We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Nicoya Peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lot 14, Villas del Mar, Tambor, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Tambor B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best in Nicoya Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Oh my word! Where do I begin? Sorry Judy it took me so long to write a review. That in NO way reflects my experience. Having never traveled to Costa Rica before and wanting a local experience, I stumbled upon this place on a B&B website and boy am I ever glad I did!!! It was a trip of just my husband and myself and we stayed for 5 days. Getting into Costa Rica and where we needed to be was quite the adventure. If you are an anal person who likes control, you would not be happy. If you understand that with travel comes adventure and open-mindedness is a necessity, then this will be an awesome place for you to visit!
I would suggest contacting Judy via e-mail to get the "scoop" on what to bring/not bring and her tips on getting in and out of the country and traveling to her B&B. She was amazing and most helpful, even called me to make sure I understood everything! Javier is amazing also. My husband and I never really had to leave. Javier cooked for us whatever we wanted, when we wanted it and the food was AMAZING!!! The B&B itself is very nice, clean, and comfortable. The pictures are spot on!!! Javier booked and took us on the adventures we wanted and it was great basically having a personal, local guide for everything. And the prices are amazingly reasonable for the quality you receive. There was one other couple there when we were as you kin of start to feel like a family with everyone there. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing (or adventurous ;) vacation to Costa Rica! The Nicoya Peninsula is amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My family and I vacationed in Tambor, Costa Rica the end of February and we had an incredible time. We owe so much to Judy and Javier for their hospitality and their assistance with our plans. From the moment we came in (Judy was right, it would be late) to the moment we left, they were great! They felt like old "amigos". Even when they were probably tired from working all day, they took the time to sit and talk with us and serve great drinks. We had the best Bloody Mary's, margarita's and Tequila shots; thanks Javier! :) Judy, we enjoyed your therapy session too! :) :) The food was awesome. My son said Javier's burger was the best he ever had! We also appreciate all that Pedro and Sonja did to make our stay comfortable and the rooms and grounds look great. Judy's and Javier's recommendations for what we should do while we were there worked out very well for us and we even were lucky enough to see a whale on our boat trip to Tortuga Island. Zip lining was a blast and it was fun to see the guys who worked there enjoy their jobs as much as they did; I want a job like that!
We are dreaming about being back there and hope to be able to make that dream come true before too long.

Thanks Judy & Javier!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a stay here during the off season in July of 2012. We were upgraded to the villa next to the pool and had the single most best hotel experience ever! I actually had an engagement ring in my pocket and decided it was the perfect setting to propose. Javier was our host and was very accommodating. We came very late in the night due to the remoteness of the area but he stayed and provided drinks and dinner. The upgrade as due to the low season in costa rica and we were the only two people staying. The room was beautiful and the scenery was beautiful. Take a walk around the neighborhood and you will see very nice beaches. The privacy and remoteness is there if that is what you are looking for. No complaints. We will probably go to Costa Rica again just to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent the last few nights of a great holiday in Costa Rica at Judy's B & B. It was a beautiful resort experience, with a great room, lovely pool and extraordinary dining. I felt totally pampered when our host Javier brought tropical drinks to the pool for our enjoyment! Judy, Javier, and the entire staff are kind, thoughtful, and really know how to take care of their guests... From borrowing a floppy hat for the beach, to free access to the vacation library. You will not be disappointed if you choose this slice of paradise for your CR stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I can't say enough about our trip and the wonderful time we had thanks to Judy and Javier. We stayed at Casa Colleen, the two bedroom house next to the B & B, and I had the best vacation experience. I really felt as though I had a personal guide through the culture, nature, and beauty that is Costa Rica. This was my first international trip in many years and I felt right at home. I have been telling everyone I know about this little piece of paradise. Thank you Judy and Javier! I look forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Center, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you're on the search for a vacation that is both relaxing and exciting Vista Hermosa is the place to be! Judy and Javier are the perfect hosts and you instantly feel like you are visiting your closest friends. Vista Hermosa offers complete packages that include clean and spacious rooms, AMAZING meals, and exciting tours. Once we arrived we never had to open our wallets. Judy had arranged for it all; from zipline, atv and kayak tours to private in-room massages. Our week there went by too fast and now we are counting down the days til we return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Vista Hermosa for two nights and had the most amazing experience. Judy and Javier are true gems. Between the room, the food, and the company, you cannot ask for a better choice. Judy and Javier will arrange tours for you and are a wealth of information about the local area. It was difficult to leave this slice of paradise, and we hope to return on our next visit to Costa Rica. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lot 14, Villas del Mar, Tambor, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a five room B&B. All rooms have private en-suites, a/c fans/ TV w/ Satellite, video library, pool,indoor and outdoor dining areas, 1/3 acre with lovely gardens, ten minute walk to beach. We Offer F&B service between 11:00 am and 9:00pm. Full hot breakfast is included with room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Hermosa Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.