We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koko's On The Beach

Koko's On The Beach
Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna | On the Golden Sandy Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
+94 77 582 6739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Mexican, British, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: a small family run restaurant on the beach, offering the best in western cuisine for those who need a bit of familiarity in there diet whilst in Asia. all created by Chef Gary(UK) and his team ensuring 100% satisfaction by using only hand picked local ingredients and preparing all food cooked to order.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Too good..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

.. to be so quiet for long.
Took me a while to find it just off the beach, down an alleyway opposite Samsons (directions would be nice) but it was worth the search.
Good people, good atmosphere and very welcoming.
The pizzas are superb...
and there was a movie showing as well.. just great

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's On The Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
hi thanks for your kind review,
DIRECTIONS- walk along the beach or road until you see a LITTLE GREEN AND BLACK SHOP
turn around and you will see a horse shoe sign displaying KOKOS GARDEN RESTAURANT.
walk down the alley way until the wall wall ends and immediately turn left.

we hope these directions will help every one wanting to discover UNA'S UNIQUE GARDEN.

we are glad that you persevered into finding KOKOS and were happy with our service,food and hospitality.

thanks and blessings

KOKOS FAMILY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    39
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Me and my fiancé had the pleasure of having a Pizza and a movie here and it was a great place to have a chilled out meal, movie and beer. Its a little bit off the main strip of Unawatuna, but if you look hard enough you'll find it (the entrance is opposite their beach-side Burger Bar/Chippy). The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly and it felt very much like having a few beers and pizza while watching a movie at home with old pals. A great atmosphere, and all of this at bargain prices. It was quite quiet when we went but if they keep getting these excellent Tripadvisor reviews then it will soon be a buzzing hive of activity, get their soon and beat the rush!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's On The Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
hi thanks for your review
we are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality at KOKOS.
we are glad that you felt relaxed at KOKOS as that is one of the things we strive towards.
we hope that you are correct in KOKOS becoming busier in time as we want to have 100% guest satisfaction.

thanks and blessings

KOKOS FAMILY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice owner and pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice owner, good food and big screen to watch football or movies in Unawatuna.
Got a pizza there for my kids, they loved it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's On The Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
hi thanks you very much for your kind review.
we are glad that you and your family enjoyed the pizza and big screen.

love and blessings
KOKOS FAMILY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Local food is a treat - but who can live without good old fashioned Pizza? Here you get it with a capital 'P'. Loved the ambiance, loved the vibe and Lion beer is so much better when you wash down the Meat feast than curry!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's On The Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
hi thanks for your review,
we are happy you liked all aspects of KOKOS, and thank you for uploading the pictures.

hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and hopefully we will see you once again at KOKOS

love and blessings

KOKOS FAMILY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We found this place after reading reviews on here. It is a little hard to find but the owner told us he is working to resolve this. As others have said, the fish and chips are fab! The beach bar itself doesn't have any alcohol but they happily showed us across the road to koko garden where we got to choose from either their menu or the beach bar's. we chose the beach bar's. lovely quirky place, great atmosphere and a film on in the background (open air) Heaven :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's On The Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
hi,
thanks for your kind review,
we are happy that you found the food and service to your satisfaction.we are now in the process of making signs to make it easier for our guests to discover us.
we hope we will see you again during your stay in the beautiful Sri Lanka.

thanks again and blessings

KOKOS FAMILY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko's On The Beach also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Koko's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko's On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.