We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly staff who never hesitate to go the extra mile for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Warm, friendly staff who never hesitate to go the extra mile for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Thaproban Pavillion Spa and Resort during the off peak season. Despite so, the food served everyday was fresh and absolutely delicious. The rooms were well kept and the staff were efficient and attentive. Even late at the night, compound felt safe and peaceful. The swimming pools were diligently maintained every morning.

The staff always greeted us warmly and sincerely. They were helpful when we needed transport to Galle and dispensed helpful advice on where to get 3G reload cards and personal items.

The spa isn't ready yet and some wings of the hotel are still being renovated, but all that did not detract from the quiet and elegant charm of the resort. We are looking forward to return when all the facilities are ready!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean have a great view but the floor can a bit sticky, so do wear the bedroom slip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, our staff members will be delighted to see this.

We have opened the Spa now and its in operation, few touch ups of the hotel was done during off season.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    62
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
64
94
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The stay was great. All the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They do not hesitate to help you. Located at the quieter part of Unawatuna, we get a great view of the ocean from the swimming pool. The food was fresh and delicious. We had a wonderful stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, its with great pleasure that I inform our staff about the positive reviews and they are very happy to read about their hard work has been praised. We hope you will return again.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The stay was great and the help with organization from the hotel staff was top class. From organizing the airport transport to the scooters used to get around Unawatuna. Food was fresh and well portioned and the hotel was kept clean the entire time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review, we appreciate your time and efforts taken to write the positive review and please let me know if you return to Sri Lanka and need any assistance.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We initially booked one of their other hotels and thought we needed this holiday with more luxury and pampering so visited Thaproban Pavilion one evening and new this was the place for us! This hotel is located in Unawatuna yet away from the busy noisy area of the main Unwatuna strech, few minutes walk to the main Unawatuna beach and strip of restaurants and shops which is nice because the Unawatuna area can be loud and unfriendly at times, specially during week ends. The rooms are huge and the hotel has a gym which I used everyday, the spa will be opening in July. The view from our room was great, panoramic ocean with a great view of the sunset. I stayed for 6 nights, and I loved it. I wish I have stayed there longer, if you are looking for peace and relaxation, this is a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time spent on writing us a positive review, we hope to see you again in the future and please contact us if you need any assistance in the future planning your holiday in Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Oh my. What a place. We scored a great deal on agoda for this place and my gosh it was amazing.The staff were friendly, there was always a tuk-tuk close by or it was a short walk into the centre of unawatuna. Not that you even need to go anywhere as this place is amazing
Great rooms, great beds, great views, great food... wow wow wow

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very happy to read that you had a good experience at Thaproban Pavilion Resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor, and for your very kind words regarding our associates and the location.

We too look forward to the day when you will come back for another stay so we have the opportunity to look after you again .
Please feel free to contact me for any assistance you may think I could be of while booking your next stay.

Ayubowan
Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Thaproban Pavilion Resort an Spa for 5 days and 4 nights!! It was the most amazing experience for our family which including 2 boys aged 9 and 4.5 years. The resort was so well managed that we actually felt like staying at home for those 5 days!!

The rooms are huge - we took the Ocean Pavilion Room, with the view of the beautiful ocean and the swimming pool. The room was huge, spacious with an extra bed already in place for us.....bathrooms clean and big, lovely amenities provided in the room and had all that was needed for a very comfortable stay.

The food is amazing, the chef went out of his way to make custom dishes for us as there were limited options for the vegetarians! The breakfast is filling, delicious and really delicious. Breakfast on the side of the pool and with the water form the ocean hitting the rocks made for the best view for a breakfast outing!!!

The swimming pool was very good, clean water and well kept. The salt water pool was great for the children, the kids pool specially and the artificial beach across was also interesting for the kiddos.

You can walk to the Unawatuna Beach (although the end of the beach) from the resort. However you can walk towards the main road and you can access the beach from its sister hotel, the Thaproban Beach House. The beach is lovely and no wonder it was rated as the top beaches in the world. There are little shops with basic amenities around the area, good food options in the nearby restaurants, and of course there is the tuk tuk to take you around!

Special mention to Mr. Roshan, the manager who made the stay what it was for us. He was friendly, so accommodating and he went out of way to make sure that he got a chef from the sister hotel and provided us the food that we wanted. That was truly appreciated and we thank Roshan and his team / staff for being so welcoming, smiling all the time, providing impeccable service for us and my kids!

We would love to get back to Thaproban again and again....we would recommend this resort to everyone. This is one of the best places that we have stayed in, during our many vacations around the world.

Padma Srinivas
Bangalore, India

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Pavilion Room or the Pool Pavilion if you are traveling as a small / young family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Thaproban Pavilion Resort, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka.

We were truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your recent holiday with us and consider Thaproban Pavilion to be one of the most amazing places you have stayed. We also noted that you enjoyed the level of service provided to you by our entire team. Customer care is one of our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise and our team was delighted to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

Once again thank you for your compliments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Thaproban Pavilion Resort.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dear all.
First of all my luck brought me to this great and fantastic Hotel. I was supposed to stay in Thaproban Beach House but the driver by mistake took us to the best the best places we have experienced so far in Sri Lanka Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa then after I saw the hotel I was so amazed with this hotel All neat and good design. The rooms were massive and equipped with the latest fixtures and all the modern comforts including wi fi.
The location was perfect, Good service, and all the staffs are very friendly and kind and everything is very new and clean. The swimming pool is woooow. So I told the one of the best great Hotel Manager I ever met in my travel experience if I can stay in this hotel since I have a reservation on the Thaproban Beach House so he did his best to make stay in Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa. The hotel manager was very very very friendly.
The location was perfect, away from all the hustle. It was only a few minutes’ walk to the beach and its looks like a paradise in the earth never expects ill see this kind of hotel in Sir Lanka it’s absolutely amazing! It was so beautiful and calm, and the view in front of the hotel was fantastic the food is great we had, the food was excellent with a mix of Sri Lankan and international cuisine excellent seafood; the pool area and faux beach fun for my family. And the service was outstanding
We got everything we expected and even more from this great staff and they were always ready to whatever to make us feel comfortable and you can enjoy the peaceful surrounding the hotel. The wonderful manager and his staff which makes me want to come back to this place again and again and again
I can without any hesitation, recommend this hotel to anyone. It was a heavenly experience..!!
Regards,
Waleed From Saudi Arabia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review, and on behalf of Thaproban Pavilion team we are grateful for all entrust towards the hotel. Thanks again for all the comments you have given us and support, this will surely encourage our team and we always look forward to have and assist you during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.