We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better else where!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rock House

Rock House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rock House to your Saves list
Rock House
213/A, Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 90 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Much better else where!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a old Room, old beds and old mosquito net, old toilet not very clean, but quiet and nice patio. If your not to picky I guess it's ok. Near the beach. Good wifi, good hot water but nothing special. No wow factor! For the same it's good to compare .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The rooms were really spacious and clean- we had a top room with a veranda overlooking the jungle and saw lots of monkeys and a porcupine from there. The family were friendly and helpful and agreed to knock down the price a little for us to have a fan room. Overall a good choice and good value for money. The only downfall i would say was the breakfast, as the cutlery did not look very clean and the coffee was really weak.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Burbs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is cheap and basic. If you are looking for a decent place to sleep, at a low price, this is it! Not a luxurious place, but good enough. I stayed here with a large group, and the location was very close to the beach and restaurants. Service was excellent from Suneil, the grounds keeper. Nice views from the top building. Good for backpacker, charitable groups, and anyone on a budget who plans on keeping busy and not spending tons of time in your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want to be indepentent this is the best pleace. We moved tere, after Trampani Beach house was full. We got a nice clean room, wit AC. We had our friut breakfast every morning, But if you want they are preapring for you more. Price was 5000 Rup. without breakfast. If you don't need fancy hotel, just you want to be like home this is tthe best pleace.......for longer time also. We were there 8 nights during our trip.The bad was bit hard for my back.......I was doing double yoga program))))

Anna from Hungary
Rauli Finland

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Address: 213/A, Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.