We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to have lunch and swim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SurfCity

SurfCity
SurfCity Guesthouse, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
+94 77 137 9960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Grill, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
kigali
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good place to have lunch and swim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This restaurant is right next to a lovely public bay-beach. It's a really nice calm place to swim and doesn't have the usual crazy waves as it's protected by a reef. We ate here a couple times as we were staying a a villa next door and found the food to be good but not sure if i'd enjoy it as much without the swim.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb jumbo prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It' s a little difficult to find your way to this restaurant after the beach has ben ruined, but it's definately worth while. The place isn't much to look at, but the kitchen is great. Had the best jumbo prawn I've had in Sri Lanka! Perfectly grilled, with salad and chips.
According to my wife, the chili was more average, but quite good.
Beatiful ocean view.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great value rooms and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good value for money clean basic rooms or ac if required. Owner is friendly & helpful Asard. Black & White Restaurant with fresh tasty food also friendly staff makes for a great welcoming combination short or long stays.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great owner, sweet music and good vibes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The bar had the best music in town, the owner was really freindly and interesting and so were the staff. They had some great cocktails and we met some really interesting people in there. Well worth visiting!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had lunch here after reading tripadvisor reviews & I have to agree, although it isn't much to look at, the service is friendly, the views are, of course, amazing & the whole fish I had was very fresh & well cooked with fresh, well prepared salad. We returned for a lunch time meal of 6 huge, delicious prawns in a hot sauce base (wrongly described as devilled), with red hot green chillies lurking around washed down with a beer served in an ice cold glass. All for a very reasonable cost, well done all round.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SurfCity also viewed

 

Been to SurfCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SurfCity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.