We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet, wonderful service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Grove Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Grove Villas to your Saves list
Beach Grove Villas
Talpe North, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Harstad, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet, wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had 9 wonderful relaxing days here - couldn't imagine any better. The place is a peaceful pearl, not fare from the beach. It`s about 10 minutes walk, or you can hire a tuc tuc if you´re lacy ;)
Asoka and his staff are wonderful. We got served our breakfast every morning on our "south state veranda". And they are there for you all the time!
The birdlife are fantastic, waking up with the birds, are just perfect!
The villa has big spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Some may find the villa a little expensive.
We had the most pleasant stay here. Highly recommended!
Bente and Kjell

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had wonderfull relaxing days there - couldn't imagine any better. The place is peacefull with lots of animals (peacocks on the roof every morning, king fishers ... midst of nature. Asoka (manager and owner) and his team were exceptionally comforting and careing. It's just a 5 min walk to the beach with a natural pond, where swimming ist also possible with rough wheather. Asoka's brother manages a hotel there with private beach which is also available for all guests of the beach grove villas. Never miss the curry, Asoka offers every now and then - marvellous!!!! Best curries we had during our whole stay in Sri Lanka (though food is anyhow very good in Sri Lanka). We already look forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: Each villa is spacious, neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile


Great place to relax and spend quality time with family or friends. The villa has big spacious rooms, nicely decorated and clean too. The owner, Mr.Asoka is nice and friendly man same as his staffs too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you are looking for peace and quite this is the place. The villas are set in a beautiful landscape and have a nice pool. The rooms are huge and airy, the beds makes you sleep way too long. There are plenty of hot water in the shower and with good pressure.
When you finally wake up, you just walk out of your room and will be served a fresh breakfast. The fruit platter was amazing.
The downside is that the villa is a 10 min walk to a beach. And if you want to go in to Unawatuna, it is a 10 min ride with a tuk tuk. Asoka, the owner, will help you to arrange a tuk tuk. If you are fine with this, then go for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

If there is one word that doesn't exist in Asoka's vocabulary, it is "NO". There wasn't a single request of ours that he turned down and, in fact, he went all out to make our vacation relaxing and enjoyable.

The airport pick-up vehicle was extremely comfortable for our family of 7 adults and 2 children. Asoka had arranged for lunch and we arrived at this beautiful, clean, sunny villa to be served chilled beer and fruit juice followed by the most delicious Sri Lankan lunch!! We immediately requested Asoka to prepare lunch for us for the remaining days our stay and he kindly obliged, serving us unique and different Sri Lankan dishes each meal. The breakfast was plentiful and again, he went the extra mile, serving traditional Sri Lankan foods (hoppers, string hoppers, pittu, sambol, etc) in addition to the standard continental breakfast - and all of it was delicious! He also allowed us the use of the kitchen, making it convenient to prepare meals for my two young children.

The villa is beautiful and spacious. Tastefully decorated. Well maintained and clean. The beds are huge and can easily accommodate a family of four. The only issue was with the hoards of flies that were just about everywhere and got into the mosquito nets and sat on our food. The mosquitoes were less of an issue in the villa, although my relatives who stayed in the room in the bungalow complained of being thoroughly bitten by them.

The swimming pool was lovely. It was so tempting to have the pool was just a few steps away from the room that we had a hard time keeping the children out of the water! It was also nice that there are only two villas and a few rooms because it was private, peaceful and quiet at all times.

Although the other hotels and sights of Unawatuna are only a short tuktuk ride away, it is a bit of a pain because you need to arrange in advance for a tuktuk every time you want to head out - even to get to Sri Gemunu, which is a sister hotel but a good half kilometre away. Yet, while we would have been content in the villa our entire stay, we had to head out in order to get dinner everyday and also to enjoy the beautiful beach (the villa isn't on the beach front but located on an inner road). Sri Gemunu's food is bland and a bit overpriced, but its beach front is very beautiful, especially the natural pool which we thoroughly enjoyed. It might be helpful to have your own vehicle if you want to look around/ spend lot of time at the beach or do some sightseeing.

Overall, Beach Grove Villas is the perfect place to stay if you want to have a quiet and lazy time and enjoy the extremely gracious and hospitable service of Asoka and his staff. It is also a wonderful choice if you are traveling with small children as the place is safe and intimate, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the kitchen is accessible and the pool is a major favourite! Do try it out and you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed two nights in beach grove villas and since we were two couples occupied one of the villas. We were lucky enough to get it last minute after a great disappointment with the accomodation we had originally booked so we really felt that Beach Grove Villas and it's nice owner Asoka made it possible for our small family reunion to be as nice as we had imagined it at first.
The rooms is the villa are beautiful ( white, cleaned, of a good size and with a beautiful four posted bed covered by a mosquito net), the bathrooms are nice. The location is super calm and we really could sleep peacefully there. The beds were good ( real double beds). The swimming pool is small but super clean and beautiful, enough for a nice dip.
The villas is an easy 10 min walk on a quiet road to a very beautiful beach. The brother of Asoka owns a resort (Sri Gemunu) where we went, staying in the sun beds while drinking fresh juices. The sea is calm in the morning ( although the area in which one can really swim is not extremely big) and more agitated in the afternoon.
We had one dinner (rice and curry) at the villa and it was really yummy, the breakfast was really nice with plenty of fresh fruits and fresh fruit juices, eggs ( and bacon or sausages for those who want). Just the bread could be better ( it's totally fine but we did get better one in other places in Sri Lanka).
We felt we could have stayed there a bit longer but we had to leave and we seriously consider coming back.
If you want to access all the services of the villas but at a lower price, Asoka rents out rooms in adjacent bungalows. The rooms are clearly not as nice but they cost less than half the price of the villas room and you get the nice breakfast, location, access to the swimming pool and help of the owner.
Massages can be arranged by the swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The level of service Mr.Asoka provides is what makes this place great. All our questions were answered and he goes the extra mile to make your stay worth it. And for the price, its a good deal. We stayed there for 2 nights and were very happy with the room, the pool and the breakfast provided. All in all, a perfect place to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Grove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Grove Villas

Address: Talpe North, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Grove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Grove Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.