We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven amongst New Year mayhem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel to your Saves list
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 90 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A haven amongst New Year mayhem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at Nor Lanka for two nights, 30th and 31st December, when Unawatana was at its peak. New Year was a big deal and bus loads of tourists were arriving to enjoy the numerous beach parties. Set back from the beach and quietly nestled in a beautiful gardens, behind secure gates Nor Lanka was the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of the village and the beach. The staff are friendly without being intrusive. There was a laid back atmosphere that contributed to a relaxing and enjoyable couple of days. Breakfast was unhurried and wholesome, the room was clean and airy and we were able to stay on into the evening of our flight to freshen up after a day on the beach, for only a nominal amount. Overall a hidden gem, helped in part I suspect to not being in the Rough Guide, definitely somewhere we would stay again if we ever return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
122
27
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We have recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Nor Lanka hotel. We spent our first two nights in another B&B which was $20 more expensive per night for a more sub standard location and far smaller (noisier) rooms. The Nor Lanka was situated 5 minutes walk away from the beach and we couldn't fault anything about our stay. Anoma is a fantastic host who greats everyone with a smile and great sense of humour to match. The rooms were a good size and cleaned daily. If you are visting Unawatuna I would definately recommend that you stay at the Nor Lanka as you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was my favourite hotel of our trip. Well designed hotel opened in 2007 by a Nowegian/Sri Lankan husband and wife team. Lovely restaurant ara on the ground floor and throughout the hotel, spacioua common areas with comfortable furtniture to sit in and read books from the comprehensive book exchange that they have set up for guests. .Balcony areas outside rooms are also spacious and look onto lush gardens where you can watch rhe birds and monkeys. Rather than go to the beach area whilst my partner was diving, I preferred to stay in this relaxing hotel reading on the comfortable furtniture and watching the wildlife.Three minute walk to the beach through the awful Unawatuna Beach Resort,

The owners were friendly and helpful as were all of the staff. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned daily with bedding change every three days. We stayed in room 305 on the top floor and the bed was huge and incredibly comfortable with a mosquito net going down to the floor. Rather than go to the beach area whilst my partner was diving, I preferred to stay in this relaxing hotel reading on the comfortable furtniture and watching the wildlife.

Breakfast was either western or Sri Lankan and both were good. We were there on New Years Eve, when they put on a buffet, which was great and allowed us to sample some Sri Lankan delicacies that we had not had previoulsy.

Booking down over the internet through their website. 30% deposit paid through Paypal, but other options available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We have stayed in many homestays and Nor Lanka is one of the very best. It combines genuine friendliness, hospitality, comfort and excellent food, in a quiet location. It is a plus not to be right on the beach, slightly secluded, but close enough to it if you want to take a quick dip in the ocean. Did I mention the food? Don't miss their Sri Lankan curry. This was the best place we stayed on our trip to Sri Lanka, and like most guests we added on a few extra days here to stay on longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed here for 5 days/4 nights in Unawatuna. The hotel and rooms are amazing. The room was impeccably clean and came with our own balcony, private washroom, a small refrigerator and armoir with locking drawer. We absolutely loved this place. The lush backdrop of the Sri Lankan forest was the perfect scenery to our room. We could not have asked for more. The hotel is set up with a very beachy feel with open corridors and sitting areas, perfectly suited for the town. The hotel is located just steps away from UBR (Unawatuna beach resort) at a much reduced price.
I would recommend the "eastern" (ie. sri lankan) breakfast, it must be requested the night before, but it's well worth it and included in the price of the room. The "on site" driver is also very friendly and willing to custom build day trips at your leisure. The owners and staff were incredibly welcoming, caring and resourceful. We would come back here in a heartbeat. Highly recommended. A must stay. Shocking this gem is in none of the travel books. (ie. lonely planet or rough guides)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just 2 min from the beach and in a beautiful garden. So friendly management, you will feel at home. Great food too. You will not regret staying here. I will definitely return til Norlanka Hotel on my next trip to SL.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Great value for money, a welcome atmosphere and very good food.
Even though we had rain for four days we didn´t mind since the hotel was so cosy.
Both owner and staff were very friendly and helpful.
We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Address: Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.