We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with very good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flower Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Flower Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a great stay at the Flower Garden. We were upgraded to two adjoining rooms on the top floor of the new block and had an interconnecting balcony area with a plunge pool. The room was excellent and the service matched this. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a family holiday and the beaches nearby - Unawatuna and Jungle - are great.
The breakfasts were very good but the evening meals although very good, were a bit international for our tastes. However, that does not matter as there are a lot of good restaurants close by - both in Unawatuna or Fort Galle which is only a short cheap bus or tuk tuk ride away.

Room Tip: Not much to choose between them. The new block is excellent, particularly if you're lucky enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    118
    29
    19
    14
See reviews for
126
268
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We used this hotel as a way to break the long journey from Tangalle back to the airport at Colombo and as a base to explore Galle. We were glad that we did and wished that we'd had time to extend our stay.

The hotel is located conveniently just off the main Matara road and about 10 minutes stroll into Unawatuna village. Ideal for our purposes.

The hotel has lovely public areas including a huge pool and an open and airy restaurant. We only ate breakfast there but that was perfectly good. There is also a spa where my wife enjoyed a superb and exceptionally good value Ayurvedic massage.

The staff were all friendly and very helpful, helping us to organise a late check out and (good value) transfer to Negombo.

The only let down was the room. We paid a bit extra for a deluxe cabana (room 12) and (although we didn't see any other rooms in detail) it certainly didn't appear to be worth the extra. The room was very gloomy with tired and worn furnishings, including a front door that barely closed and a broken TV. The bathroom in particular was desperately in need of renovation. Worst of all the a/c unit was faulty and gushed water onto the tiled floor at irregular intervals through the night making it very difficult to sleep. If we had been staying more than one night we would certainly have tried to move to a different room.

Pick a better room than we did and you'd probably have a very good stay a this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe cabana which was a bit tired and gloomy. Probably not worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and it was a relaxing little haven, away from the hustle of Unawtuna beach, yet just a 5/10 min stroll away. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely, with food and drink at reasonable prices - the pizzas are amazing. Unfortunately the spa was closed during our 3 night stay, so I wasn't able to sample it, which was a shame, as it was part of the reason we chose here. The pool was lovely, but we got bitten quite a bit by mosquitos. We think this was due to the stagnant water beside the pool, and although it looked nice, we suspect it was mosquito heaven. Otherwise, we had a thoroughly nice stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Flower Garden July / August and had an amazing time, I would highly recommend it. We stayed in a family cabana to begin with, then went on a tour arranged by the manager and returned to stay in 2 double rooms. Both were clean, well maintained with all the extras that you would expect from well known hotels - hair and body products, hair dryers, mini bar, mosquito coils, towels for beach and pool, laundry and amazing bathroom facilities. There are 2 different FREE wifi facilities which are good enough for downloading and skyping, if you want internet access in the privacy of your bedroom you can easily buy data packages locally. The beach is within walking distance and Reception will arrange tuk-tuks or drivers to anywhere you want to visit (good idea for your first tuk-tuk experience so you have an idea of prices and don't end up at a Gem shop or T-shirt factory).

Staff are always smiling and go out of their way to make your stay something special. My daughter had a small accident and Reception were straight on the phone to the doctor for advise and drove to the pharmacy to get the medicine for me. My son had his birthday during our stay and they decorated his room with flowers, and set him a birthday place up for breakfast. (Make sure you order a Sri Lanka breakfast at least once during your stay). The food is exceptional in the restaurant from salads to desserts.


Sassi, the manager arranged anything we needed - several days out, including a fishing trip, and the kitchen staff prepared and cooked the fish for us that evening. He also arranged a round tour including Yala (where another beautiful Flower Garden Hotel has opened) we went on Safari and saw leopards, bears, crocodiles. then on to Ella, climbing Little Adams Peak and swimming in Waterfalls, visiting a Tea Factory and catching the train through the Hill Country to Kandy,where we visited the Temple of the Tooth. We went on a second tour, visiting different beach locations and the Kandy Perahera - all arranged by Sassi, who has amazing contacts in the business and ensured each place we stayed at treated us as VIPs! The drivers were so knowledgeable and took us to places on the way - again anything we asked for and more (and we are fussy!) From wanting to swim in a waterfall to finding an empty beach or local bars.

Staying at Flower garden is great value for money, prices are low compared to similar places, but more importantly they go that extra mile to make sure everything is perfect.

Thank you to everyone at Flower Garden for such a wonderful holiday, we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserve only for the swimming pool area which is really nice and well kept
The room is extremely dark ( we stayed in the deluxe cabana which is a higher level than the deluxe suite) and really small..plus the huge furnitures (closet ) is of no need and take away a lot of space and you can barely walk around
The breakfast is extremely poor and not at all good !
Price is on the high side and it is not a good compromise price/ quality ( we moved to an hotel right in front of the beach brand new for the same price)
The staff of the hotel is very nice and accommodating
I think they would need to improve the quality of the rooms and of the breakfast and then they will have all the right to charge what they charge

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Flower Garden 2 times and each time it has been great.
The hotel team are very helpful.
The rooms are good, the cabanas are very clean and comfortable.
The food is to our taste (we love the spicy omelette for breakfast!)
The best choice of accommodation (in our opinion) in Unawatuna.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Originally we had to stay 3 nights but after decided to extend our stay there for one more night. The owner has spent in Switzerland 10 years so he knows about service quality. Rooms are really clean. In the room was even hairdryer! From 4 hotels we visited in Sri Lanka it was the only one that had it. The restaurant is very good and (again) service is great. There is a good choice of European wine for reasonable prices! Massage is cheaper than anywhere in Unawatuna. Unfortunately we didn't try as it was overbooked. Also we bought an excursion to Kandy in the hotel. Price is the same as in local travel agencies but more confidence. We really liked our guide. His name is Nandana. The guy can tell you a lot of interesting about Sri Lanka and didn't insist on following special tour programme and go wherever you ask. We really enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.