We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, brilliantly managed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ridee Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ridee Villa to your Saves list
Ridee Villa
321 Peelllagoda, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, brilliantly managed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the VIP suites. Thought we'd treat ourselves. The room was lovely; large, clean, comfortable, good shower, fast wifi, a large balcony, plenty of storage. Everything you could need. You also get access to a kitchen (though you'd be mad not to eat at the local restaurants) and there's a happy hour in the afternoon where you get a free drink. Wasana also made us a delicious dinner. If that weren't enough, one of the staff took us to Galle fort in the hotel/owner's classic car.

The location is decent. It's about a ten minute walk to the beach or a 100 Rs (50p) tuk tuk ride. The hotel organised transport back to Colombo airport for US$70 (£42) which, having checked online, seemed very reasonable.

It is very difficult to find anything to criticise about the hotel. The only thing I can think of wasn't about the hotel itself, but about some of the other guests. Russians, who felt it was ok to smoke wherever wanted. Fortunately the hotel is very airy and so it wasn't a major issue, but we'd have preferred a visible no-smoking policy.

Sumith and Wasana make you feel welcome from the moment you set foot in the hotel. They have an interesting story to tell about their former jewellery business, the tsunami and the hotel. They were always on hand to answer any questions and have a chat. They were the epitomy of hospitality. These two, the rest of the staff and the quality of the hotel itself made for a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
96
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Myself and a friend got to Unawatuna with no accomm booked, and tried several places that were either WAY above our $60USD a night budget, or were fully booked. We were soaked with the humidity, carrying large luggage, and more than a little stressed after 2 hours of searching, then we stumbled across the Ridee Villa. Having gone in and asked whaat the nightly rate for double room was, and told it was $120, we told the manager that was simply too much (and were set to get a cab back into the main port town) but the lovely manager then asked us how long we were staying. When we advised we were both staying 5 nights, my friend for an additional night at the end, he told us we could stay for $60 per night. Result. While we took a seat in the lovely traditional but modern style entrance hall to wait for them to organise the room and key etc, some of the young boys who work at the hotel appeared with two amazing massive pineaple smoothies for us. very welcome given how hot and thirsty we were at this stage! the room was lovely, not massive but lovely clean comfortable four poster bed, fridge with free welcome beers inside, table and chairs, dressing table with mirrors, and a lovely clean bathroom with the kind of person touches that you would only expect form somewhwere 5 times the price. also, each morning, on the way out to the beach we were prensented with two cold bottles of water, and fresh towels rolled and tied with pretty ribbon! breakfast was the typical sri lankan style - toast, eggs, sausage, and also a selection of cereals, fruits, juices and so on. plenty of tea and coffe. the service was outstanding, they could not do enough, nothing was too much trouble, the staff and management were the sweetest and friendliest we had met in sri lanka, no mean feat given how warm and welcoming the people there are. an interesting aside is that the hotel used to be the owners jewellrey factory which he lost along with everything inside, when the tsunami hit. along with grants from the government he rebuilt and refurbed the building to be a hotel. Bearing this in mind, when we were leaving, he presented us with a small bag each containing tiny little mother of pearl and silver charms for a charm bracelet. absolutely no need at all as we were already more happy wiht the service here than probably 97% of any accommodation either of us had ever stayed in around the world. but this was just the cherry on the cake i guess. he also arranged transfers in a private car to the airport (around 2.5 hour drive) for around $25 less than the quotes we had found online. I can not reccommend this place enough, really if you go to unawatuna this is the place to stay. also if you are staying more than a few days dont be afraid to ask for a reduction in the rate. but if we hadnt been on a very very tight budget, we would have been more than happy to pay the full $120 rate in hindsight!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in Ridee Villa during our honeymoon in Sri Lanka and it was a really lovely, friendly place to stay near Unawatuna beach. Ridee is set back from the beach and although it might have been nicer to have stayed right on the beach I don't think we saw anywhere on the sands that was as clean, modern and attractive as Ridee Villa.
The decor throughout is really lovely and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was fantastic and the provision of water and towels to take to the beach was a nice touch but by far the standout aspect of this hotel is the service, the owner and his staff could not be more welcoming, helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

During our extended visit to Asia, we had an extra week to discover an additional country. We toyed with visiting Vietnam or Cambodia but settled on Sri Lanka and the Ridee Villa. The villa and its gracious hosts, Sumith and Wasana were everything we had hoped for and more. We felt totally at home and very well cared for. The greatest revelation and pleasure for us in this island country was the friendliness and warmth of its people. We were impressed with all the Asians we came into contact with in Hong Kong, Thailand, and Malaysia, but in Sri Lanka our reception went beyond politeness and efficiency. We were so touched by our interactions with the people of this beautiful country. Many of them have very little materially but they give you their hearts and show genuine appreciation for your visit. That warmth is what we did not expect and what we will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is not just a boutique hotel, this is a home. Here you are welcomed by Sumith , Wasana and all the Ridee Villa Team.

We have spent a week here in march 2013 and it was a fantastic holiday. The Villa is very clean and in a really good position (near one of the best beaches in the World, close to a very beautiful city, Galle). It was one of the best choices of the trip. Sumith, Wasana and the Staff were very helpful with information and even arranging different trips for us.

Sri Lanka and Ridee Villa was not just a vacation, it was an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ridee Villa is one-of-a-kind. From the first minute you feel "at home". Sharing your vacations with the "Ridee Family" is and amazing experience. Generous, clean and beautilfully designed rooms gives the exact relaxation you've longed for. Add to that, a generous breakfast and welcome dinner. The staff is very helpful and service-minded. Sunith and Wasana have made Ridee Villa to a plce for returns..... over and over again. I highly recommend this unique little place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When myself and my friend arrived at Ridee Villa we were not expecting to find such a beautiful tranquil boutique type hotel....first impressions are everything and Ridee Villa was beautiful the minute we arrived from the gorgeous little entrance drive way to the hotel itself! The hotel was so clean and decorated with such taste...there was not a corner in the hotel that some attention was not given!

The owner's were there to greet us ok arrival and instantly made us feel welcome and at home....we were shown to our room which we had been upgraded to and felt like we had arrived in heaven, the room was gorgeous, crisp white sheets and the most comfortable bed and the our bathroom had a bath filled with flower petals and candles liting- these are just some of the small touches that instantly made us feel we were staying somewhere special!
We had dinner there the first night as part of our booking deal, a traditional Sri Lankan meal fit for a king-it was delicious! Breakfast was also brilliant, the selection of exotic fruits to start was my favourite & then the full works after would keep us going right through until dinner!
Another lovely unexpected touch was everyday leaving for the beach we were handed beautifully wrapped towels and cold water!
Everyone one of the staff were so friendly and so helpful....we did not want to leave and the the only complaint we had was that we were not staying longer! I cannot say enough good things about the place...you need to go and experience it for yourself... I would go back tomorrow if I could!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridee Villa

Address: 321 Peelllagoda, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ridee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridee Villa Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridee Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.