We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most enjoyable vacations ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 14, Villas del Mar, Tambor, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
“One of the most enjoyable vacations ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We can’t say enough about how well we were treated by Judy & Javier at Vista Hermosa B&B. The accommodations were excellent and the staff made us feel very comfortable. From the beautifully decorated and landscaped gardens to the truly excellent meals it far exceeded our expectations. All you had to do is let Judy know what food you enjoy and they will prepare it. We had everything from shrimp scampi to barbequed ribs and the meals were well prepared and delicious! Mingling with the staff and other guests was most enjoyable. Also, it was gratifying to know we could arrange all our activities through Judy or Javier right at the B&B - anything from deep sea fishing to zip-lining was doable. Or you could simply relax in a comfortable chair, with a refreshing drink, and read a good book. Our 8-day stay was so relaxing it was hard to leave. Without any hesitation, we have recommended Vista Hermosa to all our friends, and look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the detached suite which contained 2 bedrooms, TV area, kitchen, dining area and laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staying at Vista Hermosa B&B was a great experience. Judy & Javier really know how to take good care of guests. We took advantage of their expertise and enjoyed a waterfall hike and swim in Montezuma, an ATV tour of the beautiful scenery around Tambor, along with a swim in a local river, a hike through a nature reserve close by, and relaxed at the beach that was a five minute walk from the B&B. We let them know what we were interested in doing and they took care of all the details since we chose not to rent a car to get around. We especially enjoyed the great meals and visiting with other people from around the world and the other friendly staff they employ. While you can tell by their website photos that the B&B looks beautiful, it doesn't do their place justice. You can't tell that the actual bedding is really comfortable, or that the food is locally sourced and delicious. We are still talking about it and wishing we were back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hello fellow travellers;
If you are travelling in Costa Rica and wish to experience the real Costa Rica please make your reservation at Vista Hermosa. Judy and Javier will help you with all your travel needs from tour information, car rental, local activities and abundant information on where to travel, where to eat, how to get around and anything else you need.
I experienced amazing hospitality for 10 days at Vista Hermosa with very comfortable amenities, wonderful food and exceptional tours with knowledgable and friendly local guides. I have already booked my next trip to this wonderful Boutique B & B.
This is one place you should not miss!!!

Room Tip: Be prepared to live your days outside, the weather is amazing. Your room is there for sleeping and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at several boutique hotels during our 3 weeks in Costa Rica, and Vista Hermosa became our favourite. Beside excellent room, design and comfy beds and high-quality towels etc the place is a gem in this rural area. But most important- Judy and Javier made us really feel at ease and at home in their company!
After a great breakfast me and my 14yearold left for a day of adventure, and when coming back we were welcomed with drinks, dinner, great company and any help we needed!
We loved the pool, Judy's garden and just hanging around there, and on leaving we really wanted to bring Judy and Javier (and the place) with us! Judy provided us with great advices for the rest of our trip, and Javier put great effort into helping us to go snorkeling.
We arrived and were treated as special guests and left as great friends. Not very many people or places manage to provide you with this comfort!
We will come back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having just finished a G Adventures 16 day trip from one coast of Costa Rica to the other, we were ready for a little luxury and Judy and Javier made sure that's what we experienced. The B+B is beautifully decorated, spotless, welcoming and becomes 'home' minutes after your arrival. Judy and Javier are completely focused on your enjoyment, ready to organize anything you want, funny, charming - wonderful hosts. If you want quiet, that's what you get. If you want conversation, travel tips, suggestions, those are at the ready as well. We'll definitely be back and recommend their B+B without reservation. Enjoy!
Jeannie + Heather, Vancouver, BC, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family vacation to Costa Rica was amazing and Judy and Javier were a big part of making our experience so great. From the moment we arrived to Tambor to the minute we left they welcomed us with open arms and made sure the we enjoyed ourselves. Everything was taken care of for us, all we had to do is relax and have a good time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Casa Caresa - a beautiful villa with a million dollar view was our vacation spot for 2 weeks during our stay on the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Javier, from Vista Hermosa, met us once we got off the ferry and guided us to the villa along a fairly rugged single lane dirt road. Thankfully, our cars had 4-wheel drive, but be prepared for some white-knuckle driving for the 4 km drive from the main road.
