We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Parrita, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We just spent 3 weeks at cocomar & had the BEST time! Peter, Hansel, Luis & all staff were amazing, from the minute we arrived ( where they immediately fixed a flat tire on our rental car & upgraded our rooms while we relaxed and had dinner) to our last days where they cooked our fish and gave us tips on activities...every day each of the staff made us feel at home & welcome & nothing was too much trouble. They showed us the iguana living in the tree at the back, taught the kids how to catch crabs & open coconuts for milk with machete, made sure beach chairs & umbrella were available & secured for shade on the secluded beach whenever we needed, arranged an amazing trip with a local fisherman, a katamaran trip with snorkeling out of quepos marina, cooked the fish for us.... I could go on, but the list is endless and everything with a smile, a friendly chat and advice, whatever we needed and more.
The location is secluded, the road to get there is not for the faint of heart (luckily we booked 4x4), a couple of times with the heavy rain we lost power so lost wifi, but it really wasn't a problem - it was kind of cool. Its a half hour drive to quepos & 45 minutes to manuel antonio. Close to an hour to get to Jaco, so ideal for those who want to spend some time in with the locals or in the tourist areas.
The ocean is steps away from the hotel, black sand gives it character, the surf is amazing and you mostly are the only people there - your own private paradise!!.
Breakfast was included and we always looked forward to the morning buffet and happy greeting of Peter & team.
The rooms are cute, comfy beds and nice decor in keeping with surroundings. We had a couple of issues with the plumbing in one of the bathrooms which Peter saw to were fixed immediately. We had minor, and expected bugs in this tropical climate, so kept most opened food refrigerated & no problem. A/c in all rooms worked great especially considering the heat. Pool is great - kids loved it & nice to have the option, as rip tides made ocean swimming a little risky In this area. We would definitely recommend and hope to stay again !! Pura vida :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor suite for the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    2
    0
    7
See reviews for
25
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alto, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were married on the beach at the Coco Mar in April, and are eternally grateful for the special memories Peter and his staff at the Coco Mar helped create. To say the Coco Mar went above and beyond to make our wedding special would be an understatement. Every detail of our wedding was well planned and executed, giving us the opportunity to relax and enjoy the many beautiful amenities of the hotel. We were lucky enough to meet some wonderful people staying at the hotel who joined in the festivities making some very memorable moments. The hotel had a beach bonfire barbecue for us the night before the ceremony where we were serenaded by an incredible mariachi band. The following day we were married on the beach, which had been decorated with local elements of the beach by the Coco Mar staff. The setting made for some beautiful pictures, a service the staff also provided. An incredible dinner followed the ceremony, and although the chef had quit the day before, Peter the manager produced a delicious 5 course meal for over twenty people. The spacious beautiful rooms overlook one of the most beautiful and secluded beaches in the world. In addition to the ocean, there is an amazing pool area where you can soak in some of the hot Costa Rican sun and enjoy a cerveza. Unbelievable experience, Thank you Coco Mar!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is located on a secluded beach about 1.2 hours outside of San Jose. The rooms are large, very nice with comfortable bedding. My wife and I enjoyed the pool area very much. This is a great choice for a private romantic getaway or long weekend with the family. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We would have given this hotel a 9 out of 10 if there were more stars to choose from!!

My wife and I just got back form one of the most memorable and amazing adventures of all time. June 23-July 6th 2014 We booked this hotel in Palo Seco because it was only 27 Kilometers away from Manuel Antonio National Park. The price was amazing and the best deal in the area if you don't want to compromise quality and great service. Here are some of the highlights!

1. Luis cracked open a fresh coconut for us every morning with a machete so we could drink fresh coconut milk with breakfast. The breakfast was always filling and included delicious fruit and typical Costa Rican rice, sausage and eggs. The coffee was great and the view was overlooking the wild ocean on an undiscovered portion of remote beach access.

2. Peter, who is originally from Germany, speaks fluent Spanish and English and a variety of other languages. His hospitality and kindness was worth the entire stay. He is accommodating and serves as a wonderful concierge.

3. The room we were staying in was a MASTER SUITE which included a FULL KITCHEN, KING SIZED BED, PRIVATE BATHROOM, separate FULL DINING TABLE and some very comfortable couches. Each room had a flat screen TV. The furnishings were modest and cozy. We felt sad to leave this HOME AWAY FROM HOME!

4. We bought Pineapples (3 for a dollar), Papayas (Huge delicious ones) in the local town nearby (7.5 Kilometers) named Parrita and picked Mango's from the trees on the property! What an amazing FRUIT SALAD!!

