We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clandestino Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clandestino Beach Resort to your Saves list
Clandestino Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Km este desde la entrada a Playa Palo Seco | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 6000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 9 days there in February and loved every minute of it. The location, on the beach, is great. As it is a small hotel, 12 cabins I believe, it never felt crowded by the pool or in the central bar. If you want some peace and tranquility then I recommend it as an excellent choice.

The staff there were very helpful and as we had two young children we appreciated the extra attention they received - very different to the UK! The whole place has a laid back atmosphere and the tempo is leisurely. Our room was spacious with 2 good sized double beds and the shower was in a stone clad cubicle. I read a review about this arrangement being musty and damp but at the owner's recommendation we always left the fan on and it was not a problem.

The pool is a nice size and was where our kids spent most of the time when we had a day at the hotel. It does lack shade so it is probably a good idea to liberally apply a high factor sun cream. However, there are plenty of beach umbrellas and sun beds next to the pool. The beach is literally the other side of the dirt track that connects the hotel to the road to Parrita, about 7 km. The beach is deserted and quite simply makes for stunning views being lapped by palm trees. The only snag here is that due to the presence of rip currents it is not suitable for kids to swim in and possibly anyone other than a strong swimmer - that ruled me out.

The food I thought was basic but in my view prepared well and was always tasty. There are the old favourites such as pasta and burgers but I would recommend the fish dishes. The breakfast included in the room rate consisted of fresh fruit, eggs and bacon. Perhaps a little more variety would have been nice but we were there for 9 days so on a shorter trip perhaps that would not matter.

Lastly, one of the attractions of the Clandestino is that it is in an isolated location and a beautiful one at that but I would recommend hiring a car so that you can explore the local attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    40
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
58
107
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I traveled with another couple and our goal was to stay at the beach but not at the typical beach spots. The staff and owner were very responsive and friendly. The beach in front of the hotel was deserted and we had it to ourselves. Perfect. Food was good however there is not really any other convenient place to eat. Manuel Antonio was just 40 minutes away and that was so touristy that this was a great getaway. Size of the rooms were ample. Our friends had a leaky air conditioner and it was repaired within the day. We appreciated the attention to detail. It is the beach so was a little laid back.

Room Tip: Perfect spot to go if you want privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have spent 3 days in Calndestino just in the middle of February. Our purpose was to stay in a secluded place to rest and Clandestino is exactly this kind of place.
For us it was no problem to drive threw the dirt road neither to find the hotel. Though we took the advice from one o the reviewers of the hotel here in the trip advisor, so we knew that heading from Jacó we would find the indication just after Parrita.
On the site of the hotel the directions may not be clear ( the link to google that was sent to us did not function).
In relation to the accomodation the hotel is nice, has a nice pool area, the rooms have exterior chill out zone where you can read a book and rest.
The main advantage for us was the hammock zone just on the beach in front where we passed most of our tme.
The things we did not enjoy that much were:
breakfast: it is probably the only hotel in the world where you can only have scrammbled eggs and fruit. I asked once for a slice (literally) of cheese for my toast and I was refused....
price of the cocktails: higher than in any other fancy restaurant in Manuel Antonio
food: overpriced for Costa Rica and unfortunately most of the dishes I tried were really not good: risotto ( undercooked), salad: very basic. I also had shrimps and they were ok but nothing extraordinary.
The restaurant is a big problem in Clandestino as really it was for us one of the most expencive to eat and we visited many more hotels in CR and 5* restaurants...
The service in the restaurant is not special, we enjoyed a lot one of the employess ( young girl) but the rest of them were not too kind.

Pool area: we were stunned that the drinks we had in the afternoon were not removed from the pool area until afternoon of the next day. Ashtrays would stay there always usually more than 12 hours. It´s rather strange as the pool area is not big and close to the restaurant. The employees would bring you the drinks but would never take the other glasses back!

