We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food worth waiting for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant and Cafe Cristina

Restaurant and Cafe Cristina
in front of the old Catholic church in Tambor, Tambor 506, Costa Rica
506 2683 0028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Tasty food prepared with local ingredients. If you don't like it, you don't pay - that's our guarantee of quality.
Goleta, California
1 review
“Food worth waiting for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Christina took our order and went to work making everything we ordered from scratch. It was worth the wait. Salads were so fresh. Fish sauces were wonderful, filled with flavor. Her son (for a small fee) even drove us back to our hotel (Barcelo Resort) to make it back in time for planned excursion.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo G, Gerente at Restaurant and Cafe Cristina, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
thank you very much for taking your time to send us a comment we wish you the best and hope you come back soon. Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Christina prepared a Delicious lunch. We shared 2 fish dishes and a salad. Everything was amazing! The potatoes were my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo G, Gerente at Restaurant and Cafe Cristina, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time and write us a sincere comment, the whole fish ( red snapper ) is one of our specialties and we are very happy you enjoyed it. Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great local flavor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The food was fresh and absolutely delicious!! Highly recommended from a true foodie at heart!! I ordered the whole fish and she got the shrimp rice. Can't go wrong with a whole fish and the rice tasted fresh and green.. Both were served with a salad and some potatoes .... You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food - shrimp and linguini with white sauce, the service - friendly and efficient and the pina coladas - out of this world , the ambiance - island- make this a wonderful dining experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Cristina's is the perfect spot for an inexpensive, hearty breakfast or lunch near the beach. The food is plentiful, fresh, and delicious. The service is fast and friendly, and the open air restaurant is clean and welcoming. Classic Costa Rica!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant and Cafe Cristina also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurant and Cafe Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant and Cafe Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.