We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Flower Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Unawatuna
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Flower Garden for four nights, arriving on Christmas Day. We had originally booked a standard cabana but they had let this out to someone else so they upgraded us to a Deluxe Room. Hello!!!!! Sky TV in the room and the jacuzzi in the bathroom was luxury. The pool was great and our son Reuben enjoyed hours of fun playing with other kids. The location is good, a five minute walk to the beach so it's nice to getaway from the busy-ness of the beach front. The restaurant is very good and is fully booked every night. Breakfast is great in the morning and I would certainly recommend this place if you have kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    96
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
115
239
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is beautiful, peaceful and great value. I stayed with 3 friends recently and we loved it. Service was good and the cabanas are simple but comfortable and lovely. You are very close to the beach for relaxing and food in the evening. I am returning next month and cannot wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The entrance to this hotel looks a bit strange at first site (down a small track), but once inside it's lovely. Nice sized pool, with seating around, and the hotel restaurant looking out over the pool and garden. We had a deluxe room within the main building which was a good size, very clean, with a large, comfortable bed. All the staff were very friendly and the hotel manager helped us organise a driver for the next section of our trip. The food was good, breakfast consisting of a lovely platter of fresh tropical fruit, toast and jam, and eggs cooked to your liking. It was about a 5 minute walk down to the beach, which we enjoyed as you get to walk past the shops, other hotels and restaurants. The only negative thing to say would be that there are a few mosquitos about, possibly attracted by the small ponds surrounding the pool. Overall though, we thought it was a lovely hotel, at a good price, and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We found this place a delight to stay at. Cabana was spotless with beautiful bathroom, good amount of space and verandah with front garden. Very peaceful and fantastic having pool as the close by beach not always best for swimming. Premises kept immaculately and the food was terrific - breakfast was just right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Flower Garden in November - my husband and I and our 9 month old daughter, along with my parents and I can't praise the hotel or staff enough. The hotel itself exceeded my expectations (I dont think the photos do justice) - the pool and restaurant area are just beautiful and well maintained. Sassi and the staff are wonderful - professional and concerned to meet your every need. Whilst we were there our daughter was ill and Sassi phoned his own doctor and organised an appointment - he then gave us a gift to take to the doctor as he said that he knew she wouldnt accept payment!! We were bowled over by his kindness - and our daughter got good care and was absolutely fine.
Thank you so much to Sassi and his team for an amazing stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: We had one of the top end cabanas - two double rooms and kitchen etc with balcony over looking pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Thank you once again Lovely Sassi..
We have been going to the flower garden since 2001 and have watched it grow in size..(we even have a cabana named after us 'Landy & Dicky').
We have had a 4 year gap from the last time we were there...things have changed a little but this has not affected the the way we still feel about the place,still friendly,well run and still one of our favorite places to visit....And after 8 visits I think that says it all!!!
Our only disappointment was Unawatuna Beach...How busy has that place become! We have seen it change over the years and not completely for the better..still beautiful but incredibly busy!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Located 5 minutes walk from the beach in Unawatuna lies this hotel. The entrance is a little strange since it is sort of hidden from the road. The service is friendly but could be a little quicker and it took us a fair while before we could check in since they couldn't find the booking. It didn't bother us too much since we had lunch while they sorted it all out.
The rooms were nice. We had the penthouse apartment on the third floor in the new building (no elevator). Although the rooms look very nice they do miss a few things. There is no telephone in case you need to call the reception, the TV channels had really bad picture, there are no amenities of any kind in the bathroom except soap. We asked for shampoo etc. and they did bring it but it was just a surprise that they did not supply that as a standard. There were a few other oddities about the rooms, it was like it was built without any real practical thought. The faucet in the sinks are too low so you can barely fit your hands under it, the shower has bad pressure and the shower head was placed so you couldn’t stand under it other than using the hand held shower. They offer a number of different room types and I can’t say much about the other rooms since I didn't see them.
There is a nice pool but the area around is small and everything seems squeezed in there. The restaurant offers decent food to a reasonable price. I especially enjoyed the jumbo prawns they had. The lunch menu is not so big but we spent most days down by the beach and ate there. Two rather large german shepherds and a smaller mixed breed are also frequenting the restaurant so if you don’t like dogs it is not that great even though the dogs are friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.