We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Unawatuna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added CoCo Bay Unawatuna to your Saves list
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 / 4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Aramco
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The Best in Unawatuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Coco Bay is a small beach resort (only 12 rooms) located 3 hours from the airport (via the new expressway) and only a 10 minute tuk tuk ride from Galle Fort. It is situated on a small private piece of land not far from the main road to Galle (to the north) and Unawatuna Beach (to the south). Its location makes it a solid choice if you want to visit Galle Fort, Unawatuna Beach, Jungle Beach, or for whale-watching at Mirissa. To the immediate north of the resort is a small river which separates Coco Bay from a small fishing village. We enjoyed watching the fisherman each morning as we ate our breakfast on the beach. The 100 meter long beach at Coco Bay was nice. It does not have the tourqoise-blue waters or the golden coral sand of Unawatuna Beach or Mirissa (very nice) but we had it to ourselves (something I cannot say for the other beaches). Its constant crashing surf provided beauty and helped create a relaxed atmosphere. It is a nice beach for body surfing and swimming as the beach slopes very gradually and has a sandy bottom void of all vegetation. There are also distant views of Galle Fort and its lighthouse from the beach and on a clear evening it creates an excellent panoramic sunset. Private tuk tuks await to take you to the other beaches or Galle for 300 Rupees - they will be waiting for you just a block outside of the back gate of Coco Bay.

We stayed 5 nights in the Aqua Romantic Room. This was on the floor level which we liked since we could use the semiprivate pool and walk just a few steps to use the public pool or the beach. The king-sized bed was nice. Coco Bay gives you three choices of pillows, daily fruit baskets, maid service whenever you wants it, and snacks at tea time.

Our fondest memories of Coco Bay are of the evening meals which were included in our fee for the room. My wife and I rarely eat at the hotel on vacations. We prefer to be out and about and experience a variety of restaurants. This was not the case with this vacation. We simply could not find a better place than Coco Bay. Each evening we were treated to wonderful five-coarse meal which included lobster and a bottle of wine (small extra charge). We sat a few steps from the beach under the moonlight. The beach was lit with small torches and Galle Fort could be seen across the bay - very romantic. Service was sensational and it was evident that this was the outstanding feature at Coco Bay.

The Highs and Lows

Highs included: service, private location, views across the bay and of the fishermen, pounding surf (nice to sleep and deadened other noises), the food and drinks (try the Coco Punch!!!), location -easy access to Galle; Coco Bay was a refuge for us when we wanted to be free from the heat, the touts, and the other hardships of travel in Sri Lanka

Lows

There is a nice pool but it is set very close to the eating area; it is more of a large lap pool than one for the kids; the beach - it really depends on what vacation you are looking for; if it is simply a beach vacation that you desire, than Coco Bay may not be your best choice; for us the beach was great

Room Tip: we liked the aqua romance rooms not so much for the "romance" as for the immediate access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    56
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
153
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The rooms were very spacious and opened up to an amazing view outside! I liked the recliner on the balcony that made it nice to sit outside and read. The bathrooms were huge and had an interesting window! The service was very friendly and the food was delicious. I was so relaxed afterwards I took an almost two hour nap on the beach!

Room Tip: The romantic suites have a personal hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located between Galle and Unawatuna. The location is perfect for families and for the ones looking for peace and tranquility. It takes about 10 minutes to Unawatuna beach by Tuk tuk and cost 200-350 rupees.

La Mer restaurant serves amazing food and service is great. The hotel is on the most expensive side in Unawatuna but definitely worth the money.

The staff is very helpful and will do their best to accomadate your needs.

The rooms are great and they have a pillow and a soap menu. We got fruits and sweets on the house almost every day and the room was cleaned twice a day.

The restaurants& bars and Unawatuna beach are about 10 minutes away. The Unawatuna beach is much nicer with turquise water and beach bars and restaurants but also very crowded.

We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a luxury getaway in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Modern hotel which is a tuk tuk ride from Unawatuna. Rooms have great bathrooms with a view of the sea. Staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Ramay in the restaurant). The lunch and breakfast was good although sometimes it felt they were trying to be too fancy.

The beach is clean and the sea is v shallow and calm. The pool is refreshing although small and right in front of the restaurant. The loungers are v comfortable although they don't have enough.

Overall, a decent hotel but at USD 225 it is too expensive given other nearby options available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Loved the bedroom here, bright and modern, goregous views, enormous bathroom with rain shower. Incredible staff and the welcome by the manger was very nice.

We liked the 'cold' pool, at least it was refreshing from the heat unlike the baths that most pools turn into. If you are looking for an amazing beach then this isn't the best choice. You can swim here but the river outlet is right next to it. I have seen enough rivers in Asia to know what goes in them so I chose not to swim here.

Dinner is different from the day time menu which I liked. It is very generous, starter, soup, sorbet, choice of 4 mains, dessert. I didn't find the food amazing like other reviewers. The seafood was cooked well but all the dishes are so dated and heavily western and a bit boring. We tend to have big appetites but I think they have gone over the top on portion sizes so there is a lot of food wasted.

Room Tip: I think upstairs is better for the balcony with a view. The plunge pools with the deluxe rooms are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent place. Rooms where clean big and had all you need and some extra. We had a fantastic time at Coco bay and will definetly come back next time we are in Sri Lanka.
The most frindly and kind staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel 3 weeks and absolutly happy. The town is near and iti si possible to go for shopping and to see Fort Galle.
The Chef in the hotel made for our baby what she wants without no extra money
Next year will stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Address: 10 / 4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CoCo Bay Unawatuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.