We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach bar and cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Tuna

Lucky Tuna
Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 59 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Seafood, Salvadoran
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Jessheim, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beach bar and cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Nice place to stay at the beach. Had lunch here almost everyday. Very cheap. Great location.Free sunbeds

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    46
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Barbeque at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Lucky Tuna was recommended as the place for fresh seafood. We were able to be seated at two tables on the front deck. The catch of the day was laid out - a range of some 10 types of fish, crayfish, calamari and goant prawns.
We ask the chef to recommend a selection for our party of 6 people - one parrot fish, 4 jumbo prawns, a large scoop of prawns and a scop of calamari. The chef prepared the seafood on the barbeque which was served on a platter with chips and salad. The fish was most delicious albeit with tons of garlic.
Relative to the menu prices - 800LKR per fish dish, the 10,000LKR for 6 persons did seem disproportionately high - but we did enjoy the very fresh fish and the ability to select our meal prepared on the beach.
We would recommend you give Lucky Tuna a try when holidaying in Unawatuna

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenzie River,QLD
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had lunch here and really enjoyed the atmosphere. Our attendant was lovely. My husband had the tuna and loved it and I asked for spicey chicken and rice. This was not on the menu but my order was taken with no fuss. I thought the lunch prices were very good and the beer was lovely and cold. The restaurant is looking out over the beach and was clean and comfortable. We probably would have eaten here often during our four day stay but the owner introduced himself after we had eaten and was overly friendly. He talked a lot about himself kind of gave us the creeps.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

They expose their fresh fish so you can pick out your own. It is nice but quit expensive, but not more then any other place around.

It tasted good, but not amazing. The staff is friendly and some can speak English very well. The staff enjoys to turn the tv on when cricket is on. So if you are a cricket fan go en join the staff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice place on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

#great location, have to admit that the food was ok, but certainly had much better in other places. Great beer and good service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Tuna also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Lucky Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Tuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.