We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Island

Tortuga Island
In Front Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica | El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas), Tambor, Costa Rica
83622550
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 4 Attractions in Tambor
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Brandywine, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This beach is a little more than average, and the staff at the food stands and shop are really nice. The only downside is that it costs $1.00 to use the OUTHouse!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    27
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandywine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pumba The Pig is there to greet you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The animals are roaming freely and just await your hands to give their belly a lil scratch. Snorkeling is great but use caution the waves and water can move a little fast. I would advise wearing a life jacket just so you don't tire too quickly

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed our tour to Tortuga Island! It was a full day tour which included a lovely luncheon, snorkeling, swimming, rides on a banana boat, and a wee bit of walking and shopping. You could do all of the above or just sit on the beach to relax. We chose a great sunny day to go, but there were very few people there overall. I would totally consider going again. No one bothered us and we had a fabulous day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fabulous snorkelling opportunity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We are so pleased that we took the decision to do the Tortuga island trip as we were a little concerned about some of the TA reviews about it being very touristy and a bit of a rip off. The day we chose was obviously a quiet one as there was just one other boat which made plenty of room for everyone. The snorkelling option was included in our package and was excellent. I can't believe the hour passed so quickly because there was so much to see. Lunch was excellent and plenty to eat. We were annoyed that thee is a charge of $1 to use the portaloo toilet and the shop was exorbitantly expensive, but overall it was such a great day our these issues were minor. The 1.5 hour boat trip was fine as the crew kept us supplied with drink and snacks whilst we were able to spot flying fish and enjoy the views.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must visit if you are in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This island is absolutely beautiful!

Our tour guides had fresh fruit and a hot lunch prepared for us, as well as cold drinks.

The beach is white sand, and the water is clear and warm - we snorkeled for about an hour before getting to the island.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Island also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortuga Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.