We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately return!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Parrita B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will definately return!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you are looking for something off the beaten track yet close enough for easy day trips, this is the best possible choice. We had a junior suite which was great, spacious and provided everything we needed. Peter was outstanding and did everything he could do make our stay the best possible including picking fresh limes off the tree for our drinks. His wife prepared wonderful breakfasts and we even had a few wonderfully prepared fish dinners (the fish was caught that morning by the landscaper).

Every morning we walked along the beach and were the ONLY ones there. In the afternoon we we played in the waves or sat by the pool and in the evening we relaxed with our cocktails in the thatched cabana and watched the sunset which was unbelievable each time seeing 2-3 people. It was OUR beach.

Two suggestions: stay during the week. The owner shows up on weekends and tends to want to talk to you a little too much about the great attributes of the resort while eating your dinner and call/email directly...reservations got screwed up but Peter made it good without batting an eye.

Overall, we were sad to leave and looking back, wished we had spent a few more night here. I can't say enough good things about Peter, his family and his staff. The owner should give him a raise.....

Room Tip: Go for the Jr. Suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    13
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
23
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are wonderful, beautifully finished to a high standard. The resort looked ideal for families with a good swimming pool. The breakfast that was included was the best we had during our trip. The manager Peter is a really great guy, very helpful and puts a lot of effort in. Pleasure to meet you Peter and thanks for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severance, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Cocomar, the owners and management really do bend over backwards to accommodate their guests. On top of the beautiful resort, the beach is nearly unoccupied, especially in comparison to the zoo at the Manuel Antonio beaches. Fantastic spot all around!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late December. Peter is a great host and took care of all of our needs. The apartments are modern, air conditioned, and all have great views of the beach. It is a little out of the way but it is worth it - apart from guests at the hotel you will not see a soul on the beautiful beach. The pool is relaxing, with plenty of sun beds and seating places to allow you to spend a relaxing afternoon there. Breakfast is served each day, and it is also great.

On your way in, stop in Parrita and grab some beers and snacks to keep in your kitchen. Also - make an effort to visit some of the restaurants in Parrita, we found two excellent ones that were reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite. you get a wonderful master suite, living room and kitchen, which feels quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days and love it! We have two families, four adults and two kids in total. The room we chose is a two bed room suite. The reservation somehow messed up, but we ended up with a nice view suite, all bed rooms and living room have ocean view. The appliances in kitchen are brand new and top-line. The beach is very nice and not crowed at all. We enjoyed it very much.

The staffs in the hotel were very friendly. They even offered free ride for us to go out for lunch. They also told us about nearby attractions, so we got a chance to see little sea turtles crawling into the ocean.

The only thing is they didn't provide crib. But we connected two sofa chairs together to make one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazing. We are a family of five and stayed at Cocomar for three nights. We rented the "two bedroom, two bath" which really equated to an amazing master suite, beautiful bathroom, living room, and full kitchen. The smaller room was separate, but right next door so our two teens and preteen stayed there with 2 twin beds and a blow up mattress which worked fabulously. Total of three beautiful balconies. A/C, ceiling fans keep you comfortable. Pool is beautiful, facilities are great. Gorgeous views. Small thatched (public) huts provide shade- you will feel like you own this beach. The Cocomar maintains this public beach beautifully. Breakfast is served (included) and delicious. We spent 8 days in the rainforest and loved it but feel sooooo fortunate to dry our bones at Cocomar. Peter, the manager, will ensure your stay is pleasant. Call them direct for reservations. Yes, it's out of the way, it's quiet, it's secluded, but if you have a car, go to the market in La Parrita and buy food/beer for the fridge and CHILL.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the north building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ended up here by accident because our other hotel was overbooked. It was a lucky accident because we really loved staying here and will be back. The staff were so friendly we felt at home and service was great. We stayed 2 nights with our 16 and 17 year old sons. The rooms are brand new, nice and comfortable. Sleeping to the sound of the waves crashing. The beach is stunning! Our jaws dropped! We walked, jogged and body surfed. Wifi was good and it makes me want to come back and telecommute from here for a few weeks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Address: beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small boutique property with only 20 units and hence very personalized service. We are located on the beach of Isla Palo Seco of Parrita, just two hours from San Jose, Costa Rica with nothing between you and the ocean except a few palm trees. We offer 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units. Anything from a standard hotel room to a full 2,200 sq ft. living area with full kitchen and dining area. Isla Palo Seco is still one of the undiscovered authentic beach destinations unspoiled by loads of tourists, yet has a local community to fulfill basic needs while vacationing. The city of Parrita is a ten-minute drive away and has banks, supermarkets, restaurants, shopping, churches and a medical clinic. There are taxis and bus service to Quepos, Jaco and San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.