We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thong Ta Resort

Save Saved
You added Thong Ta Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thong Ta Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1894 Latkrabang Road | Latkrabang (nr Suvarnabhumi Airport), 10520, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bang Phli
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room we booked was not available when we checked in and were given another room 2 beds instead one Said we could push them together Mattress hard as a rock//Was clean looking but small. We were on the 4th floor with a decent view. Only issue in the room was ants. Can't leave any food out at all. Room came with comp breakfast in the morning. Simple toast egg coffee juice fruit. The transportation available at the property was over priced and the staff was always looking for tips

Room Tip: Stay in the gold tower and keep food off tables and counters
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    365
    114
    40
    27
See reviews for
85
147
132
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had an excellent experience here as a female traveling alone. Great little hotel just a few minutes from BKK. Free shuttles to and from BKK, with free breakfast and wifi. Room was clean and comfortable with nice cool air conditioning and a decent little view from the balcony. Cute little area, on a quiet side street - quiet even on the weekend but there was a fun little outdoor hangout just a block down if you wanted late night food or drinks. Nice cafe and spa connected to hotel. Super cheap massages. Didn't get one during my short stay but you could get them up until midnight. 1hr thai massage for less than $10, with numerous other options. The breakfast area was cute with a little zen garden surrounding. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Catch a cheap taxi at the main road instead of booking through hotel, since they charge about double for calling you a taxi. I had an early flight out of DMK and got a metered taxi on the road for 320 bht (+tolls), great deal for about an hour ride. Make sure to use the meter and pay your own tolls so you don't get ripped off. Traffic was a bit heavy so allot plenty of time for commuting around Bangkok. There is also supposedly a free shuttle from BKK to DMK so check that out as an transportation option also. Overall, great hotel near the BKK airport - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its proximity to the airport but so many airport hotels are nearby n have transafers as well. The receptionists were not welcoming no smiling when I checked in even if I was the only guest that time. The receptionist who handled me had hard time understanding n speaking English. The porters were the only ones helpful n glad the hotel finally had a guest. I went to the resto which was basically empty n was looking fr menu for few minutes. The employee there basically just watched me until one finally asked if I needed a menu. it was the silliest question I have heard throughout my trip. The casita type rooms of the hotel did not appeal to a female lone traveler and the inside latch of the door was broken. It didn't feel safe enough especially at night when ur the only guest in the complex. I sure hope the employees would b more warm n professional so that other guests would check in or return.The pieces of furniture were old and the mini ref had a weird smell.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Thong Ta offers just over 100 rooms in 4 buildings, all in close proximity to one another. The 2 larger buildings are 4 and 5 sories high and 2 are smaller, single story structtures The 2 larger buildings, in 1 of which the Reception is located, have balconies for all rooms from 2 up. The 4 story building is the newest, opening in late 2012. The 2 single story buildings each have a mini paio out front with a bench. Property has an abundance of flowering shrubs and trees.

Rooms, hallways and exterior property are meticulously clean. All rooms have air-con and western-style bathroom with step-down shower (so water is kept away from area containing wash basin and toilet). Rooms furnishings are basic as one would expect in a low cost hotel. Beds are firm but, as a Canadian and accustomed to softer mattresses, I had no problem sleeping.

The Thong Ta is managed by 2 women, Earth and Few who seem to be doing a most effective job of running the establishment. The hotel is family-owned.

This was my first stay at the hotel and several factors, in addition to those menioned above, were a nice addition to my visitt. These were as follows;
- close proximity to BKK airporr (approx. 10 minute shuttle drive)
- free 24 hour shuttle from and back to Suvarnabhumi
- quiet location for sleeping. As well as being a few km. from the airport, hotel is set back from the street abouit 200 m.
- very friendly, accomodating staff
- free, good WIFI
- 7-11 store located a 5 minute walk from the hotel down the entry driveway and to the left

On a negative note, my memory tells me there are no restaurants close to the hotel, only street food.

Being a world traveller over my long lifetime (25 countries), the Thong Ta would rank amongst the best budget airpor hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. While at the hotel I checked out 3 other rooms in 2 different buildings and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I can only give this hotel a good rating for location. As for everything else, it was terrible. I arrived late at night and received a twin room with a big sign outside the door which stated' 2000 Baht fine for smoking' However, this clearly was not endorsed as the room stank of cigarette smoke as soon as I entered. I decided to put some of my aromatherapy oil on both pillows and bedspreads to try and cancel out the smell a little. After returning from the bathroom I noticed 100s of ANTS crawling all over the top of the bedspread and pillow(the scent of the oil had obviously bought them out) It was gross. Fortunately it was only on 1 bedspread and I was alone so I could sleep in the other bed, although I did encounter 1 or 2 ants in that bed too. Had there been 2 people, it would not have been a pleasant sleeping experience.
I'm sure many people use this hotel between flights and so you would expect the curtains to have the 'blackout' material common in many hotels or at least that the curtains would cover the windows. But no, this was not the case. There was at least a 1.5 inch gap between the bottom of the curtain and the window. Not the best when you arrive late after a long flight and want a lie-in in the morning but are woken up at 7am with sunlight shining in your face.
I had a quick look at the hotel rules and it stated that if you have a visitor to the room they may not stay for more than 1 hour (normally visitors aren't allowed to the rooms at all)Which suggested to me it was a different kind of hotel to the establishment I thought I was staying in. Oh, and the breakfast was awful. I just ate the toast and jam and left the old fruit and rubbery egg and sausage'. I won't be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguin tasmania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed there recenlty with family and friends.Had for nights in a triple room in the new section including breakfast.There is a 7/11 left from the front driveway entrance,also a small massage place just past 7/11 on the end of same building.The rooms were clean and tidy,The receptionist spoke good english so was easy to communicate.It was close to the airport about 10 minutes by free shuttle van from hotel.

Room Tip: Took key off hotel key ring so that we did not turn off aircon while we were out .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent one night here as it was close to BKK airport so I could get an early morning flight connection. Booked through agoda and choose the cheapest room at around 700bhat. That was my mistake. The room had loads of mosquitoes and was quite basic. I contacted reception who came in and sprayed repellant everywhere but soon after the mosquitoes returned. The cheaper rooms are in little chalets at ground level as opposed to paying a smaller supplement and getting a room in the main building. That was my big mistake.

Free courtesy bus to and from the airport was good, leaving every 30 mins.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thong Ta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thong Ta Resort

Address: 1894 Latkrabang Road | Latkrabang (nr Suvarnabhumi Airport), 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Bang Phli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bang Phli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thong Ta Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thong Ta Resort is conveniently located less than ten minutes from the Bangkok International Airport. It is surrounded by the wonderful garden. With the kind smile of your hosts, you will be made to feel special and welcome to live out the holiday of your dreams. Enjoy your leisure time in and around the resort. Indulge in a traditional Thai massage at the spa, a meal of your choice at the pub or restaurant and shopping at Seacon Square, 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Thong Ta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thong Ta Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thong Ta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.