5. The best part of every evening was to gaze out of one of two large balconies. The monkeys come by every day around 2 PM and there are hundreds of animals. The place is teeming with wildlife. We saw Crocodiles in the river 6 KM away and these large land dwelling blue crabs. Gentle Spiny Rock lizards were everywhere. And many geckos at night as well as toads and birds of every variety. The hummingbirds were especially fun to watch.

The pool was our place to hang out when it got to be too muggy outside. (The ROOMS all have CENTRAL A/C so ours was always cool and fresh and clean.) The cleaning service was consistent every day and they provide towels to take to the pool or beach. We rented a car but you can easily schedule transportation by getting from San Jose to Parrita and calling the hotel to see if they can pick you up. (Don't know if this is included but may be a nominal fee).

If you want to get away from all the crowds and be treated generously and kindly and find an amazing value for your money then this is a MUST on your tour to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Ask for the UPSTAIRS MASTER SUITE it is definitely worth the extra cost. You will live like Kings an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Me and my husband spent 2 nights there during our honeymoon on april 2014.

Receptionist was very welcoming, and permises manager, Peter, was extremely helpful.

Room was clean, with cable TV, great AC, ceiling fan and hot shower. Bed was the largest we slept in during our stay in costa rica - king size !!!

the pool is available 24/7, clean and fun to swim and socialize in - especially during evening-night hours (as long as you keep noise level down).

Breakfast was by far the best we had in costa rica, as it is self serve buffet style of extended intercontinental menu.

Needing a laundry service, we did face an issue with staff forgetting to do our laundry.

The place left us speechless. simple on first glance, yet so magnificent and amazing for a stay ! the beach is stunning, the dirt road get filled with red land crabs during the evening, birds fly around and even we have been told that a sloth has been spotted by the sol y mar restaurant down the road... amazing place it is and our top accommodation for the costa rica honeymoon !

Room Tip: Our room had the porch facing the back and we had a big greenish iguana visitor at morning, so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Cocomar is a true piece of paradise for travelers who want seclusion, an almost private Pacific coast beach and family-oriented service from the owner and his son Chad. Although Cocomar is about 15 miles from the popular and tourist ridden Manuel Antonio National Park, it is a truly picturesque and affordable option for those who are looking for a more private experience. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were overwhelmed by the attention to customer service gievn by the owners son, Chad. We felt as though we were the only guests and every enocunter we ahd with Chad was amazing. Homemade breakfast served in the back patio overlooking the beach with fresh fruits and a traditoonal Costa Rican plate of eggs, freshly baked bread and gallo pinto. Chad helped us with activities in the area and shared his story of how he and his father arrived in Playa Palo Seco.
Keep in mind a few things. First, the hotle is located about 6 km off an unpaved road, but if we had a rental car and enjoyed the daily trips through the local town. If you don't have a car it could get costly for taxis.
The hotel has a lovely pool and we borrowed body boards to take into the ocean, which was often only occupied by my wife and I. Beautiful sunsets.
For those of you who are thinking about hotels in Manuel Antonio, be aware that none of them are ON THE BEACH, only beach VIEWS. Also, the publc beach is crowded and you oftentimes have to pay to park.
Overall, this hotel is excellent if you desire an almost private beach only 50 meters from your room, a family friendly staff at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Cocomar has 5-6 ifferent types of rooms form a standard with no kitchen to a 3 bedroom apartment sty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at Cocomar in January of 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. The beach was almost always nearly deserted and was wonderful to sit and watch the sunsets on and walk. The grounds are fairly well kept and there is a nice pool but who needs the pool with the ocean just a short walk away. The service and staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast always yummy. It's a bit removed from any amenities etc. so I would definitely recommend having a car so you can get into town and explore nearby attractions. The bird watching was simply amazing in the mangrove forest and near the shrimp farm- really spectacular.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean pay for the more expensive rooms otherwise you have a view of the gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Address: beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small boutique property with only 20 units and hence very personalized service. We are located on the beach of Isla Palo Seco of Parrita, just two hours from San Jose, Costa Rica with nothing between you and the ocean except a few palm trees. We offer 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units. Anything from a standard hotel room to a full 2,200 sq ft. living area with full kitchen and dining area. Isla Palo Seco is still one of the undiscovered authentic beach destinations unspoiled by loads of tourists, yet has a local community to fulfill basic needs while vacationing. The city of Parrita is a ten-minute drive away and has banks, supermarkets, restaurants, shopping, churches and a medical clinic. There are taxis and bus service to Quepos, Jaco and San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.