We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlucky tuna!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Tuna

Lucky Tuna
Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Seafood, Salvadoran
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unlucky tuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We loved this restaurant and ate there a number of times on our holiday. The atmosphere was spot on (chilled music, right beside sea), the food was mainly fresh seafood but we thought this restaurant should be called unlucky tuna as we ate a lot of tuna! All prices were inclusive too which was appreciated, and good value

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Recommended by our hotel as a place to go . The waiter was so smiley and lovely we gave him a tip. The food is ok, I had battered prawns and chips, prawns were overcooked but edible. It's more lunch than a dinner venue. If you want quicky, tasty and reasonably priced food then Lucky Tuna is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Location on Beachfront and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

What an excellent location and the food is delicious. You won't make a mistake on your choice. The fish and calamari are great with a nice salad and fries.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I really like going to Lucky Tuna - it's a great spot - amazing view out to sea and the water just inches away (shame that the beach that use to be here has mostly eroded away). The atmospher here is very good - lots of friendly people just having a good time.

The food is so-so. like so many places in Sri Lanka overcooked fish/seafood seems to be the norm. That said - our server saw that I had not eaten the fish (because it was beyond overcooked) and quickly asked whether there was anything else I wanted that they could offer instead. I declined, so they promptly removed the cost from my bill with no fiss at all. First class service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not the best in Unawatuna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

did not like the food or the service. The tables were dirty and it took ages for someone to come and clean it. average prices

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Tuna also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Tuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.