We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Amazing AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fidelito Ranch & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Fidelito Ranch & Lodge to your Saves list
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge
800 meters north of school Panica, Tambor 60105, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing. Amazing AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ok, so I don't often do reviews of places. Even now, it is almost 4 months after we stayed at the Tambor Fidelito Ranch. Four months, I still remember how amazing beautiful this ranch was. How amazingly comfortable the facilities were. How amazing Brigitte was as a host. It was not like a ranch like that in USA, vast flat land, but a lush hill top ranch house and guest house with cattle roaming the hillside. Very comfortable family room with kitchen and deck, though we spent our evenings in the beautiful teak international 30x30 gazebo? not sure how to describe it... beautiful, peaceful, comfortable, memorable.

Brigitte was great and on the nose wrt to any recommendations she gave our family for touring, buying, and future accommodation.

Will definitely go back, next time i go to Costa Rica! It's imprinted in my memories til then.

Room Tip: Call early -- only 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidelitoranch, Owner at Fidelito Ranch & Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Amazing Family from USA with roots in India, impressive talks about Body care and specially their interest in our farm, living, cattle and Costa Rica nature and wildlife. We really hope to see them bach here, because there still amazing moments to share...! pura vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rouyn Noranda, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went there in july, with my wife, and three kids (including a 5 months baby). We`re not the montezuma style tourists, so fidelito ranch was perfect for us. Its located in Panica, and there is no tourists there, and even at the ranch, there is only two appartments. So its not a busy place, no traffic, just peace.

The owners, Brigitte and Leon, are nice people and really profesionals. There is nice and affordable horse rides to do with Brigitte, and she can prepare great meals. Leon
take care of the farm, and can show you how it work and let you milk cows !

As for the rooms, its better in real than on website pictures. Its wide, with a big refrigerator, kitchenette, good matress, wide bathroom with real hot water. There is a powerfull a/c available that make us felt like we were home (Canada). I never saw a cleaner place than this one! My glasses fell under the bed, so i had to get them, and even there, its five stars clean!

The must try around are in order: curu park, cabo blanco, tortuga island , montezuma waterfalls. and there`s a wonderfull, cheap and delicious restaurant in cobano. its called caoba bar/restaurant in front of the bank . The owner is cool and they serve breakfast all day (cheap!) we ate there almost everydays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The proprietors of Fidelito Ranch, Leon & Brigitte, do an exceptional job making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Brigitte prepared our breakfast as desired, and dinner was prepared by both Leon and Brigitte. Be sure to ask for the Dutch-prepared Fidelito Ranch Happy Chicken- delicious. Our room was very nice, comfortable bed, nice view from it's windows, and heard the monkeys most mornings. Fidelito Ranch sits atop a hill and enjoys a breeze almost constantly- no AC required January or February. Staying at Fidelito Ranch is very relaxing. If you choose to explore Tambor, Montezuma, Cabona or Paquera, all are easy and scenic drives. We had a rental car and drove all over the country but when we wanted tranquility, Fidelito Ranch was the "go to" place. We enjoyed a lot of laughs around the dinner table and took several walks with Leon around their property. He shared much relevant and interesting information with us during those walks. Fidelito Ranch is a great destination, particularly as you may first arrive in Coata Rica. We'd like to call Leon and Brigitte our friends. Consider Fidelito Ranch. We're glad we did.

Room Tip: Two very nice personal guesthouse (apartments).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidelitoranch, Owner at Fidelito Ranch & Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Google Translation
Excelente...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Brigitte and Leon are wonderful souls. Fidelito Ranch is awesome. They put up with my husband, an actor, pestering them endlessly to run lines in German. They also cooked for us, drank beer with us, went horseback riding and played golf with us. The location is breathtaking, quite and unique. They are thoughtful, kind and gentle souls. Fidelito the pup is a great watchdog and river swimmer. It is rare to find such gentle spirits from the travel industry!! They spent years doing it and now have their own shangr-la. This is a wonderful place to decompress and relate back to gentle times. We loved it!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Quiet, and peaceful Fidelito Ranch was a godsend after the noise, potholes, chaos and dust of Santa Teresa. It's a working cattle ranch run by a Dutch-German couple, Leon and Brigitte. They are both former travel industry veterans, so they know how to run things right. There are two beautiful guest units, each with a big bathroom, a full kitchen and two double beds in the front room. A raised wooden walkway surrounds the guest building, which keeps you dry if you want to sit outside under the wide eaves during a rainstorm. Between the guest units and the owners' house is a beautiful, covered patio with an outdoor kitchen, dining area and bar. Brigitte and Leon will serve meals and drinks there at a reasonable extra cost. The owners' plantings have created a haven for tropical birds. We identified about ten new species, including scarlet macaws, that we'd been on the lookout for in the previous week elsewhere in the Nicoya Peninsula. Leon took us on a tour of the ranch. He and Brigitte have many projects in the works, including breeding special Brahmin-cross calves and slowly and gently restoring their land (150 acres) to a verdant haven from its previously heavily-eroded and deforested condition. They are also helping the local population by, among other things, providing employment and fund-raising for the school. The guest units cost about $US85 per night. They take only cash, so get your Colones in the ATMs in Cobano or Paquero before you arrive at the ranch. We stayed there for three nights before leaving for San Jose via the Paquero Ferry. You won't regret adding Fidelito Ranch to your itinerary.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fidelito Ranch & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fidelito Ranch & Lodge

Address: 800 meters north of school Panica, Tambor 60105, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge is a relaxing exclusive comfortable Apartment Lodge: excellent "go to place" for Families, Couples and Singles. Ideal tranquil Dutch 60 ha working Ranch with huge garden in the spectacular forested Tambor hills. Located 4 km from Tambor Beach and 10 min. drive of Tambor Airport between Paquera and Cobano on the Nicoya Peninsula of Guanacaste. Dutch-German owners with former worldwide Thomas Cook touristic experience. It is your ideal base and starting point for a memorable enjoying vacation. Two beautiful luxery European stylish apartments with facillities, Bar, covered Patio "Rancho" with sitting and dining area and a almost constantly breeze, outdoor Kitchen.Apartments surrounded by great scenery and wildlife: TV, WLAN, Safe, full Kitchen, Fridge, Coffeemaker, AC, ceiling Fan, Spanish ceramic floortiles, Shower, big Bathroom, Hairdryer. 2 double beds with orthopedic Mattresses, Panoramic windows, Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fidelito Ranch & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fidelito Ranch & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.