We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well-run and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fidelito Ranch & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fidelito Ranch & Lodge to your Saves list
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge
800 meters north of school Panica, Tambor 60105, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, well-run and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Fidelito for almost a week and loved every moment of it. Food and facilities were up to international standards, clean and professional: the rooms are large and well-equipped. Leon and Brigitte are both knowledgeable and friendly: they know all the local attractions and many of the people. Brigitte helped organize the rest of our stay, phoning around to tour operators and the like: very useful since we barely speak Spanish. You don't even have to leave the property to see wildlife: there are resident hummingbirds, howler monkeys, and lots more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

To start we arrived AFTER dark off the Punterenous ferry, which is not recommended on the Nicoya Peninsula; but due to the awesome perfect directions from Ginger, we three older women made it to the ranch without a "hitch"! And to boot, as we had been "on the road" from new jersey for 13 or so hours, she had a delicious corvina fish dinner prepared for us.....and we were starving! After gracious informative conversation, we went to our lovely room which was more than big enough for the three of us as was adequately described on the website; decorated in Costa Rican style. The kitchen and bath were quite big and the fridge was stocked with water, beer and drinks! Oh yea!! Breakfast was fresh eggs and homemade jellies, cheese (yes homemade cheese) and Costa Rican coffee.
We only stayed two nights and dinner was out the following but breakfast was delicious again. Outside kitchen was inviting and comfortable and nice place to sit at night with a drink to enjoy the quiet. The whole ranch was beautiful!
Ginger was an attentive hostess and both she Leon are so well travelled, conversation was diverse and a great pleasure! Also here was are first encounter with howler monkeys! Love their morning "songs"!!! Thank you Ginger and Leon!

Room Tip: I Do not have one complaint or disappointing thing to say. :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a beautiful ranch nestled in the hills just a few miles inland from Tambor! Intimate with only two apartments; it all works because your hosts Leon and Brigitte are experienced tour guides from all over the globe. They are very hospitable and extremely interesting. They love their ranch and contribute to the local community. Beautiful people, and they make staying there very special. The ranch is beautifully maintained, and the apartments are clean and comfortable. Brigitte took my 9 year old son and I on a 2 hour horse ride through beautiful mountains, across rivers, and down jungle trails with her dogs Fido and Judy following. That was one of the many highlights to our trip to the southern Nicoya peninsula. This ranch is a diamond if you want to kick back and enjoy the wildlife and farm life and have some home cooked meals. We didn't plan on eating there every breakfast and dinner, but we ended up doing just that. Brigitte is a good cook and always wears a smile. A Dutch couple and their twins stayed in the adjacent unit, and we all had a great time sharing experiences over dinner with Leon and Brigitte. A calf was born the night before we arrived, and my son loved petting the one day old calf while Brigitte kept Fido and Judy a safe distance away. It's a good home base to go to Montezuma, Curu, or even Mal Pais or Santa Teresa, all are within an hour or less drive. Wish I was there now....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a wonderful experience thanks to Mrs. Brigitte whom is an amazing host. She welcomed us as if she already knew us. We only stayed 1 night on our last leg. Our daughter is 13 yrs old and she enjoyed the animal experience and feeding the horses. The room is spacious with a large refrigerator and kitchen. The two double beds are comfortable and it has a/c.

Room Tip: The two rooms and bathroom are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

It was an experience that I will never forget. I wish I was able to spend many more days there. I loved most of all hearing brigittes stories, and exploring nature on horseback..That is the most beautiful place on earth from what my eyes have seen. I fell asleep with the sounds of nature, and woke up to the howler monkeys swinging from tree to tree. I was very sad to leave. I keep talking about her german goulash and the fresh squeezed juice.... And of course the fresh homemade bread and jam, and eggs for breakfast. So delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the ranch for 8 days in March during the dry season. Great sunises,lot's of nature to observe, the howler monkey had babies, the ranch had 3 new baby calves while I was there. Brigitte and Leon are great hosts, very knowledable of nature around them and suggested great sites for me to see, based on my interests. My stay was peaceful at the ranch, with 2 awsome nature horseback rides. The food was yummy at the ranch and the accomodations very comfortable. The ranch includes a great seperate pool area, where Brigitte and Leon have done a splendid job with the landscaping around the pool with lot's of butterflies and birds.
Also, there are great attractions in day-trip driving distances, making the ranch your base to come back to every night. I can highly recomment a stay at Fidelito Ranch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ok, so I don't often do reviews of places. Even now, it is almost 4 months after we stayed at the Tambor Fidelito Ranch. Four months, I still remember how amazing beautiful this ranch was. How amazingly comfortable the facilities were. How amazing Brigitte was as a host. It was not like a ranch like that in USA, vast flat land, but a lush hill top ranch house and guest house with cattle roaming the hillside. Very comfortable family room with kitchen and deck, though we spent our evenings in the beautiful teak international 30x30 gazebo? not sure how to describe it... beautiful, peaceful, comfortable, memorable.

Brigitte was great and on the nose wrt to any recommendations she gave our family for touring, buying, and future accommodation.

Will definitely go back, next time i go to Costa Rica! It's imprinted in my memories til then.

Room Tip: Call early -- only 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidelitoranch, Owner at Fidelito Ranch & Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Amazing Family from USA with roots in India, impressive talks about Body care and specially their interest in our farm, living, cattle and Costa Rica nature and wildlife. We really hope to see them bach here, because there still amazing moments to share...! pura vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fidelito Ranch & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fidelito Ranch & Lodge

Address: 800 meters north of school Panica, Tambor 60105, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge is a relaxing exclusive comfortable Apartment Lodge: excellent "go to place" for Families, Couples and Singles. Ideal tranquil Dutch 60 ha working Ranch with huge garden in the spectacular forested Tambor hills. Located 4 km from Tambor Beach and 10 min. drive of Tambor Airport between Paquera and Cobano on the Nicoya Peninsula of Guanacaste. Dutch-German owners with former worldwide Thomas Cook touristic experience. It is your ideal base and starting point for a memorable enjoying vacation. Two beautiful luxery European stylish apartments with facillities, Bar, covered Patio "Rancho" with sitting and dining area and a almost constantly breeze, outdoor Kitchen.Apartments surrounded by great scenery and wildlife: TV, WLAN, Safe, full Kitchen, Fridge, Coffeemaker, AC, ceiling Fan, Spanish ceramic floortiles, Shower, big Bathroom, Hairdryer. 2 double beds with orthopedic Mattresses, Panoramic windows, Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Fidelito Ranch & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fidelito Ranch & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.