We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real homestay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Stay Strand

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Stay Strand
218, Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 81 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real homestay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed for a few nights and really felt it was the best place we could have chosen in Unawatuna. We fully support the comments of the previous writers. The atmosphere created by Asoka and his family in the colonial style house is really welcoming, family like and provides you with a local flavour. And yes, in the beautiful garden with trees and plants almost as dense as in the jungle, there is wonderful wildlife, which we can definitely give evidence for: The monkeys took our fruit from the balcony :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words,we wish you a merry Christmas when you get back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
37
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We would recommend anyone to stay here - it was such a good find. Asoka was a fantastic host with entertaining stories (just about about his famous guests) and good tips for the best places to eat (the west end of the beach with the less touristy places).

The omlette was by far the best in Sri Lanka, made by his charming and friendly chef/housekeeper and the freshest and tastiest bread in the country - a superb breakfast.

As for accomodation we had a tour of all the rooms, spacious, clean and with character. We stayed in 'The Nest' as most recommend and we were not disappointed, probably the best value for money in our whole trip and the balcony was a great place to relax witha beer at the end of a hard day sunbathing! Also have to mention the shower - super powerful and hot - very happy!

Even though we only stayed three nights we felt at home and were very sad to leave. You may think a beachside hotel is more appealing but the beach is less than 1 min walk away and The Home Stay Strand offered a more enjoyable experience. Thanks Asoka, we wish you all the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks Georgina Barry~Gr8 review, we try to live upto our TripAdvisor guests expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The place is perfectly placed two minutes from the beach, restaurants and a dive shop. The house is set in a beautiful garden, where you will see monkeys and tropical birds. Asoka, the owner of the hotel, will make sure you have a great stay. I asked for hoppers for breakfast, and got it the next couple of days. Really nice people there, two gorgeous dogs and a friendly cat. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks Ida for your gr8 review, you took the sunshine away, now we are drenched in heavy rains.
Our dogs Chutta and Chewy seen to miss U. Enjoy ur hols in Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family (2 adults and 2 small kids- 2 and 5 years) were there for a week February 2012
It is a very homey sort of place. We had an air conditioned room upstairs which I can recommend AC since none of the Mosquito repellant we bought seemed to have any effect.

Every morning we saw monkeys in the trees, which was one of the highlights of staying there.
Asoka (the owner) is so nice as is his staff as well.

The place needs a makeover, but I still liked it and location is perfect.
Unawatuna is an alright place. The best thing about it is it is easy to test different nearby beaches during the day. The streets got quite crowed with cars during the weekend. It is very easy to get with the new highway, so a lot of locals end up there.
Unawatuna's beaches are not amazing for just relaxing on the beach. I think it use to be since I read everywhere how it was one of the top 10 beaches in the world, but I don't know what happened, but the water basically comes up to the restaurants nowadays, so there are very few places to actually play in the sand and swim safely, which is what we are looking for with small kids. People told me the landscape had changed alot since the Tsunami of 2004.

While Unawatuna is a nice place, it is completely filled with restaurants from one side to the next.

I wouldn't rate it in the top 1000 beaches in the world, maybe it is just me but I have been to a lot of different beaches.

For budget travellers, Homestay strand is great location and with a little paint job and new matresses/sheets, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Britta and Scott Thanks for your Review, Yeah! We have refurbished our rooms and remolded our Apartment into 2 rooms~Casa Anna and Casa Lillo. Also have hotwater showers in all suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a great stay for three nights during September. The old building is set back from the road and beach by about 100m which means it is nice and peaceful but just a short walk to the main strip. We stayed in the Garden Room which was furnished very nicely with a great big comfortable bed. Everything was clean, fresh towels were provided and we were also given bottled water which was much appreciated.

The veranda was lovely for breakfast (which was very substantial and yummy). The staff are great and the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. The dogs are lovely too :)

All in all excellent value for money and a very enjoyable stay - one of the best in our four weeks in Sri Lanka. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyh49, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you Jeanie for your nice review, i hope I get a link on your Blog too.
Hope to see you and Dave again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A short stroll away from the main road/beach - this quiet location is a great choice for any type of traveler. The owner will gladly show you around to all of the different rooms available - each has it's own individual characteristics. The hosts are extremely friendly, helpful, humble, and knowledgeable about the area as they have been open since 1982!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you Jess & Ryan, this was quick, I hope we see you both again neXt year.
I think now I get a TripAdvisor badge ha! he!
Enjoy your stay in Galle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 6 nights in Unawatuna, at Homestay Strand. We had a wonderful time there, the villa is of an old colonial style, the rooms are spacious and clean, bathroom was also clean with hot water. We stayed in the room called "The Nest", with a nice terrace with a view to the lush green garden and monkeys jumping on our roof :-) The owner is a very nice man and also other people working there were very nice and helpful, when we arrived it was raining and they welcomed us with a cup of hot tea. They serve a delicious breakfast. It was one of the best places, if not the best one we have stayed at during our trip.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we did. We have sunnier weather now. Martha & Victor, Thanks again for this nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Home Stay Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Address: 218, Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FEEL LIKE HOME! We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not a beach front location only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite Casa Anna, and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived.Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY".TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka!!Come make your self at home!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Stay Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Home Stay Strand to your Saves list