We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet beach location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Save
You added Sri Gemunu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Great, quiet beach location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent a great 2 days and 1 night here (May 20, 2014).
The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.
The hotel is right on the beach with a lovely palm-tree terrace looking out on the sea with some fishermen's stilts right in front. Although by the road, the ony thing you hear once you are in the hotel is the waves and the wind in the palm trees.
As it is a bit (short three-wheeler) drive out of town we chose to have dinner at the hotel and were positively surprised by the tasty Sri Lankan food which our waiter showed us how to eat Sri Lankan style (with our fingers).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    73
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
82
180
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We discovered this place quite by chance when we were looking for a place to eat along the Galle- Unawatuna road. What we liked best is that they have a private stretch of beach and the restaurant starts right at the edge. The food was the best we had in Sri Lanka. The taste of the salad which we were served along with our grilled chicken is something which we will not foget too soon.

The only complain which we have is of the service. The staff was very inattentive and you have to keep waiting for someone to come and take your order. Also, once they serve you, they disappear- dont know why.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I contacted them for reservations yesterday and I was told that Sri Gemunu will close down for renovations for a few months. They were not sure of when they will be ready, certainly not in May, June and July. The beach 100 meters to the left is fantastic.

The rooms are basic, clean but I would advice those with small children to check out the balconies and railings. Some railings are quite big and a toddler can fall through. Only the ground floor rooms are suitable for families with small children. The floor where thriple rooms are, have very dangerous railings.

I hope the renovations will take care of the un child friendly balconies and railings on stairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pussewala, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sri Gemunu Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
This is just a misunderstanding and we did not take any reservation the month May 2014 due to some renovation Project. But our hotel operation is back to normal again.

Thanks .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahboula, Kuwait
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for relaxation. The view, food, and staff were wonderful. The communal space and view from our room was amazing. We will hopefully be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a great time visiting just last week. The service was good and the views were wonderful. Th staff were pleasant. Be careful with the sun though - we got severely burned!! Will plan to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for four nights at Sri Gemunu with our 2 children. The staff were smiling and helpful. From the balcony we had a beautiful view of the beach. The buffet was nice, authentic and varied. The sea just outside the hotel is quite rough, but 200 meters down the beach there is a nice lagoon. It´s a nice swimming area for children, but the snorkeling was not the best. We did though see an octopus and some small fish.
It´s a good place from which to explore south Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I can't say enough good things! We stayed for 6 nights in one of the 2 chalets, which are a stunning ten minute walk up the road from the main hotel. They are situated in their own private garden which is amazing. It's full of wildlife and this is also where the pool and spa facilities are located. We pretty much had the whole thing to our selves as the other chalet was only in use for two nights. This was exactly what we were looking for, as we'd covered a lot of ground in the first week of our trip so really wanted to relax for the second week. The chalets were lovely, with a kitchenette and plenty of other stuff to make you feel at home. They even had proper satellite tv, which was handy for watching the odd late night game of football when my girlfriend had fallen asleep!

Aruna and his staff were nothing short of top class. Their service really is amazing. They helped me out hugely when I hurt my shoulder and needed to go the the hospital in Galle. Even covering my bill and letting me pay them back later as I had no bank card with me. But the service from the first minute to the last was great.

The main hotel is located on a really nice stretch of beach, part of which is protected by an off shore reef which makes it safe for swimming which seems to be an unusual thing in Sri Lanka due to the waves. Sadly due to my injured shoulder I wasn't able to make the most of it, but the injury is a testament to how rough the sea can be, as it happened in the sea in Mirissa.

The food was also great, and for £66 per night half board we couldn't believe our luck at what we'd found, and I was really sad to leave. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#2 Best Value Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Gemunu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.