We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Paradise Clandestino Parrita Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clandestino Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clandestino Beach Resort to your Saves list
Clandestino Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Km este desde la entrada a Playa Palo Seco | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 6000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Private Paradise Clandestino Parrita Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I never really expected almost anywhere in the world to find an amazing beach left... so remote that I was the only human on the beach besides my husband....and yet...right across the road was a magnificent resort/pool/restaurant. It's like having your own private paradise and they were totally booked! Palms line the beach and hammocks are yours for the taking. Just beyond is a huge (tide out, HUGE) beach of sand and brilliant blue-green waves crashing just offshore. I felt like Robinson Crusoe with NO other human being in sight 85% of the time. But when you are ready to socialize and eat, it's all there for you. A "palm-thatched" restaurant/club that serves magnificent food and duplex "palm-thatched" huts that were designed ulta elegant. 12 rooms in 6 "huts". Outside the town of Parrita which is very close to Quepos, a nice sized town but not a tourist resort. Bus/taxi/rental car are all options. If you really need a break and want to feel you are a local (a pampered local!), then this is the place!

Room Tip: There are a couple of huts closer to the pool and others are in a more "jungle-like" atmos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello,

many thanks for your amazing review. We are so glad you like the location of the resort.

Just we try to make people feel like you, like Robinson Crusoe ... but with all services!

It's been a pleasure to have you in our little part of paradise.

We hope to see you soon and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    44
    10
    8
    13
See reviews for
62
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is waaaay off the main track. And that's a good thing. It is about 9 km from the town of Parrita, on a very bumpy road. Very difficult to navigate when lighting is poor.
It is beautifully isolated from the rest of the world.
There are 12 rooms on the property. They are reasonably located, so you really don't run into too many people. Nice, screened porch with hammock and swinging chair.
Beds are nice. Clean throughout.
Nice pool.
Friendly staff. They were helpful and enthusiastic. We really enjoyed chatting with Luca and Marina. They had lots of helpful hints about the local area.
It's a small property, and there are not a lot of staff there. So, a few things take a little bit of time. But, everything gets done at a reasonable pace.
Stunning, gorgeous beach. Over 150 m to the water during low tide; 50+ m during high tide.
Amazing water. Great waves. Not ideal for swimming out far because of the currents, but still a lot of fun to play in the surf.
During our 3 days there, we "shared" the beach with a maximum of 4 other people. From one end to the other, there was no one around as far as the eye could see.
Food is a slight weak point here.
Included "free" breakfast is basic and OK. A plate of fresh fruit (2 slices of pineapple, papaya, mango), 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon, and toast. Orange juice (not fresh) or coffee (very good). No changes from one day to the next.
Anything else you might want was extra, and rather expensive.
We had one dinner at their restaurant. Food quality was OK. Prices were steep. We mostly ate at restaurants in town.
Overall, this is a slightly expensive property. But, the isolation is well worth it.
I would go back to sit in a hammock on "my" beach and read a book as the surf punishes the sand. So peaceful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello ,we really appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you liked the location of our Hotel, as well as you were very satisfied with your room and the amenities that we provide to our guests.

Thank you also for your positive feedback regarding our employees.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked the place last minute before Easter without really understanding what are we looking for ,once we arrive we know that we need more time here, the pool is amazing so is the beach, the owner and her son gives a family style experience, can't wait for the the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your review. we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Clandestino Beach Resort.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barriere, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had our wedding here. We booked nine months in advance and were able to reserve all 12 rooms for family and friends. It's was an absolutely amazing experience, the hotel grounds and rooms are impeccable and the beach was absolutely beautiful (there is no one around for miles). As for the wedding, I was truly a stress free bride! Diana and Cecilia took care of everything it was so beautiful!
Thanks for an amazing time!!!!
Ron and Amanda Lampreau

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello Ron and Amanda,

Thank you for your amazing review!

Has been a pleasure for us to organize your wedding and have your entire family at the hotel all week. The wedding was really beautiful and you were gorgeous.

We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the gardens and rooms.

Thank you very much again.

Hope to see you again soon.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed every minute of it! The rooms were clean and very nice. The food at the restaurant was wonderful.I know some people pick at little things about this place but we would go back here in a heart beat! We loved the pool and the beach was endless with very few people on it. Breakfast was two eggs your way, bacon, toast and coffee. I do not eat eggs or meat so I just had coffee but my husband was happy to eat my meal! I basically lived in a bathing suit and coverup for three nights. We didn't leave the property as there was no need to. We had our best time here while staying in Costa Rica! Highly recommend to couples!!!! Very romantic with beach, sunsets and good food.drinks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello Brigitte!

