We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No habla ingles.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Tambor Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Tambor Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Tambor Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No habla ingles.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I get it. I am not in America but it was very difficult to communicate with most of the employees. Uno Coke Light was misunderstood. I am at, what I thought was a tourist destination and it was very frustrating. Accommodations were fine. Pool was beautiful. The staff was always cleaning and the resort was very secure. But the food was poor. I think we actually lost weight on the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    118
    60
    30
    27
See reviews for
157
106
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel was spectacular! I loved every single minute of it! Done people were extraordinary like Edwin Fernndez, Pepito, Stuard, Jamil ( the best), Ecson. All the staff was amazing! Loved the hotel! Defenitley coming back next year! The shows are amazing! And even the food!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:

Agradecemos el que dispusiera parte de su tiempo para dejar sus comentarios de la experiencia vivida durante su estadía.

Esperando poder recibirle en una próxima visita, me despido enviándole un cordial saludo.

Atte,

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is very good and clean. Good food (all inclusive), good drinks, beach is not really for beach lovers but is acceptable. Howling monkeys in the trees, Large beautiful parrots flying around. Monkeys and parrots are noisy but so nice to watch. If you go on a tour to Tortugas Island, go during the week because on week-end it is crowded with a host of boats at anchor right where we swim, close to the shore.
A tour to Curu Park did not reveal species of animal that could'nt be seen at the hotel except white faced monkeys. Good shows every evening although a bit amateurish. A lot of lizards and iguanas all around. We saw a large iguana devoured by a cayman in the laguna on the hotel ground. All in all, a memorable experience.

NOTE : We had posted this review a few weeks ago to the wrong place (Hotel Be Live Las Morlas in Varadero). We hope that people who check that post do not expect to see parrots flying around and monkeys swinging from branch to branch in Varadero.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is a great place to relax and do as little as you wish for everything is provided for you, even the alcohol is included, IF an all inclusive resurt is what you looking for. We got there by chance and found the place very pleasant and fantastic value for a short rest from the great sights of Costa Rica. Somehow, it didn't feel crowded even though they were full, the food was very good and plentiful, the drinks were free and the service was very good. I would highly recommend it for those who likes the "all inclusive" even though it is not our 'cup of tea'

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the bars and the 'center' of the resurt if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for a week in March 2013.
A few if the highlights follow.
Beach; black sand, just enough surf to have some fun, miles long.
Rooms; basic, clean, quiet, spacious.
Grounds and surroundings; well maintained and variety of plants and animals to see, monkeys, lizards and parrots make regular visits.
Pools; well maintained and nice and warm
Food and restaurants; lots of variety, open long hours, great fruit selection.
Tours; good variety, well run, not too expensive.
Weather: sunny and hot the whole time.

We had a room with a view of the river and grasslands (965). We could see amazing tropical birds fishing and horses grazing from our room.

The entertainment staff did their best to keep everyone busy in the afternoons.

A great family or couples vacation.

Not the place to go if you are looking for nightlife.

Getting there is arduous unless you fly directly to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are very nice. Ours was #965. Wow! It was amazing to sit on the balcony, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is beautiful with long beach and the view it is wonderful.The personal verry polite.the rooms very cleans.Food it is place for improvement,but you find somethingh to like.The most beautiful experience was the connection in the little plaine for 25 min.from San Jose to the resort.the view was breath taking.We like the place and we will go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here, at the end of our bus tour. It was so nice to be able to settle down, and just relax after all the travelling. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived, so the bell boy took our luggage and stored it for us, and we got full use of the facilities while we waited. Something must have been wrong with the room, so they ended up upgrading us to an ocean view room. Everything was pretty good here, not really any complaints.

Heres the breakdown.

We stayed in the 600 section. Corner rooms, both levels, have hammocks. Really nice feature. Watch out for iguanas on your walk to and from the room. They will be everwhere during the day.

The room:
Nothing special. Yes we could see the ocean, but its a room. You are there for the resort, not the room. However, the bed was good, decent water pressure. Toilet still required multiple flushes, like pretty much everywhere else in the country. Room key required to be in the key holder on the wall for the a/c to operate. The alarm clock will maintain the time with it out. And they do give you 2 keys, so no propblem there.

Pool:
Huge pool! And very clean, clear water! The water temp is also very warm. Bathtub was the expression i heard. And it is only naturally heated. There is a childrens area, a deep section, whirlpool and a shallow area below the water fall. Swim up bar, lots of chairs and sun huts to sit under. The resort was only about half full, so finding a chair in the shade wasnt too hard.
There was work being done to the childrens splash pad area. I imagine it will be completed in a month or two, so for people with kids, they are adding on!

Food:
Nice selection for food at the buffet. They dont start serving dinner till 7pm. Not something we are acustomed to, but if you are hungry, there is a snack bar that is open. They serve stuff like nachos, burgers, fries and some salad all afternoon and into the evening. The buffet is probably the best selection of food, and quality, that we experience our entire trip. However, food was still average.

Wildlife:
Iguanas are all over the place. They are fairly tame, but just be on the look out as not to step on them. Some get adventurous too, and will come into the pool area or snack bar. There is a nature area next to the 600 section, so, the monkeys can make some noise and hastle light sleepers. Just past the parking lot and spa, the monkeys like to hang out there. Also, a bunch of macaws with roost up there too. There is a path that will walk you around many cages of birds. Further on there is a butterfly farm and a snake farm. The snake farm was very disappointing.

Travel to the airport:
Pleas take note that this resort is about 4.5 hours from the airport in san jose. Nice way to see the country. There is an option to fly there which takes about 25 minutes. Something to keep in mind though, your luggage still goes by land, only you fly. A group that was suppose to ride the bus back to the airport with us that flew out, arrived in san jose at 7am, for a noon departure, and had to wait for us to arrive at 10 with their luggage. On the upside, we had to leave the resort at 4:30 to catch the ferry, as were the people by plane could sleep in a little bit longer. Just something to think about.

The beach:
Dont expect the pristine white sand beaches. This is volcanic rock. Very very fine sand particles, that are very hot during the day. The water is warm and safe. The waves tend to make the water very murky.

Room Tip: We were in room 626. It is an ocean view room first floor. Bit of a walk from the main lobby. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Tambor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor Beach

Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tambor Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Tambor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Tambor Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.