We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thambapanni Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thambapanni Retreat to your Saves list
Thambapanni Retreat
Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle 60800, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a little while ago that i came here over christmas with my family. And i am so pleased we did. A beautiful setting with lovely rooms and a great pool. Each night there was a different flower arrangement on our bed which we always got excited about seeing. The food was excellent and we ate here several times. But it was the service which was the best thing. Such personal and fantastic service. I really enjoyed speaking to all the staff and they made us feel so at home. If you are going to Unawatuna - this is the only place to stay

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We strive to present our guests with positive and memorable hotel experiences, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful and refreshing stay.

Glad to hear that you were happy with the Christmas calibration at the Thambapanni and Happy to Learn that our staff was very helpful and friendly and they make you stay very much comfortable with us.

We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Unawatuna.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    30
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived in this little Paradise we experienced totally serinity!!Really everything was perfect!The staff,the beautifull room with the open bathroom,ayurvedic treatment. If we go back to Sri Lanka we Will choose this again!!! Also very close to the beach and nice (coffee)shops.
We can also recommend our driver who was with us during 2 weeks!
His name is Daniel Lahiru,he has his own agency and is very enthusiastic and very relax!He definitaly listen to what his guests wants/expects. Everything is possible. We really enjoy our holiday with him. And we can say he has become our friend also.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your kind words about your experience at Thambapanni Retreat .
Happy to learn that you was happy with the room and the facilities and Ayrvedic Treatment was excellent.
we are looking forward to welcoming you and ensuring that your Thambapanni Retreat experience exceeds your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely relaxing place to stay, value for money, lovely rooms, friendly attentive staff and the most amazing food. The chef at this place really was amazing; he cooked us delicious spicy Sri Lankan curries for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was only a shame his talents were wasted on the boring western guests who weren't adventurous enough to try his delicious Sri Lankan food!

Area for improvement: the drinks were overpriced, they really need a happy hour from say 4pm to 6pm to draw people in to stay around the hotel in the evenings; 2 for 1 cocktails and half priced beer and wine around the pool would be really nice. The WiFi was not very good as it kept dropping out.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

It sounds like you have a fantastic holiday. we are thrilled that the team at Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna were able to live up to your expectations!

The team take great pride in their high level of service and I know they will be delighted when we share your feedback with them.

Thank you also for the great feedback about the service and Facilitates relay appreciate your suggestions what we have to improve our self . we have forward this message to our higher authority to take the necessary action on this.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed two nights while spending time at Unawatuna beach. The staff are very courteous, my room was lovely, clean with a well set up washroom. The pool was very nice as well. The beach is less than a five minute walk! And Jungle Beach, a more secluded one, is about a 35 minute walk with a bit of a hike as well. Worth it though.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about Thambapanni Retreat Sri Lanka. we are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you choose us again for your next visit to Unawatuna.

Kind Regards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As other reviews have mentioned, this resort is an oasis from both the busy beach area and the heat. The pool area is always accessible, even at capacity, and much of the pool is shaded throughout the day. This may not seem like a consideration but if you read no further remember this point.

We stayed in number 5 and, as mentioned, there are quite a few stairs. This should not deter because the privacy gained by a couple more flights is well worth it and we were able to feed (was that allowed?:) the monkeys from our balcony. It should be noted that they stay well away if not lured.

The breakfast includes choice of coffee or tea, choice of eggs or cereal, fresh fruit, toast, croissants and fresh fruit juices.

The staff is remarkably helpful and friendly and the Ayurvedic treatment offered is wonderful as are the massages.

We do not give a '5' rating to many places we visit but a '4' seems unfair. Save yourself the aggravation of scouring the multitude of choices in the area and just book at Thambapanni.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for selecting Thambapanni Retreat as your preferred holiday destination during your recent visit to Unawatuna.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing to us about your experience and, we are very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the great comments about the location and the staff.Also pleased to learn you have enjoyed our Special Ayurvedic treatment well during the stay and breakfast was delicious and generous . Thank you for giving us such a great rating and that will be remarkable value for us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Thambapanni Retreat in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Group Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a stay what we will never forget.
We were in this hotel from 18th of March till 31st of March in 2015 and it was perfect holiday thanks to this hotel.
We travelled with two small kid (4 years and 1,5 year) and for them the best place was swimming pool, beacause the area around the pool was in shade.
We had a chance to be in 3 different room (tower suite, deluxe room and suite abowe the pool). All the rooms were very nice, especially the suite abowe the pool, nice view from the balcony. The rooms were cleaned every day - thanks to great room service staff. Great guys :)!
All the hotell staff was very helpful, friendly and kind to us. We really felt like home. We have never experienced service like this before. Amazing.
Food in hotell restorant was nice as well (sea food, local kitchen).
I had a birthday during this holiday. Night what will be in my hart forewer. The hotell staff made this night very special - great food, guitar player, birthday cake and some nice drawings on the table :) !
I really recomend this hotell to everybody.
Honestly the staff was for us like our own family. We will never forget YOU.

Greatings from Estonia to Manjula, Buddhika, Anthony, Lucky, Teron and of course for all the staff.

Jürgen, Triin, Sofi,Jasper, Külly and Kalev.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Triin

Thank you so much for sharing this great review about Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna. we are delighted you had such a positive stay. we will pass on your feedback to Manjula, Buddhika, Anthony, Lucky, Teron and the other Staff members who make your stay remarkable at Thambapanni Retreat. we know they will be thrilled to hear that their guest service has been recognized by you.

it was relay nice to have a such a nice family with us and our staff was very happy to help you at all the time and happy to learn that your birthday celebration makes you happy and remarkable.

we look forward to welcoming you back again your home at Thambapanni Retreat ,Unawatuna.

Kind Regards,
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first stop during our 2 week SriLanka round trip.

The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and nicely designed. The balcony view (nice big balcony) leaves you with the feeling of being in the jungle and encountering a monkey or a paradise bird in the morning is not unusual!

Staff is very friendly, food is good and the location of the hotel leaves lots of beach- and daytrip options (we highly recommend the jungle beach!)

Slight Downside:
1) After visiting various hotels throughout SriLanka, we learned that this hotel is slightly overpriced. We found similar quality hotels for half the price (A bottle of water here costs 165rupees, no where else have we paid more than 80 rupees).

2) Due to the AC being located directly facing the bed, it gave me a pretty bad shoulder/back ache, which stuck with me for days.

However, it was a nice experience staying there and a very good start for our vacation! We don't regret staying there!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thambapanni Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thambapanni Retreat

Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle 60800, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel with 16 rooms, surrounded by lush greenery and two minutes walk from the lovely Unawatuna Beach. All rooms are air conditioned, has en suite bathrooms with hot and cold water and mini bar. Some rooms over looking the sea or the the pool. The bungalows surrounded by many trees and view of the jungle. Most rooms have large balconies and on request a hammock will be included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thambapanni Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna
Thambapanni Retreat Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thambapanni Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.