Wow, is very gratifying to see that really have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel!

We are very glad you like the restaurant, always we buy the finest raw materials to prepare our dishes, and this is easily perceived.

We love to see that they liked the rooms and the hotel's Location!

Thank you so much for your amazing review and especially for recommending us!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at clandestino and our room was really lovely with much needed fans, air con and it was a very good size. The pool area is also stunning overlooking the beach and we saw lots of iguanas outside our room and a few sloths in trees. It really felt like you had your own piece of the jungle as well as being on the beach.

The only downside for is was that it was expensive to eat and drink at the hotel and unless you have a car it's difficult to go elsewhere as the nearest cheaper restaurant is 4km away. However, the food is really nice, we just thought it was overpriced and so meant we only had one course and one or two drinks each time and even then it was costing around $60 a go (for two of us). Also, we thought the complementary breakfast could be better as you got the same thing everyday - fruit, bacon and eggs (and toast) unless you paid for other options. Finally, it would have have been nice to have freshly squeezed orange juice not the stuff from concentrate.

That said the hotel is gorgeous, the owner was really nice and staff were great so if you are looking for somewhere to relax in a picturesque setting then we would recommend it we just suggest getting a car to explore and eat out.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 9 days there in February and loved every minute of it. The location, on the beach, is great. As it is a small hotel, 12 cabins I believe, it never felt crowded by the pool or in the central bar. If you want some peace and tranquility then I recommend it as an excellent choice.

The staff there were very helpful and as we had two young children we appreciated the extra attention they received - very different to the UK! The whole place has a laid back atmosphere and the tempo is leisurely. Our room was spacious with 2 good sized double beds and the shower was in a stone clad cubicle. I read a review about this arrangement being musty and damp but at the owner's recommendation we always left the fan on and it was not a problem.

The pool is a nice size and was where our kids spent most of the time when we had a day at the hotel. It does lack shade so it is probably a good idea to liberally apply a high factor sun cream. However, there are plenty of beach umbrellas and sun beds next to the pool. The beach is literally the other side of the dirt track that connects the hotel to the road to Parrita, about 7 km. The beach is deserted and quite simply makes for stunning views being lapped by palm trees. The only snag here is that due to the presence of rip currents it is not suitable for kids to swim in and possibly anyone other than a strong swimmer - that ruled me out.

The food I thought was basic but in my view prepared well and was always tasty. There are the old favourites such as pasta and burgers but I would recommend the fish dishes. The breakfast included in the room rate consisted of fresh fruit, eggs and bacon. Perhaps a little more variety would have been nice but we were there for 9 days so on a shorter trip perhaps that would not matter.

Lastly, one of the attractions of the Clandestino is that it is in an isolated location and a beautiful one at that but I would recommend hiring a car so that you can explore the local attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clandestino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandestino Beach Resort

Address: 5 Km este desde la entrada a Playa Palo Seco | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 6000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clandestino Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clandestino Beach Resort is a Beachfront boutique hotel, located in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica, on a beautiful and wild beach sprinkled with coconut trees along 10 km of in Palo Seco Beach. The hotel is located at about 20 km from Quepos and 45 km. from Jaco next to the magnificent Manuel Antonio National Park. The highway from San Jose is in very good conditions, leading the guests on a two hour drive through an incredible landscape with several different microclimates and a very diverse flora and fauna. Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the area, the sounds of nature, the tropical breeze, the wildlife and of course also get to know the local culture and people. The hotel has 12 luxury rooms, designed in natural tones and built with local materials such as Teak wood structures, Royal Palm leaf roofs, natural stone bathrooms, and bamboo ceilings, terraces and furniture. We offer you 4 rooms with king size beds and 8 rooms with two queen size beds each (all rooms have TV, Free WIFI, A/C, ceiling fans, hair dryers and hot water). For your safety our hotel has security cameras and night watchmen. The hotel also features a large, turtle-shaped swimming pool facing the ocean, Jacuzzi, a waterfall, and a water mirror for sunbathing, all surrounded by lush gardens, green iguanas, wonderful birds, sloths, funny capuchin monkeys that come to the hotel from the Mangrove. It is in every sense a dream come true. The unique and beautiful restaurant features an ocean view and serves international and local dishes that appease even the most demanding connoisseurs of gourmet cuisine. In the cozy bar you will be able to enjoy a variety of delicious tropical cocktails, play pool and table tennis or just lay back and enjoy your stay. All of this with an exclusive atmosphere and good music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clandestino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandestino Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clandestino Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.