We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Gaetano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Gaetano to your Saves list
Villa Gaetano
Kadolana ''Mangrove'' Road | Atharagoda, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at Villa Gaetano for four nights at the end of our stay in Sri Lanka. We emailed the owners Chrishan and Melani directly for prices and availability (gjhapuarachchi@gmail.com) which worked out a better price than booking through the internet. Our room was located on the second floor and was spacious and clean. The bed was a large four poster bed that was very comfortable with a fan overhead as well as A/C in the room. Although not directly on the beach we would arrange with the owners to be taken to the beach free of charge, in their Tuk Tuk and picked up again later, nothing is too much trouble for them, they even came and picked us up from the last B & B we stayed in. It is a very peaceful environment at Villa Gaetano as it is away from the main road and the gardens are well maintained. We ate at Villa Gaetano every night as the food was lovely and at a reasonable price. Melani will give you details of the meal she is thinking of cooking but if you don't like it she will do something else for you. At the end of our stay we were heading back to Colombo airport and Melani arranged a taxi for us at a good price. All in all a very good place to stay that is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for writing an excellent review for us managing your valuable time.As our concept we are giving you a feeling of a Sri Lankan family stay. We are really very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay @ Villa-Gaetano,Unawatuna. So we try our super best to satisfy you in every way. Once again thank you for everything!Hope to see you again in Villa-Gaetano.(Melani+Chrishan's Home)

Melani+Chrishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
57
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Villa Gaetano was an oasis of peace situated about 1km from the busy beach area in Unawatuna. The rooms were large, clean and nicely presented. The bathroom large and clean. Each room led on to a balcony with lovely wicker furniture. The garden was gorgeous and it had a small pool. Good food. Lovely rural walks from the property. Melanie, Chrishan and Gamini could not have been more friendly and helpful. A delightful family run Guest House. The property had its own tuk tuk so very easy to get around - though you could walk to the beach area quite easily. I thoroughly enjoyed my 4 day stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a nice review for us.As it says that you had enjoyed your 4 days away from the busy tourists places.Your satay in Villa-Gaetano is with one of the nice natural mangrove (ECO PARADISE) it gave you a quite and peaceful stay with our best service to you! Once again I thank you and look forward to have you again in Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home).
Melani+Chrishan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Villa Gaetano is a really good place to enjoy a relaxing stay in Unawatuna. Located a bit away from the beach and the more busy beach road, it is a really calm and relaxing area. If you want, you are on the beach in no time, you can use one of the bikes of the owners. Also the owners are really helpful to come and get you from the beach. They can also arrange a pick up from the train / bus station and can help arrange nice visites to Galle or other interesting places in the Neighbourhood.
The location of the villa is excellent, big garden surrounded by palm trees and a nice swimming pool.
When I will come back to Unawatuna, I will definitely visit Villa Gaetano again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review, we are glad to hear that end of your holiday you have relaxed calm and quite.You also had a nice bike tour in Unawatuna. We are here to give our super best service to feel you more comfort within your stay at Villa-Gaetano.Once again thank you and hope to have you again at villa-Gaetano.
Melani & Chrishan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

During my two-month vacation in Sri Lanka, I spend almost one month at this quiet and lovely villa from 29 August to 25 Sept. 2013. The room is very clean with a huge bathroom, AC works perfectly and the hot-water system is almost the best I ever experienced in Sri Lanka. The room also equipped with fridge and washing machine, but sadly the washing machine is broken and we have to wash our clothes during the stay.

They have a biiiiig (almost 1 acre) beautiful private garden with two natural fishponds. We saw lots of wildlife such as squirrels, woodpeckers, varanus and parrots while I sleep at the hammock just on our porch.

Although this quiet villa is a little bit away from the main beach (10 min cycling to unawatuna main beach) and be prepared a short bumpy road, the owner provides us free tuktuk transportation and free bicycle everyday whenever we want. Even free round trip to Galle and Jungle Beach!

A lovely Christian family runs this 6-room villa. They treat us like a part of their family. We experienced most authentic and sincerely "Sri Lanka Hospitality" from Gamini, Melani and Chrishan. Especially, Gamini is a very experienced helpful hotelier and he really knows what to do to satisfy his customers. We could use their kitchen free of charge that helped us cured our "homesick for food“ by cooking ourselves.

The price is very reasonable compare to other guesthouse at unawatuna. We strongly recommended to travellers especially these looking for an affordable but very comfortable long stay.

Tips:

If you are a crab lover, never miss their very good and fresh crab just caught by fisherman at same day. Ask them to cook at traditional way, you will be stunned!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review in Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home).
Dear Sir as you mentioned about the washing machine we apologize from you for that inconvenience and we have got the action to repair it again.
We try our super best to give you an excellent service as you wish and feel you at home.
Thanking you once again for everything!Hope to see you again and have you again at Villa-Gaetano!
Melani & Chrishan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As hard as my first time travelling alone felt, so fantastic was it to be welcomed so warmly to my new Villa Gaetano family. They offer to pick you up at the train station and your adventure begins: the gate slides open, four happy dogs have been awaiting your arrival and three friendly and smiling faces walk up to you with little napkins to clean your hands after a long day of travelling. Then, after having set in your room, you start your experience by sitting at the pool when the owners come up to offer you a coconut from their own garden with a straw.