Important is to know that in spite of these circumstances we would be back at the hotel because of it´s great secluded location.
If you search to be in a calm and quiet place to read and chill out Clandestino is perfect for you. If you look to go out and have nightlife this is not the place to go.
I wouldn´t advice to families with children as besides the pool there is not much for kids to do.

The beach is not a kind of the beach to swim but we really enjoyed the hammocks and a chill breeze. The location of the hotel is really very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic! It's quite far down a dirt road, but PERFECT if you don't plan on doing much traveling. It only has 12 rooms, so it's really quiet an peaceful. The rooms were comfortable, the staff was very friendly and a private beach on the Pacific Ocean. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took our 9 & 10 year old for two nights. The food was great, beaches were nearly vacant, beautiful sunset, rooms very clean, comfortable with special touches like fresh cut flowers and porch swings. The beach is truly a few steps across a dirt road from the pool. There are several hammocks to use. They had everything we needed for a remote, safe, peaceful, vacation. The pictures the resort provides on their website are 100% accurate. If simple pleasures are what you like, this is the place. Paradise!

Room Tip: The beach rooms are around the pool. The back rooms are very secluded. We preferred the rooms towa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is unbelievable. If I could design the perfect resort for myself, this would be it. You can walk the beach in each direction without seeing another person. The cabins are beautiful and spacious, with great high ceilings, and they feel very secluded surrounded by the gardens. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The food is fresh and delicious. It's really just perfect. There were so many things we wanted to do while in Costa Rica, but we loved the resort so much that we just relaxed there every other day. Great people, great resort, great location. I would live there.

Room Tip: We had the option of switching to an ocean view room after a few days, but we liked our room so much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely nothing was wrong. The place is across the road from the beach, backs onto a Mangrove, Excellent furnishings seemingly locally made from bamboo. The individual cabins are beautifully designed with large glass doors to keep you connected to spectacular scenery. Don't step on the iguanas that roam the pathways. And the food! Death by seafood. A shrimp salad is a dish of shrimp with enough vegetables to quality it as a salad. Costa Rica has great food and this was terrific. The staff was friendly, warm and unimposing. Whatever they could do to make the stay better, they did. I have never stayed in a more enjoyable hotel/resort anywhere in the world. This must be how movie stars live but considering the quality of the place, it's very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clandestino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandestino Beach Resort

Address: 5 Km este desde la entrada a Playa Palo Seco | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 6000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clandestino Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clandestino Beach Resort is a Beachfront boutique hotel, located in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica, on a beautiful and wild beach sprinkled with coconut trees along 10 km of in Palo Seco Beach. The hotel is located at about 20 km from Quepos and 45 km. from Jaco next to the magnificent Manuel Antonio National Park. The highway from San Jose is in very good conditions, leading the guests on a two hour drive through an incredible landscape with several different microclimates and a very diverse flora and fauna. Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the area, the sounds of nature, the tropical breeze, the wildlife and of course also get to know the local culture and people. The hotel has 12 luxury rooms, designed in natural tones and built with local materials such as Teak wood structures, Royal Palm leaf roofs, natural stone bathrooms, and bamboo ceilings, terraces and furniture. We offer you 4 rooms with king size beds and 8 rooms with two queen size beds each (all rooms have TV, Free WIFI, A/C, ceiling fans, hair dryers and hot water). For your safety our hotel has security cameras and night watchmen. The hotel also features a large, turtle-shaped swimming pool facing the ocean, Jacuzzi, a waterfall, and a water mirror for sunbathing, all surrounded by lush gardens, green iguanas, wonderful birds, sloths, funny capuchin monkeys that come to the hotel from the Mangrove. It is in every sense a dream come true. The unique and beautiful restaurant features an ocean view and serves international and local dishes that appease even the most demanding connoisseurs of gourmet cuisine. In the cozy bar you will be able to enjoy a variety of delicious tropical cocktails, play pool and table tennis or just lay back and enjoy your stay. All of this with an exclusive atmosphere and good music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clandestino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandestino Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clandestino Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.