We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to stay in Unawatuna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flower Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Flower Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
Huddersfield, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to stay in Unawatuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in February 2013 towards the end of a 30 day tour around Sri Lanka.

On arrival we were greeted warmly by the manager, with a fresh orange juice and then informed that we had been upgraded from the deluxe cabana that we had booked to an apartment with its own private rooftop pool in the new building. Room 37.

This is a very spacious and comfortable room with a very large four poster double bed with mosi net around it. The room is well equipped with quality furnishings, wardrobe, hairdryer, TV, kettle, coffee and tea, minibar. There is no safe in the room. There was no table or chairs in the room so we just brought them in from the balcony when we needed them. The room has air conditioning and a fan. I feel that the hotel is a bit expensive for what it is but as we got upgraded I am not complaining.

The bathroom was amazing, very spacious and with a double Jacuzzi bath with shower over it. The only problem was that it took over an hour to fill it!! Nice toiletries are provided.

The room has two balconies, one overlooking the main hotel and the other a very large balcony by the rooms private pool. On this balcony there was also a dining table and four chairs,with a fan over it, a free standing double garden swing and 2 comfortable chairs and a table. the pool was really nice to use before breakfast and at teatime. Due to the design of it the sun was never on the pool or balcony and there were no sunbeds here.

The main pool area of the hotel is very pretty with lots of greenery and foiage but there are only 14 sunbeds so quite difficult to get one. Pool and beach towels are provided. Also umbrellas for when it rains (which it did a few times while we were there)

The cabanas in the grounds look really nice and we would have been quite happy to stay in one.

The hotel and grounds are kept immaculate.

You can have Sri Lankan breakfast if you order it the day before and this was very good. the western breakfast, fruitplate, choice of eggs and toast was also very good.

We also ate here one evening and had a delicious 3 course meal at a very good price. Cheaper than the beach area, although it is very nice to dine on fresh fish on the beach. We found the service to be very good

Overall a very good palce to stay in Unawatuna, it takes about 15 minutes to walk down to the beach/ restaurants but you can always get an inexpensive Tuk Tuk. There are shops/restaurants all the way down the road to the beach so you don't really notice the walk.

Use the service bus to take you to Galle as this is very cheap and an interesting way to travel with the locals

Room Tip: Room 37 was spacious and comfortable and has also got it's own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    120
    29
    19
    14
See reviews for
128
269
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely week at Flower Garden. It was over our budget but utterly worth it. The attention to detail was excellent. Pool and beach towels always available, umbrellas for the occasional downpour etc.. Great pool, excellent breakfast, excellent restaurant all round. Great staff. Very clean. All round a really good hotel for families, couples, groups and all ages. Unfortunately the only downside is there is not enough room for everyone around the pool. There is a lack of space so a lack of sunbeds. Get your towels down quick!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed here whilst in the area for our wedding and most of our wedding guests also stayed here, all for varying time lengths (and we left for a few days for our wedding then came back!) All of our bookings were handled well and without a hiccup!

Sassi went out of his way to make us feel welcome and made us feel like special guests being newlyweds! We were upgraded to the super deluxe room (I think!) which was very large and was right next to the pool which was handy. There aren't so many sunbeds around the pool but we never had a problem as we just spent short periods by the pool in between going off exploring. The Flower Garden is a great base being close to the main road to get tuk tuks and a short walk to the beach. There are plenty of restaurants on the beach so we didn't end up eating dinner here but our friends did and gave it a good report. We tended to use the Flower Garden bar as a meeting point which worked well although sometimes the service was slow, but to be fair I would say that this is the norm for Sri Lanka and this is from an impatient English person's point of view!

Breakfast is good - fruit followed by eggs and continental or curry for the brave.

The room was clean and well equipped and pool/beach towels are also provided. We had an amazing jacuzzi bath but we didn't end up using it as it would've taken so long to fill up and we didn't want to waste so much water!

We arranged airport transfers through the hotel and these were fine. The driver even waited about 8 hours for my parents after their flight was delayed.

Thank you Sassi and staff for a lovely trip!

Room Tip: The cabanas are nice with their own little front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the Flower Garden Hotel and found it lovely, beautiful gardens and pool. Lots of nice birds flying around. We stayed in a deluxe room for the first six nights and had to change to a super deluxe room for last night. This room as larger than the deluxe room but very nice and clean. The rooms were very clean and beds made and cleaned very day. The staff were very helpful and friendly and food excellent. I would recommend this hotel as it is nice and quiet. Not to far to beach and restaurants but the food was that good that we ate at the hotel every night.

Room Tip: We had deluxe room for first 6 nights then stayed in a super deluxe for last night. That room was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from another great weekend at Flower Garden. Friendly staff, tasty food, comfortable cabanas, good pool and only a short stroll from the beach. If you've not tried it yet, then put it on the top of your list for next time you're in Unawatuna. :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in a super deluxe room which was very comfortable and had a great shower. The service was excellent and we were well looked after. As others have mentioned the breakfast was delicious, all the food was great. Ask the waiters about the Sri Lankan curry special. They will need half a days notice to prepare it.

Room Tip: We loved our super deluxe room, rm 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I would say, paradise. I was amazed at the hospitality of Sassi and his staff. They saw our party (large group) were well taken care of, and kept our room very clean. The restaurant is very delicious and one of the best in Unawatuna. The beach is a little walk from the Hotel, but there are plenty of shops and eateries to keep you distracted. Only downside is no ATM on-site or in Unawatuna for that matter. I was surprised AMEX Checks were not accepted by the hotel for payment, but this was a minor inconvenience which was countered by the hospitality of the people here. They are welcoming to all of their guests and they want feedback if something isn't going as planned. This is a hidden gem in Sri Lanka and South Asia for that matter. We'll certainly be back for more at Flower Garden when in Sri Lanka next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.