We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo

Flamingo
132 Walledewalle Road, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
0094 912224681
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Salvadoran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our meal was prepared by 12 year old boys - who didn't know A) How to cook a fish B) How to make a drink

After waiting an hour to eat - our meals were waaay overcooked - untouchable. If you don't see an adult working in the kitchen - run, run for your life!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Western Style food in Unawatuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The title says it all really. Usually the more fancy Sri Lankan restaurants belittle the local cousine and try to cook as western as possible and this one is no exception but where most others fail, already at ingredient level, Flamingo actually pulls it off. SO! If you're looking for delicious Sri Lankan food you'll have to change town but if regular "international" (american and south european) is you plate of choice then this is it. Order anything and it will be very good, sometimes even delicious considering the price. Lousy (alcoholic) drinks though! Avoid those and stay with juices and lassies.

ps. there is no beach outside Flamingo anymore due to heavy erosion the last couple of years.

ps 2. the owner also runs a guest house across the street where you can find great and luxurious rooms for bargain prices. just remember to ask for a room on the backside (opposite the front) since the neighbouring clubs can be very disturbing during the night if you stay in a room facing the street, at least in this area. beware though of the janitor/cleaner guy - he's really trying ( I think) but can cause a lot of confusion and frustration if you let him go on.

ps 3. The Guest House was not to be found on Tripadvisor when this review was written so I leave my score here: 4/5

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The fresh barracuda was out of this world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Well , I have to say , I had the best fish there . Just tell them to make sure it's todays catch (they will be honest with you) ,
The servers are friendly and fast . I have to say Sri Lankan's in general are wonderful .
The view is lovely since you can sit there and drink bear and watch the ocean all day . All and all , I absolutely recommend this place .
Koorosh Chris Mir , Experienced traveler , Chef .

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice location on the beach but food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We chose this restaurant purely because of the beach front location, which due to the fact it's located on the stretch which is the narrowest, once the tide comes in at 5.30ish, there is very little beach left to see. Saying that it was pleasant to watch the goings on along this stretch which is really a row of beach front hotels/guest houses cum restaurants.
This restaurant played Country style music which is not everyone's taste and I'm not sure whether that is the norm. In any event it competed with the Reggae playing next door at Chillis restaurant.
We both had Sri Lankan style curries, one chicken, the other prawn, which came with four dollops of different accompaniments and rice. Having eaten elsewhere during our holiday along this stretch of beach, although the meal wasn't bad, we have had better.
The staff, although there were quite a few of them, were a little slow and it took three requests to get our bill and even then they asked us how many drinks we had had !
All in all, nice setting, OK meal, but wouldn't hurry to go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

we had only a short time in unawatuna and wanted to dine on the beach. this restaurant has a few tables lined along the beach. wonderful ambience at sunset.
the staff were friendly and english and were very happy to recommend items on the menu. we went with their choice and have no regrets.

the garlic prawns with rice was by far the best dish. the prawns were fresh and juicy and had a wonderful flavour. had we more time there we would have returned for another meal to try more of the dishes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingo also viewed

 

Been to Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.