We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite private setting, beautiful rooms and beyond-par service: A gem in Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flower Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Flower Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exquisite private setting, beautiful rooms and beyond-par service: A gem in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We joined extended family in Unawatuna for a family wedding in Galle. The owner of the Flower Garden, Sassi, arranged for a pick-up from Colombo, and was there to provide us with literally anything else we required during our 5-day stay. The garden is beautiful, the rooms are uniquely designed, private and comfortable. The staff are a joy, and always had a ready smile and willingness to help in any way. Nine of our family stayed there and we felt like part of the Flower Garden family when we left. If you can bring yourself to leave the shaded lounges by the beautiful pool, and the cold beers under the fans, then Unawatuna Beach, and all it has to offer (which is a lot) is only a short stroll down the street.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    139
    39
    21
    14
See reviews for
139
297
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We arrived in Unawatuna following a 6 day adventure around Sri Lanka looking forward to some R&R.
Following a poor intro to Unawatuna at "Unawatuna Beach Resort", we thought we had died and gone to heaven when we finally arrived at Flower Garden.
From the moment we arrived the service levels were excellent and our Cabana, set in the lush tropical gardens, was absolutely divine.
The rooms are spotless and the bathroom was to a standard you would expect to find in a 5* resort with hot running water and exclusive decor. To have our own coffee making facility in the Cabana was heaven sent for 2 such caffeine dependants!!
The swimming pool was a nice size and kept spotlessly clean.
We cannot begin to describe how good the food is!!!! All freshly prepared by Sassi and his dedicated team, we have never stayed at a hotel where we were not tempted to eat out before! The food has a very French influence but ask Sassi for anything else and he is more than happy to conjure up a culinary delight (check out the Sri Lankan curries but prepare with a very empty stomach,,, yumm)
A big mention has to go out to Mahesh & Remmy (apologies if we have the spelling wrong!) for taking care of us and quenching our incurable thrist for Lion Beer and Arrack with such attentive service and consistant smiles.
We would recommend Flower Garden to anybody looking for a hotel in Unawatuna that goes that extra mile in ensuring your holiday is so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Yes, it is very good hotel. And I recommend for people, who just want to relax. The food is tasty, but I can't say it's cheapest in Unawatuna. Everything was fine. Not many drunk people from Russia and Germany. Don't forget to put your towel on the deck-chair.
About the sea. if you want to swim in the ocean, you have to go for about 10 minutes. So if it's not a problem, then it's for you.
Good luck!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I haven't stayed there and won't because I made a simple enquiry prior to booking to which the reply I received from someone called Sassi was very rude. It included his calling me unintelligent! I can honestly say that no enquiry I have ever made anywhere has ever been replied to in that manner.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I made and confirmed a reservation with some one called "Sasine" who claimed to be the manager.
Later in the day, someone else called from the hotel and told me that the manager had instructed him to tell me that my reservation has been cancelled. This was very inconvenient as our travel plans were for the very next day.
I asked him why the manager himself did not call me, and that this is unprofesional.

He said, if i have a problem I can call the manager my self ! He did not even say he was sorry.
Guess I should be glad they didnt wait untill we turned up at their door step to tell us we were not welcome.

Unless you want to take the risk of being stranded, do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

My husand and I stayed at the Flower Garden along with our two young children and couldn’t have been happier. Sassi and his team were just amazing, the service was excellent and staff couldn’t have been more helpful. We had a deluxe family room near the back of the hotel (complete with the occasional friendly monkey) and the only tiny critisism is that it was a little dark – but it was roomy with a huge bathroom and facilities as described. The kids loved the large pool surrounded by tropical plants and even in a place as beautiful as Unawatuna it was hard to drag ourselves away. Sassi’s curry really is a highlight and the best we had during our whole stay - and we sampled as many restaurants as possible in Unawatuna bay which is on the doorstep.

After six days we moved to a more ‘exclusive boutique hotel’ that we’d pre-booked further down the coast and we were extremely sad to leave. The new hotel’s location and modern, trendy luxuries with outside bathroom etc had lured us in, the expensive price tag hadn’t! How silly we were. Compared to the Flower Garden the service didn’t come close and highlighted just how committed Sassi and his team are about doing a first class job. We stayed three nights and luckily were able to move back to the Flower Garden where Sassi went to great lengths to give us a great cabana close to the pool. Amazingly, it was half the price of our first room but we loved it as it was light and airy.

We can’t recommend this hotel enough. Having stayed in an abundance of hotels across the world, boutique and otherwise The Flower Garden is definitely on our list to visit again. Our children’s first experience of Asia couldn’t have been better and most of that was down to Sassi, Mahesh and the rest of the excellent team who went to great lengths to make our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Again this year we visited Flower Garden in Unawatuna. We knew before our arrival that Sassi the owner had been busy enlarging the hotel facilities and we were pleasantly surprised how good the grounds and extra cabanas looked. However, some things had not altered. That is, the fantastic food, the serene relaxing surroundings and outstanding service from all the staff. Even our favourite staff members where there to look after our every whim, its good to see the same staff, it speaks volumes about the stability of a well run establishment. Sassi even has more expansion plans up his sleeve for the coming year. We can’t wait as we will return, again and again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.