We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing pristine rain forest experience, a must see!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
22 km/13 mi northeast of Quepos, Parrita, Costa Rica
506 2777-3565
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing pristine rain forest experience, a must see!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

we loved this place!!! the hike was beautiful with many amazing overlooks that take your breath away. the hanging bridges were very fun and the waterfalls were gorgeous. this was a very special experience and we loved it. you don't see much craft beer in costa rica and the beer they brew there was awesome and very tasty after a nice hike. the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful; very nice people

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    33
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Make sure you have good knees, ankles & do not have a fear of heights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

....And you will enjoy some of the most magnificent views offered in Costa Rica. We ventured to Rainmaker Park after it being suggested that we go. We almost turned back after seeing the path; we are 58 and thank goodness are physically fit to climb the semblance of "stairs" being rocks or tires or... nothing but gravel to the top of the trail; we walked one at a time over the swinging bridges which were actually aluminum ladders tied together, thin plank boards and chicken wire covering the boards and holes in them. We held on tight to the ropes as we made our way over, sometimes the most scariest of swinging bridges. This is not for the light hearted but for the adventurous. I must say; that we are proud of ourselves for doing Rainmaker as we were rewarded with specular views reaching from the Canopy as far as the Pacific Ocean and enjoyed the sounds and beautiful waterfalls. We didn't see any snakes and that might be because we were watching our footing almost the entire time :-) But at the end, we saw a dart frog. We were alone during our trek; met some young 'uns heading up. We said to ourselves; there might be times they might think of turning back, but saying "if those old folks can do it we can" :-) Truly an adventure we are happy to have made; remember though, it is not for anyone that has weak knees and definitely if you have a fear of heights, perhaps just remain at the base and enjoy all the beautiful and unusual birds. It's $15 to go, no credit cards accepted; an extra $5 will get you a fresh made local lunch and an extra $6 an ice cold handcrafted cerveza; Perrovida is an award winning brew that we found was a great way to reward ourselves!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Indiana Jones bridges, stunning unspoilt rainforest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place! The rainforest is breathtakingly beautiful and totally unspoilt, there is a wealth of wildlife - we saw green and black dart frogs, eyelash vipers, coral snakes, glass butterflies, golden orb spiders, iguanas and chestnut (or black) mandibled toucans - and the hanging bridges are real "Indiana Jones" type bridges and great fun (much better than the sanitised metal bridges at Monteverde)! In addition, apart from one other couple, we had the entire place to ourselves and our guide. The paths are well laid out, and you can get some marvellous views across country to the Pacific from the top. So glad that the owner has preserved this pristine area of rainforest and allows others to enjoy it and the wildlife to flourish! Well, well worth a visit if you are in the Manuel Antonio area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Special place if you have the chance GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is well worth the visit! Easy hike, beautiful scenery, lots of fun hanging bridges and really pretty falls! Can't go wrong with all those combinations! We didn't take a guide since we had just come from M.A. So of course didn't see what you would with a guide, but did see the poisonious dart frog and a snake marked on one of the trails and lots of lizards! Not crowded and the beer is Great, it's a Must as well!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best time we had in Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This attraction should not be missed. Do hire a naturalist though or you'll miss out. We went with our children 10, 5 and 3. All three were so enthralled they forgot to whine about how difficult and long the hike was for them. It is by no means a breeze to walk the path but it is definitely worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainmaker Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.