We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Great + Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
22 km/13 mi northeast of Quepos, Parrita, Costa Rica
506 2777-3565
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, Great + Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Far better than Manuel Antonio National Park
This is a taxi ride away from Manuel Antonio ($35 taxi ride) ... but worth it for sure.
Amazing nature, but for sure I recommend taking the guide as they are knowledgeable and extremely friendly. They make the difference for sure.
Our guide Louis was amazing! 10 out of 10!

Also for sure take them up on their lunch, best $5 lunch you'd ever have. Plus you'l need it after a 2.5 hour hike in the woods!

Anyhoo have fun and do not miss this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked this ATV tour through our hotel. We booked the afternoon time and we were the only 2 on the tour. Our guide, Carlos,( hopefully this is correct) was fantastic. We booked only 1 ATV and I rode on the back.( ask for towel to sit on so it is a bit more comfortable) We had a blast, riding through the Palm tree forest and once we arrived at the Rainmaker reserve, had an excellent time walking through the rainforest with our guide who stopped and pointed out so many interesting things. Went on a number of primitive hanging bridges, stopped and swam by a waterfall and then rode the ATV back to base where we had a traditional Tico dinner. A very good value! Of course our guide made the experience so much more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for adventure lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We tried to visit Rainmaker years ago but it was closed, so we were very excited to hear it was operating again and didn’t think twice, although we had no idea what to expect. The park is absolutely beautiful, everything you could expect from a Costa Rican rain forest. Hot, green and humid, with lots of fauna (yes, bugs too, you’re in the wrong place if you’re afraid of them) and fantastic vegetation. The hikes are a bit challenging but don’t be discouraged, you can always take a break, look around and catch your breath, it’s worth it. The hanging bridges are a great way to appreciate the forest but I wouldn’t recommend them for anyone with fear of heights, some of they are quite long and high. After a bit of a workout you get to swim in the crystal-clear waters of the river. You’ll spend around 2 hours in the park, during which rain and sunshine are likely to alternate, which makes it even better!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quiet & fun...except for the sudden downpour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived at the park in an early afternoon. It was very quiet as there was just one other family who arrived earlier and they just finished lunch there. No guide was present so we did a self-guided walk. It is fairly straight forward, as the trail is just a loop and it is marked with sign posts along the way. We didn't see any wildlife on the trail, except for the leaf cutter ants. We heard the birds, but didn't spot any. Having a guide would be great for the extra dollars. My suggestion is to pre-book one online or give them a call. Nonetheless, the scenery was beautiful. We passed by a lookout point that we could see the ocean. The hanging bridges were amazing. There were a few short ones and there was a very long one that you could barely see the other end! It is definitely NOT for those who is afraid of heights.

We were at the farthest end of the trail when the storm clouds moved in and dumping a lot of rain for about 20-25 minutes. And the worst part was that we had no rain gear! There was only one place with a shelter and that was at the beginning of the hanging bridges, but we had passed it a while ago. We weren't sure how long the rain would be so we continued to walk towards the exit after waited for about 5 minutes.

The riverside trail was quite nice, there were some waterfalls along the way, but it was raining too heavily at the time for us to take a picture of. The rain stopped before we could get out of the trail. We would definitely have enjoyed the riverside trail more without the rain. But hey, this is the Rainmaker Park! So bring your rain gear when you come here!

The rewarding part was seeing three toucans and a couple of hummingbirds feeding on the trees by the cafeteria area at the trail entrance while we were drying our stuffs. I don't think we would have spotted them if it wasn't for the rain.

You'll need your own vehicle to get here or arrange for pick up, as it is like 10km or so from the main highway. Note that the side road to the park is a gravel road and it gets narrower at the end. It's an interesting drive as you will pass by palm plantation, a small village and rural areas.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had hiked the trails of Manuel Antonio and were looking for a different experience. The Rainmaker Park is close to Quepos (about 30 min drive) and is privately owned. The owner met us and told us about the trails and which direction to go in. It was a nice hike, lots of suspension bridges with beautiful scenery. Near the end of the hike, there are several waterfalls/natural swimming areas. I wish I had brought a towel. The hike is easy to do in tennis shoes, there are hiking sticks you can use. They are working on more trails and I would go back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing