We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Art Cafe

Queens Art Cafe
Yaddehimulla Rd, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sweet little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband loved the food here and we came quite often during our two week stay in Unawatuna. They make great juices, especially passion fruit, it's divine. Good hearty home made food. I tried the Thai green chicken curry and it was a big portion with rice and salad. My husband who is really fussy about his coffee actually loved the coffee they had so that was a big plus for him. The proprietor KK and his wife are a really sweet couple and we were really happy with their service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the outside it looks very cozy and friendly. The food was very nice. Especially the deserts & coffee were excellent! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tears of Joy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

It was a discovery. Last but one day at Unawatuna and we found this restaurent for breakfast. We have been trying standard Srilankan food for days but still i asked for Srilankan combo. It was fish curry, rice, coconut sambal. The fish curry was heavenly, subtle taste of coconut and soft perfectly cooked fish. I liked the sambol on side. My friend had chicken and omelette and it worked so very well for him. We ordered watalappam and one more dessert. The food was excellent, the ambiance graceful and classy. We liked everything here so much that my friend asked the guy to make sure that the cook (his wife) stays till he brings his family to try the food here.
In the end, if you want subtlety and not excess of unwanted masalas, Mildly sweet desserts-This is the place for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Voted with my feet and went back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped first for a breakfast, and then came back twice for lunch. The carrot and ginger soup, French toast, hoppers with fruit, wrap and rice and chicken curry were all good and reasonably priced.
We may go back again tomorrow


Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Good coffe, lovely food, beautiful jewelry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very surprised to find a cute little cafe on the road to the temple just out of the centre of the little beach side of town of Unawatuna. Fantastic coffee - which is rare in Sri Lanka! Lovely wraps and cakes made by Shazna. And also - great music! Ahamed Mubarak also makes beautiful jewelry.
A sweet find!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Art Cafe also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Queens Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Art Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.