We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, prime location, wonderful staff, two thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, prime location, wonderful staff, two thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had an excellent time at Cocomar and would highly recommend it to my friends or anyone interested in vacationing in Costa Rica. The staff was very attentive and the rooms are very nice and they all seem to have a view of the Beach. The grounds were well kept and having an estuary on one side and the Pacific on the other is truly one of a kind!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    22
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
34
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This beautiful hotel is located off the main road and you need a car to get here but it is worth it: the rooms are spacious and pretty, the staff is super friendly and accommodating, the beach is secluded and you can walk for miles without meeting anyone. We wanted to stay there as a gateway for Manuel Antonio, but it's worthwhile just hanging out at the hotel: they have a guide which can take you on a local mangrove tour, the dining is very decent by Costa Rican standards, and the beach will be all yours (though the waves are somewhat intimidating ... but then there is a pool).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Cocomar in March with our family. Overall it was a great place and very secluded. The management are very helpful. The rooms were very clean but the daily maid service was a little frustrating. Little things like the clean dishwasher not being emptied and one day the maid put the same dirty sheets we had stripped from the bed and left on the floor back on the bed. The beach is wonderful. The rooms quiet and very well furnished. One thing we noticed that late afternoon daily there is an awful smell. Our guess was that it is an overwhelmed septic system. We just kept the room closed up.

Being so far from town, it would be even better if the rooms were equipped with some basic condiments for cooking.

Overall, we'd go back there and the isolation makes for a great getaway feeling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the second night we came to Costa Rica. After 14 days and 14 different 4 stars hotels we decided to come back and spent the last night here. It is the most beautiful hotel we had on our trip. The stuff is extremely friendly and helpful, you fell like at home. The manager is German and the owner American, so it is a multi language hotel. The location is just gorgeous (literally it is like heaven on earth). The hotel has a beach front location, surrounded by palm trees and an unspoiled, endless beach. The rooms are spacious and very nice decorated (like from a magazine). The breakfast was unbeatable, fresh fruit and punch (everything organic from their own garden) and the best eggs ever (prepared by the owner’s wife). If you are looking for a hotel on the beach, that is your best option in Costa Rica. It is totally worth the price.

Room Tip: Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

To be honest words cannot describe this place! It is wonderful-- private, secluded, clean rooms, comfortable, the food was outstanding, pool area was great. A stone’s throw to the beach…Nice quite place to relax and enjoy yourself! You will need a car. However although it’s off a dirt road, it is a short driving distance to shopping. It is about a 45 min drive to Quepos/Manuel Antonio national park in one direction and the same in the other direction to Jaco! This puts you in the center of both places if you want something to do at night or visit the public beaches. Overall, this place is great and I would recommend it to all!!! Thanks Peter! Oh and I forgot to mention..... the food at the resturant for dinner was excellent, breakfast is typical Costa Rican, beans and rice, but it was good as well.

Room Tip: I would recommend a 1 bedroom with the kitchen or even a studio, it has a microwave. The basic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have a wonderful time in CocoMar my wife and my daughter and friend spend 5 days in this wonderfully place.
Peter the G.M is a great gay and gives you a very pleasant filling that you in Paradise .
From me and my wife I want to thank Peter for the very good time we had in the Cocomar.
Thanks Ory Ziv.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved! The staff working here are so friendly and professional. The rooms are excellent and clean. We spent three days here but we wished we were able to spend a whole week. The beach is beautiful, nobody there for miles and miles. However, it isn't good to swim there, you must be careful. We rented the bodyboards from the hotel and had so much fun in the water catching the waves. Peter, the manager, is an magnificent chef, we loved every dinner here. The pool is illuminated at night and there are even barbecues available to make your own cooking. The owner and his son are very friendly and we enjoyed meeting them both, specially his son "Sunshine". Highly recommended to hire Victor, a native of the area who will take you on a river tour to see crocodiles, birds and monkeys. We did it and it was amazing! we saw more animals than at Manuel Antonio natural reserve. This hotel it is just amazing. We enjoyed every single thing about it. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrita
1.2 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#1 of 5 in Parrita
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
10.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
8.5 mi away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 2 in Playa Bejuco
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Address: beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small boutique property with only 20 units and hence very personalized service. We are located on the beach of Isla Palo Seco of Parrita, just two hours from San Jose, Costa Rica with nothing between you and the ocean except a few palm trees. We offer 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units. Anything from a standard hotel room to a full 2,200 sq ft. living area with full kitchen and dining area. Isla Palo Seco is still one of the undiscovered authentic beach destinations unspoiled by loads of tourists, yet has a local community to fulfill basic needs while vacationing. The city of Parrita is a ten-minute drive away and has banks, supermarkets, restaurants, shopping, churches and a medical clinic. There are taxis and bus service to Quepos, Jaco and San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.