We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
22 km/13 mi northeast of Quepos, Parrita, Costa Rica
506 2777-3565
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Parrita
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
San Salvador de Baru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've lived here over 8 years and have seen the signs driving by but never knew what it was...and then I went. OMG this place is amazing! Even in the pouring rain, my guests had a ball traversing the hanging bridges, viewing the spectacular waterfalls, hiking the trails through the rainforest. This place is going on my MUST DO list for all my guests from here on out. Don't miss it if you're in the Central Pacific anywhere. Only $15 admission fee -- it's the best deal I've seen in the country.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    23
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great canopy hike, hanging bridges, swimming and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited Rainmaker toward the end of our vacation, had already done a variety of hikes and hanging bridges. Almost didn't go as in one guide book they listed the entrance fee at $70. We called and were tole that the self guided tour was $15.

So glad we went. A nice hike, more "exciting" hanging bridges, great views and a wonderful swimming hole by the waterfall. There was a local family there who tried to get us to use the rope to clim b up the waterfall. My wife tried but slipped.

The lunch after was great and only $5. A very well spent 3 hours with swimming and lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, Great + Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Far better than Manuel Antonio National Park
This is a taxi ride away from Manuel Antonio ($35 taxi ride) ... but worth it for sure.
Amazing nature, but for sure I recommend taking the guide as they are knowledgeable and extremely friendly. They make the difference for sure.
Our guide Louis was amazing! 10 out of 10!

Also for sure take them up on their lunch, best $5 lunch you'd ever have. Plus you'l need it after a 2.5 hour hike in the woods!

Anyhoo have fun and do not miss this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked this ATV tour through our hotel. We booked the afternoon time and we were the only 2 on the tour. Our guide, Carlos,( hopefully this is correct) was fantastic. We booked only 1 ATV and I rode on the back.( ask for towel to sit on so it is a bit more comfortable) We had a blast, riding through the Palm tree forest and once we arrived at the Rainmaker reserve, had an excellent time walking through the rainforest with our guide who stopped and pointed out so many interesting things. Went on a number of primitive hanging bridges, stopped and swam by a waterfall and then rode the ATV back to base where we had a traditional Tico dinner. A very good value! Of course our guide made the experience so much more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for adventure lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We tried to visit Rainmaker years ago but it was closed, so we were very excited to hear it was operating again and didn’t think twice, although we had no idea what to expect. The park is absolutely beautiful, everything you could expect from a Costa Rican rain forest. Hot, green and humid, with lots of fauna (yes, bugs too, you’re in the wrong place if you’re afraid of them) and fantastic vegetation. The hikes are a bit challenging but don’t be discouraged, you can always take a break, look around and catch your breath, it’s worth it. The hanging bridges are a great way to appreciate the forest but I wouldn’t recommend them for anyone with fear of heights, some of they are quite long and high. After a bit of a workout you get to swim in the crystal-clear waters of the river. You’ll spend around 2 hours in the park, during which rain and sunshine are likely to alternate, which makes it even better!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainmaker Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.