We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Severance, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful hotel, great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Cocomar, the owners and management really do bend over backwards to accommodate their guests. On top of the beautiful resort, the beach is nearly unoccupied, especially in comparison to the zoo at the Manuel Antonio beaches. Fantastic spot all around!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    2
    0
    7
See reviews for
25
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late December. Peter is a great host and took care of all of our needs. The apartments are modern, air conditioned, and all have great views of the beach. It is a little out of the way but it is worth it - apart from guests at the hotel you will not see a soul on the beautiful beach. The pool is relaxing, with plenty of sun beds and seating places to allow you to spend a relaxing afternoon there. Breakfast is served each day, and it is also great.

On your way in, stop in Parrita and grab some beers and snacks to keep in your kitchen. Also - make an effort to visit some of the restaurants in Parrita, we found two excellent ones that were reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite. you get a wonderful master suite, living room and kitchen, which feels quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days and love it! We have two families, four adults and two kids in total. The room we chose is a two bed room suite. The reservation somehow messed up, but we ended up with a nice view suite, all bed rooms and living room have ocean view. The appliances in kitchen are brand new and top-line. The beach is very nice and not crowed at all. We enjoyed it very much.

The staffs in the hotel were very friendly. They even offered free ride for us to go out for lunch. They also told us about nearby attractions, so we got a chance to see little sea turtles crawling into the ocean.

The only thing is they didn't provide crib. But we connected two sofa chairs together to make one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazing. We are a family of five and stayed at Cocomar for three nights. We rented the "two bedroom, two bath" which really equated to an amazing master suite, beautiful bathroom, living room, and full kitchen. The smaller room was separate, but right next door so our two teens and preteen stayed there with 2 twin beds and a blow up mattress which worked fabulously. Total of three beautiful balconies. A/C, ceiling fans keep you comfortable. Pool is beautiful, facilities are great. Gorgeous views. Small thatched (public) huts provide shade- you will feel like you own this beach. The Cocomar maintains this public beach beautifully. Breakfast is served (included) and delicious. We spent 8 days in the rainforest and loved it but feel sooooo fortunate to dry our bones at Cocomar. Peter, the manager, will ensure your stay is pleasant. Call them direct for reservations. Yes, it's out of the way, it's quiet, it's secluded, but if you have a car, go to the market in La Parrita and buy food/beer for the fridge and CHILL.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the north building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ended up here by accident because our other hotel was overbooked. It was a lucky accident because we really loved staying here and will be back. The staff were so friendly we felt at home and service was great. We stayed 2 nights with our 16 and 17 year old sons. The rooms are brand new, nice and comfortable. Sleeping to the sound of the waves crashing. The beach is stunning! Our jaws dropped! We walked, jogged and body surfed. Wifi was good and it makes me want to come back and telecommute from here for a few weeks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good-
This place was our favorite hotel in Costa Rica for rest and relaxation. It is beautifully decorated, clean and has a quiet location right on a (nearly) deserted beach. It made for a good jumping off point for visits to Manual Antonio (40 min) and Jaco (40 min). It was nice to be able to visit these places without having to stay in the busy districts. We felt like we had a safe haven. We stayed in the apartment with full kitchen and loved the lay out.

The manager is nice and accommodates you in any way that he can. We spent much time in the water with boogie boards that he had loaned us. (Be careful of the currents). It would not be a good swimming place for weak swimmers. We loved the crazy waves.

Not as good-
We did have a strange experience with one of our cell phones disappearing out of our room. But as soon as we told the manager, it was returned by an adolescent boy along with a long (questionable) explanation. Just use the safe that is provided and you won´t have that problem. This is the only reason why I awarded one less star. We felt like the staff had a little too easy access in and out of rooms whenever they felt like it.

Overall, this is a great resort. I would certainly stay again and recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Go for the apartment with the kitchen if you like to cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tres Ríos, Cartago, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I would like to say I'm a costa rican person, born and raised, who has been going to beaches and hotel since kid. So if would like to make a decision based on this reviews, I think you might want to take a look a mine.

It was a really easy place to get, but I think for outsiders they might want to print a map. Also the mobile reception is very poor, but deep down i'm thankful for that, It is the only way to really get disconnected from the world.

The bedroom and facilities are just perfect. The pool is a little small but for cooling off it great. The beach is really clean, beautiful and with a lot of room to play or relax. You gotta be careful with the ocean since the currents are kind of strong here, but as long as you keep this on mind you good to go.

I have to be honest, the beach and pool were so beautiful but the room was so comfortable that it was hard to get out. It has all you might need and that's it. I really recommend it to you, since I'm planning to go back again. Oh an prices, it's a great deal.

Thank you Cocomar for a great experience.

Room Tip: The check in it's a little late, so eat before getting there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort

Address: beach of Palo Seco, Parrita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small boutique property with only 20 units and hence very personalized service. We are located on the beach of Isla Palo Seco of Parrita, just two hours from San Jose, Costa Rica with nothing between you and the ocean except a few palm trees. We offer 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units. Anything from a standard hotel room to a full 2,200 sq ft. living area with full kitchen and dining area. Isla Palo Seco is still one of the undiscovered authentic beach destinations unspoiled by loads of tourists, yet has a local community to fulfill basic needs while vacationing. The city of Parrita is a ten-minute drive away and has banks, supermarkets, restaurants, shopping, churches and a medical clinic. There are taxis and bus service to Quepos, Jaco and San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomar Residences & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.