The rest experienced in the huge garden, with palm trees and singing birds, contrasts sharply with the ever busy and noisy life in Sri Lanka. The place offers big rooms, meals around the day and as many fruit juices as you can handle. As the place has not been around for long, your new input and ideas are greatly valued (I myself have modeled for pictures for the new website). The place offers bikes to make tours to temples in the area and other small excursions. Furthermore, the owner seems to know every person in Sri Lanka that could possibly be of interest, so he can help you with virtually any plan you can come up with.

I have had a great time and would advise everyone to come to Ville Gaetano, I promise you it will take no more than five minutes to feel completely at home in this beautiful place! Maybe the only downside to all this, is that you never want to leave this place…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you very very much for your nice review for us and we are very glad to hear that you had a perfect holiday in Villa-Gaetano ( Melani+Chrishan's Home)actually we want to give our best service for you to make your holiday more nicer so now we have got best results.
As you said about the birds now in our garden we have very nice parrot nest its really nice to see how they are feeding for the little ones.Once again we are thanking you very much and look forward to having you with us again.
Chrishan & Melani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed five days in this resort (family, including two children (15/21). We have never met nicer, friendlier people in Sri Lanka (and we have met a lot of friendly people). The rooms are huge, and incredibly clean and include a fan (AC optional), super large bathrooms. The large garden adjoining a mangrove forest is beautiful (used to be a cinnamon garden): beautiful flowers, very serene atmosphere. The swimming pool is also very clean, and includes sunbeds. Meals include breakfast and dinner: fresh fruit salads, juice, wonderful rice and curry (every evening, something delicious and new). Melanie and Chrisian will go all the way to make your stay pleasant and relaxing. Perfect starting point for trips to for instance Galle (few minutes by tuk tuk). The owners provide bikes (we did a beautiful biking tour to a two thousand year old Buddhist temple (tour by one of the monks included).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback following your peaceful stay at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's Home). We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as our own family members.We think that you have planted some Red Hibiscus and Once you tried to cook the dhal curry too.Hope to see you again.Once again thank you for your nice review.
Melani+Chrishan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Villa Gaetano is set 10 minutes cycling from the Unawatuna Beach
The Guesthouse building has 6 big rooms. 3 on the ground floor and 3 under construction (But the owners told us it should be completed by the end of august) on the first floor. The guest house has a nice pond with very big fish and a very nice swimming pool. The owners Melani and Chrishan will do anything to make you feel like you are part of there family.

We stayed here for our last 3 nights in Sri Lanka. At Galle station Chrishan was waiting for us with his TucTuc and brought us to the Guest House. Because they have there own TucTuc they offer a bring and pickup service to Galle for a really cheap price. Next to that they have free bikes for guests so that you can quickly get to the beach.

The rooms are very big, clean and modern definitely one of the best rooms we had.
We had our breakfast and dinner at the guesthouse, Melani and Chrishan are very good cooks and each meal try to surprise you with something new. Our breakfasts next the normal toast en omelette always included one or two traditional Sri Lankan foods we could try, very delicious!

They also offer you a free look into their kitchen when they prepare your food, a great experience to learn how to make all those Curry's. They also offer a drop service to the Colombo International Airport. And even emailed us when we were back home on how our journey was.

Concluding: One of the best Guesthouses we had in Sri Lanka. Wonder-full owners who make you feel like you are part of there family. Food, Owners, Villa it self all very wonder-full. We wish them the best of luck in the future and definitely recommend them to anyone seeking some relax and pampering time in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrishan S, Manager at Villa Gaetano, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are so glad that you were able to end your round trip at Villa-Gaetano (Melani+Chrishan's home) and relax and enjoy your holiday with us.We hope the curries that we showed in the Cooking Demonstration you have tried once at home too. We constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a perfect stay with us!

We hope that you will visit us again and look forward to making your stay special.

Melani+Chrishan Villa-gaetano Unawatuna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Gaetano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gaetano

Address: Kadolana ''Mangrove'' Road | Atharagoda, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gaetano - Melani and Chrishan's Home located in the village of Atharagoda, Unawatuna in a fully natural setup in mangroves.We have three large separate rooms ach with balconies, each with attached bathrooms & a refrigerator. All bedrooms are furnished. Melani and Chrishan's Home offers 1 free shuttle service per day to beach at your command. Rare facilities like free cookery class& kitchen facilities also are available on request.Other services: Swimming pool - (10meters long), Internet, frees bicycle, Library, Ayurvedic therapy and yoga, 24 hour safety guaranteed service, spacious garden for playing Laundry service, Airport pickup and Sight-seeing. When you are coming to villa gaetano please turn to Heenatigala Road from near the Post Office and turn again from Mangrove Road and come until you find Aturvedic Village Garden then pass the biggest bridge and left side with a green gate is Villa-Gaetano as we are new and a little place there is a little board with ''Melani+Crishan's Home'' Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Gaetano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Gaetano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.