We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfalls!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
22 km/13 mi northeast of Quepos, Parrita, Costa Rica
506 2777-3565
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Parrita
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Triangle Area, N.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waterfalls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

half the adventure was getting there, but the long dirt roads do finally come to an end and you'll feel like you've arrived in paradise. The hike to the suspension bridges definitely gives you a work out (and makes you feel like you're in an Indiana Jones movie), and makes the cool waterfall swimming holes that much better after you've worked up a sweat! You can skip the uphill part and just go to the swimming holes though if you want. We went in the afternoon on a Sunday and hardly saw anyone along the trail. Great place to pack a lunch and stay for the day splashing in the waterfalls.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    22
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If You Have Extra Time To Kill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went here on a whim. It's a good drive off the main road into the hills. There wasn't anyone else there when we arrived (early December, not yet peak season) but were quickly greeted by one of the staff. He showed us a map and said that we'd have no problem making the hike in an hour (it was already close to 5pm and we were worried about getting stuck out there in the dark). He made sure to let us know that the trails are walked daily and dangerous snakes are clearly marked with bright orange signs. The trails were pretty muddy and the suspension bridges were quite and adventure (wooden and seemed a little older). It was a decent experience and easily hiked without a guide. I wouldn't go out of my way to visit here but it is a nice place to visit if you have the time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth visiting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Not knowing much what to expect we took the 7km dirt road leading to Rainmakers. On site, Luis, the only guide there, kindly explained what there was to do so we decided to make the approx. 2h guided walk in the jungle with him. The trail is well maintained, with rope bridges, waterfalls, even a place where we could swim. We could have walked the trail by ourselves but were glad to be guided by Luis otherwise we would have missed most of the interesting things to see. We saw bats, snakes, morpho butterflies, etc. Luis was very knowledgeable and spoke Spanish slowly so we could practice. We also had lunch on site, not expensive and one of the best typical meal we had on our 2 weeks trip. We would definitely do it again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The last activity of our 8 day (first time) trip to Costa Rica was Rainmaker and it was a perfect way to close out the trip. The views are just spectacular, and it was not too crowded. Waterfalls rainforest, hanging bridges, beautiful, lush surroundings. Definitely worth the trip up the road.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rainmaker hanging bridges,waterfalls,nature park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A group of 4 of us just returned from a morning visit to this delightful park. We were originally just going to walk the trails ourselves, but elected to go with the guide (Luis ) and we were very glad that we did. Luis was exceptionally knowledgeable, spoke excellent English and was thoroughly entertaining. We liked him and our visit so much that 2 members of our party reserved Luis for the next week when their children and grandchildren would be here. We range in age from our late 50s to 70 (one with a hip replacement) and had no trouble navigating the trails. I would definitely recommend the guided walk for the insight that the guide can provide into the flora and fauna. I would also definitely recommend borrowing one of the walking sticks that are offered.

We suggest wearing your swimsuit under your shorts and bringing a change of clothes. The pool at the base of one of the falls is Sooo refreshing that you should not miss it.

Also, the lunch was worth the additional $5 charge. If you are staying in the Manuel Antonio area, I would definitely do this one morning and relax at the beach in the afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainmaker Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.