveler with small kids can't forgive, cross contamination in this hotel is galore. No labels to warn about possible allergens, all desserts are place on coconut for no particular reason (my kids are allergic so no dessert for them), chicken nuggets fried with fish nuggets, so since my kids are allergic to fish, no fries, no chicken nuggets and basically nothing that came from a frier. This is the first vacation where everyone in my family actually lost weight in an all inclusive hotel. Impossible? not at all, all we could eat that was tasty and healthy was fruit or salads. My kids got rashes every day without eating any of their dangerous foods, which tells me that the cross contamination here is off the charts.

Bad attitude, bad service, and bad administration= skip this hotel and find another one that will be happy to host you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you'd like a place to visit where the sunset takes your breath away nightly this is the place to be. The beach is a perfect spot to sit and watch Mother Nature's splendor in action. The resort is very well kept and I liked the smaller blocks of buildings that were only 2 storey's in height. Our room faced over the beach (couldn't see it because of all of the foliage) but we could sure hear and smell it and the sounds of the birds in the trees helped with the loss of the beach view. The Hibiscus and other plants were stunning and the grounds very well kept. The food was good and both my friend and I always found something good to eat. The buffet is a theme every night and the food at the bar by the pool was great !!!! Snacks like Nachos and Cheese, Pizza, Chicken Wings, Hot Dogs, all kinds of toppings and salads and tons of fresh fruit, tea, coffee and of course the bars right there.

I would recommend this resort highly and hope to get back again real soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I get it. I am not in America but it was very difficult to communicate with most of the employees. Uno Coke Light was misunderstood. I am at, what I thought was a tourist destination and it was very frustrating. Accommodations were fine. Pool was beautiful. The staff was always cleaning and the resort was very secure. But the food was poor. I think we actually lost weight on the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was spectacular! I loved every single minute of it! Done people were extraordinary like Edwin Fernndez, Pepito, Stuard, Jamil ( the best), Ecson. All the staff was amazing! Loved the hotel! Defenitley coming back next year! The shows are amazing! And even the food!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:

Agradecemos el que dispusiera parte de su tiempo para dejar sus comentarios de la experiencia vivida durante su estadía.

Esperando poder recibirle en una próxima visita, me despido enviándole un cordial saludo.

Atte,

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is very good and clean. Good food (all inclusive), good drinks, beach is not really for beach lovers but is acceptable. Howling monkeys in the trees, Large beautiful parrots flying around. Monkeys and parrots are noisy but so nice to watch. If you go on a tour to Tortugas Island, go during the week because on week-end it is crowded with a host of boats at anchor right where we swim, close to the shore.
A tour to Curu Park did not reveal species of animal that could'nt be seen at the hotel except white faced monkeys. Good shows every evening although a bit amateurish. A lot of lizards and iguanas all around. We saw a large iguana devoured by a cayman in the laguna on the hotel ground. All in all, a memorable experience.

NOTE : We had posted this review a few weeks ago to the wrong place (Hotel Be Live Las Morlas in Varadero). We hope that people who check that post do not expect to see parrots flying around and monkeys swinging from branch to branch in Varadero.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is a great place to relax and do as little as you wish for everything is provided for you, even the alcohol is included, IF an all inclusive resurt is what you looking for. We got there by chance and found the place very pleasant and fantastic value for a short rest from the great sights of Costa Rica. Somehow, it didn't feel crowded even though they were full, the food was very good and plentiful, the drinks were free and the service was very good. I would highly recommend it for those who likes the "all inclusive" even though it is not our 'cup of tea'

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the bars and the 'center' of the resurt if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Tambor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor Beach

Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tambor Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Tambor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Tambor Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.