We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pig in the sand.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Island

Tortuga Island
In Front Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica | El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas), Tambor, Costa Rica
83622550
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 4 attractions in Tambor
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“pig in the sand.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

great beach sand, alot of shade, clean water, and activities,we hit it on a rainey day, so the snorkeling was cut short, but the wandering local pig entertained us

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    27
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hadera, israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Calypso Cruises, costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

calypso cruises took care of transportation to and from the catamaran. we cruised 90 min to and from tortuga island by beutiful catamaran. the island is an exotic paradise blue water, coral rif and beutiful fish.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You have to do this....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We drove to Montezuma, met our guide and other travelers; boarded one boat at the beach, on our way to the 2nd boat we encountered bottle nosed dolphins that played in our wake and swam along with us for about 10 minutes. After a 45 min ride, we made it to Tortuga; got to snorkel for 45 min then had lunch and activities planned on the island. Spent the whole day swimming in the ocean, playing volleyball with the staff and just enjoying the beautiful day. It was one of the best days of our whole trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Book through Rain Forest Tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This island is a must-see. This other-worldly excursion was definitely the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. However, in talking with our fellow-tourists on the catamaran there, we learned that some had paid more than twice as much as we had because they didn't book through Rain Forest Tours, a Costa Rican travel agency. When we arrived at the white sand island, we were greeted by a mariachi band and picnic tables covered in white linen clothes where we were wined and dined on a sumptuous buffet of authentic native fare under a beautiful canopy of palm trees. We had a wonderful time snorkeling and riding the waves on the 'banana boat' before finding a wide array of inexpensive souvenirs at the island store.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

A great place to go and snorkel!! Once you've finished snorkeling around, go to the island and spend some time relaxing on the beach, playing volleyball and enjoying some lunch!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Island also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tortuga Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.