We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectactular A must see & do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
22 km/13 mi northeast of Quepos, Parrita, Costa Rica
506 2777-3565
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Parrita
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectactular A must see & do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We absolutely love this place! We live here in Costa Rica and have taken many groups to this magical park. They absolutely love it and we keep coming back. Rainmaker is a huge hiking park set in a jungle river with large suspension bridges over the river. It's a true adventure in paradise. We keep laughing saying it feels as if we are in an Indiana Jones Movie! There are several waterfalls and if the river isn't flowing too hard swimming in the waterfalls and pools is awesome. The best part of this magical forest is there are not many tourists here. It is one of the off the beaten path gems in this area. A side trip once you've enjoyed the park and have worked up an appetite is the Rio Seco talapia farm. This is about 300 meters from back down the road from the park. Fish for talapia and the sweet Costa Rican family cooks it up right there for you. Delish! There is also a natural fed pool with a water-slide! The road is marked off of the main highway. Just continue up the mountain...you'll see the signs. The road isn't paved so 4X4 is recommended as the rain can cause cars to get stuck. This place is definitely worth a day trip. If you visit during rainy season best to start early in the day (9-10am)...if you start later in the morning (11-12noon) bring rain ponchos unless you don't mind getting rained on.We Highly recommend it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    19
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Such a cool place, worth 2x the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

There are a lot of outdoor options around Quepos and Manuel Antonio, and it can be hard to differentiate if you dont have friends there or know the area. As far as activities are concerned, this is probably the cheapest entry price for what you get, and its unique in that you can walk and explore the trails and bridges at your own pace, for as long as you want, and cool off in the nice swimming holes as well. Its adventure, relaxation, appreciation, all wrapped up in one. Definitely a must, well worth the cab fare and the entry fee.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great hike, scenery, and waterfall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am just going to warn you that when you get off the main road it is dirt and bumpy (we just laughed the whole time). The park is worth the drive. We saw less than ten people the whole time we were there. The hike is pleasant. The bridges are fun to walk over and the swim at the base of the waterfall was refreshing (bring towels and a change of clothes). We made the hike so we hit the waterfall towards the end. Would recommend getting there early - we had rain (didn't bother us though). Might have a better chance seeing more wildlife.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A rainforest all to yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We did the self guided walk by day with our teenage children who loved the bridges and platforms in the trees, we saw lots of wildlife and were really pleased to see a 'poison dart frog'. We only met one other group of people there near the end, so had the place to ourselves. You need decent footwear as the paths and bridges are tricky in places, the walk took us about 2 hours in all, as we didn't go into the waterfall pools. We waited around and had the guided nightwalk also, which was a great experience. We saw loads of things you never see by day and we were so lucky as we saw 2 types of the 'red eyed tree frog' one of them jumped onto our daughters coat!. Great value and well worth the drive from Manuel Antonio.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to see animals and swim in the waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Don't forget to get a guide, if not you won't see animals! You can see snakes and frogs! Take a bath in the waterfalls, its a great experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainmaker Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.