We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Beauty Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Black Beauty Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Ganahena, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 81 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Clean and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here for a week and was very happy with the choice. I booked after a helpful email conversation with Britta, the owner, who also arranged an airport pickup from Colombo (The transfer takes a few hours due to the Colombo chaos, but is well worth it if you're going direct from the airport)

All the higher floor rooms were already booked, so I had a ground floor, non air-con room. Clean room with double bed and mosquito net. Shower room was a bit musty but nothing to worry about. There's also a nice terrace area to each room with a couple of seats to relax in.

The pool area is excellent and spotless. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful with any requests you may have. I didn't eat here, but did sit in the top floor communal area and had a couple of early evening beers while watching the sunset.

Location is a max of a couple of minutes walk out of the back gate to the beach (although you have to walk by a pretty stinky canal). It's at the far end of the beach, but everywhere on beach road is easily walkable to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    42
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
34
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our overall impression of Black Beauty is very positive. We were really suffering with the heat at this stage in our holiday, so were really looking forward to our 'A/C deluxe room' booked and already paid for through Agoda - at considerable cost , a month before. When we arrived, however, the management were away and we were given a non A/C room on the ground floor close to the pool. It took a while to sort this out, but the boys did their best and we got a room with AC, but it was still on the ground floor rather than the higher building (which we sense would have been more 'deluxe'). No criticism of the staff - rather whether the message got through from Agoda to the hotel. Despite their efforts, we didn't feel that we had got what we had paid for.

That said, the staff were really lovely - particularly with my 4 year old son who loved playing with Ganesh (in particular), and loved the fact that breakfast was served by Dilan (who has the same name as him). It was an idyllic spot, the pool was lovely, the staff were attentive and it was pleasant to be away from the beach. Breakfast was lovely and it was great being almost in the jungle. I think if we had had one of the rooms in the higher building, we would be able to say that Black Beauty was perfect for a stay in Unawatuna. We stayed for four days and never saw a hotel on the other side of the road that we would have preferred. Thanks to all the boys for your friendliness/kindness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Husband and I stayed here march 2012. This guesthouse was very comfortable, nice rooms and bed, hot shower, ac with fan worked great, central location to beach and shops but far enough away to get a good quiet sleep, as the beach can be abit of a party scene. The pool was very clean and refreshing, breakfast was good, fruit, eggs, toast, ect. The staff and owner Britta were very helpful, polite and honest. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone. 

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed for 3 nights at black Beauty Guesthouse. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. The kids loved the pool, swings, bikes and go-cart, and had plenty of space to explore and play in a safe environment. The gardens are beautiful. The fireflies made a few nights absolutely magical! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Black Beauty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

We loved the gardens, the pool, the balcony area, the breakfast, the location and the view from the restaurant.
We were disappointed by the rooms to be honest

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Blackbeauty for our first 5 nights in Sri Lanka and found it an excellent place to stay, in fact the favourite of our trip. The location is good, set back about a minutes walk from the amazing beach, this meant it was lovely and quiet, perfect for an evening on the balcony enjoying a beer, reading a book and listening to the sounds of the forest. On the other hand you are within minutes of the night life - perfect. The food is of a good standard and they are happy to whip you up a lovely breakfast / dinner in the top floor restraunt at almost any time. A particular highlight for us was having breakfast at tree canopy level, watching the monkeys (we managed to see them on 3 out of 5 mornings). The rooms are simple with comfortable beds, tasteful bits of furniture and en-suite wet rooms with hot water. You also get a spacious balcony equipped with nice chairs to lounge around in, with the rooms on the upper floors having a nice view of the forrest.

Britta and the crew really were amazingly lovely, they bent over backwards for us and made us feel so welcome.

This is a first rate guesthouse in a wonderful location and represents great value. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent four nights at the Black Beauty and can't say enough about the service we received form Britta and staff. We were there with our two year old daughter and she fell in love with the place...the slide, the swings, the pool, the dogs, "Annie" (as my daughter called her), the food (mmmm we all miss the avocados on toast for breakfast) and the "boys" (that catered to all her toddler whims). From a parent perspective, the rooms were clean, the location was great and the service was stellar. We had two rooms on the ground floor where we spend our evenings lounging on the lovely patio and soaking in the cool breeze. You won't be disappointed in this lovely B & B.

As for Unawatuna itself, it was a great beach for kids. My daughter had fun playing on the shore here, with just enough waves to have some fun in, without being a danger.

Room Tip: There are plenty of great places to eat in the area. We had the best meal of the trip, besides our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Beauty Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.