The villa sleeps 8, so our party of 7 was well accommodated. The 4 bedrooms were sizeable and each bedroom had its own private bathroom with shower. The 2 upper bedrooms each had a double bed as well as a private balcony; the bedrooms on the main level had 1 king in the master bedroom and 2 twins in the 2nd. All the bedrooms had A/C, but unfortunately 3 of the units didn't work during our stay. Thankfully we were able to make good use of the ceiling fans. The house had been well cleaned for our arrival and sufficient towels for bathrooms and pool were available in the linen closet.
The kitchen was very well equipped with small appliances, dishes and space for food prep so we chose to prepare most of our own meals at the villa. (We shopped in Tambor at a small grocery store that carried all essentials or drove a little further to Cobano to shop at larger grocery stores - about 10 km, but budget 25 min to drive the distance to Cobano.) Added bonus was the dishwasher and washer/dryer - which made clean-up so much easier during our holiday. In addition to the kitchen appliances, there was also a gas bbq in a separate gazebo overlooking the breathtaking countryside. Although there was a large dining room, we chose to eat all our meals on the beautiful outdoor patio overlooking the Pacific Ocean. That's where we spent a lot of our days, especially when we wanted to be out of the sun. The patio also had large ceiling fans and was well lit for night time activities. The satellite TV in the living room was barely used by us, as there were so many other things to do. In the living room we found a good collection of games to play as well as a selection of books to help us identify the abundant fauna and flora. (We had visits from capuchin monkeys and a coati and could hear howler monkeys somewhere deep in the jungle.) Unexpectedly, we found that there was no internet connection available at the villa even though the description had listed it, so we could not use our laptop unless we drove into Tambor.
Vista Hermosa B&B - Judy Bonnell was a very gracious host when we visited Vista Hermosa on four separate occasions for drinks and 2 dinners. The B&B is in a small community but as soon as you enter through it gates, you feel as if you are in a secluded paradise. The bar area seats at least 10 people and the servers are very attentive. If you're lucky, they will even prepare a special drink in your honour. Dinners were well prepared and the menu was quite varied to suit all tastes. Service was top notch. In addition to helping us find accommodations at Casa Caresa, Judy and her partner Javier helped to book adventure activities for our family - ziplining in the treetops as well as ATVing for 3 hours with a private guide along the beach and through the countryside. Javier was also very helpful during our first food shopping expedition upon our arrival in Tambor and helped to explain the labels, as we were not Spanish speaking tourists.
There was a good selection of beaches nearby to visit, but the one in the colorful town of Montezuma seemed to draw us most often - good restaurants, interesting little stores, availability of water taxis to the mainland if needed, and availability of booking additional activities like horse riding on the beach or surfing lessons. And the waterfall and butterfly garden were just outside of town. But wherever you drive, be prepared to stop and ask for directions, as Costa Rica is not known for good signage - LOL.
Our vacation in Costa Rica was enhanced by all the assistance we received from Judy Bonnell, even prior to our arrival in the country. She was most attentive to all our needs (even calling in someone from the mainland to try to fix the A/C's) and gave us much appreciated advice on making the best of our stay. Our visits to her B&B were always a hit with our large group!
Our families really enjoyed our stay at the Villa Casa Caresa & very much appreciated the outstanding service that we received from Vista Hermosa B&B as well as the personal touch & extra mile that both Judy & Havier extended to all of us during our stay.
They were both truly special & made our family vacation an exceptional experience……..thank you again Judy & Havier for everything !

Urbonas & Rusinas Families
Toronto, Canada
December 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
0.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.0 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
11.4 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
23.9 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Tambor Beach
Barcelo Tambor Beach
#5 of 7 in Tambor
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lot 14, Villas del Mar, Tambor, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six room B&B. All rooms have private en-suites, a/c fans/ TV w/ Satellite, video library, pool,indoor and outdoor dining areas, 1/3 acre with lovely gardens, ten minute walk to beach. We Offer F&B service between 11:00 am and 9:00pm. Full hot breakfast is included with room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.