We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and uncomfortable!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beso del Viento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beso del Viento to your Saves list
Beso del Viento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Isla playa Palo Seco, Parrita 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Assen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Overrated and uncomfortable!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A disappointment in price/quality: we have found many much nicer hotels in Costa Rica at prices below rather than above 100 dollars per night. From the half-open bathroom + toilet + closet (supposedly to store clothing !!) the humidity, odor, and unpleasant sounds drift around the room everywhere. Furnishings are quite spartan. Airconditioning had no middle setting between too cold or just moving around hot air. Cleaning was going on in the morning before we had a chance to pack our bags and leave. Breakfast was way below Costa Rican standards: coffee or tea and just a few pieces of toast with cups of jam and some see-through-thin slices of mango, served without so much as a smile. Quite unexpected for a place that pretends to have French Cuisine at night - which we were not allowed to "experience" for lack of reservation, despite a mostly empty restaurant. The deserted, very wide sandy beach and the wild ocean, across the (unpaved) road, are great to admire for a half-hour at sunset and sunrise, but simply too hot (in February) to stay for the rest of the day. There is obviously also lots of birding to be had in the general area, which looks green and appealing. But it extends for miles around, so please do yourself a favor and pick another hotel, since the owners of this one seem all too contented with their property, for which the positive reviews apparently keep coming in for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
besodelviento, Propriétaire at Beso del Viento, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
We very much regret your disappointment with almost every aspect of your stay with us during your visit this past February. Of the many reviews we have received from our guests, yours has been a total sum of black balls and we feel we must address some of the most important ones.
First, your visit coincided with the hottest and driest month of the summer season as you correctly noted; it is extremely rare to have high levels of humidity at that time but it is quite difficult to have some control over the weather. We recognize we could do better on that score.
We are at a loss trying to understand, first, your objections regarding our rates since our small hotel on the ocean front is one of the best priced in the area in this category. Of course, if the comparison is made around accommodations far from the ocean, you might be right. Our decor is typical French provincial and is advertised as such, which means simplicity, taste and charm. Our rooms are impeccably kept and I can positively state here that never has one of them been made while a guest is in it. This is, and has been, one unbroken rule during our ownership of this hotel.
Our breakfast is continental (i.e., good coffee, fresh juice and fruit, French toasted bread. REAL butter and marmalade, not American or the typical Costarican which are widely available in the area. We only, again as advertised on our web-site, serve dinner to those guests who have made a previous reservation either on-line, verbally before 10AM, or by phone for the simple reason that what we serve are the freshest ingredients we find on the market the same day -- we don't compromise on freshness -- and as most Europeans do, we shop daily for what we cook and we make no apologies for this practice. We do regret, however, that you did not have the opportunity to experience our French cuisine.
And lastly, yes, we live surrounded by a cacophony of waves, bird songs, gekos, crickets, toads, squirrels, monkeys and other myriad heavenly creatures that are our neighbours. How sad that you were kept awake by these! We are grateful, though, that you mentioned it because from now on we will keep earplugs to offer free to those who come here in search of total silence.
Unapologetically yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    28
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
91
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at BDV yet another time this July. It is a great spot to get away from it all and experience persoanl service and spectacular "Dinner".

If you are going to be anywhere near, this is a must stay.

We will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We try to stay here on every trip we make to the pacific coast of Costa Rica. This trip was once again great. Food, service, location......everything.

You are really missing a gem of a hotel if you do not stay here.

The FOOD IS OFF THE HOOK!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Looking for a one night stay on the way southwards, but away from tourist traps of Quepos and Jaco, we chanced upon this lovely homely but elegant stopover. Beautiful surroundings, unspoilt and almost empty Playa del Seco, lovely gardens and swimming pool around the hotel, Comfortable and elegantly styled rooms and an unforgettable fish dinner - the best during our 7 week stay in Costa Rica. Vive la France! Vive Elisabeth et Bernard!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel deserves the best reviews only! Peaceful and quiet setting, just steps away from the neverending sandy beach. The rooms are very clean and very nice and detailoriented furnished. Elisabeth and Bernand are wonderful and very caring hosts, they give you the feeling of family. Don´t miss to order the dinner, it is just delicious and I am still dreaming of the food, 5 Stars!!! I had the most wonderful and relaxing time and I am definitely planning on going back to Beso del Viento, for a longer stay! Thank you, Elisabeth and Bernard!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This "off the tourist path" small hotel is wonderful. Difficult to say which is better : Isabeth's talent in furnishing the rooms or Bernard's excellent cuisine - both complement each other wonderfully : making this small Band B definitely worth a visit. We enjoyed the time we spent here and heartily recommend this hotel for people who love relaxation coupled with a great dinner and exquisitely furnished rooms !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Absolutely paradise if you are seeking privacy, attentive host and hostess, great french cuisine, and a beautiful location. Always clean guest house and rooms, very well kept grounds, friendly and attentive staff - all make for an awesome getaway. Thank you Bernard and Elisabeth for the most memorable and fabulous week! We really will miss you all and your beautiful beaches! Pats to Lola and Max too and please give the monkeys a papaya for us:) Looking forward to coming again soon:))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beso del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beso del Viento

Address: Isla playa Palo Seco, Parrita 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beso del Viento 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beso del Viento is a charming hotel located on the beach of Palo Seco Island. Fauna and flora are exceptional as the hotel is on a peninsula between the Pacific ocean and mangrove. Pool is surrounded by coconut palms in a beautiful tropical garden. Oasis of tranquillity and charm close to many activities. For the diner, French food to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Beso del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beso Del Viento Costa Rica/Parrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beso del Viento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.