We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Roti, short and sweet stop on the way back to Galle.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roti Shop

Roti Shop
Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Asian
Description: è un ristorantino davvero minuscolo (ha solo 4-5 tavoli) in cui si mangiano specialità locali: i rotti. viene recensito dalla lonely planet a pag. 140. si trova sulla strada principale di unawatuna ma non ricordo il nome della via. secondo me andrebbe incluso su tripadvisor perchè si mangia benissimo e il posto è molto caratteristico. vera cucina singalese.
Restaurant details
Description: è un ristorantino davvero minuscolo (ha solo 4-5 tavoli) in cui si mangiano specialità locali: i rotti. viene recensito dalla lonely planet a pag. 140. si trova sulla strada principale di unawatuna ma non ricordo il nome della via. secondo me andrebbe incluso su tripadvisor perchè si mangia benissimo e il posto è molto caratteristico. vera cucina singalese.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Roti, short and sweet stop on the way back to Galle.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After seeing turtles with a friend in Habaraduwa, we stopped on the way to Galle in Unawatuna to get a quick Roti. We bought the chocolate and banana Roti. Which was brilliant.
As far as I am aware, we were there quite late, so it was nice to find somewhere so small still open. The staff were quiet, but it's nice to not be bothered too much sometimes. Overall, very good. Would eat there again, given the chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

had a vegie roti as well as a banana and nutella. you don't get a lot of conversation from these guys but its worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Decent, if Overpriced Roti and Lassie. . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The service here, like mentioned before is very, very laid back but remember its not a restaurant pretty much a food stall lucky enough to have the space for a few chairs.
We ordered one Cheese, Tomato and Onion and one Cheese Garlic and Onion rotis, one banana milkshake and one sweet lassie.
The rotis were wonderfully cooked with strong flavours and what seemed to be a cheddar cheese. They were, for the price not filling enough, (I think two would be a better lunch-but if your gonna spend over 500rs you might aswel go and get a proper meal).
The plain sweet lassie was very good and at 190rs better value although the milkshake was far too watery.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful Street food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Small simple little roti shop. Reasonable prices and good rotis made in front of you. Service is slow as most of the time the guys that run this are in the back room watching TV. More western filling than local Sri Lanka favours but I guess that is due to the tourists requests. Cheap and cheerful

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Can't complain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Average place. Nothing much in terms of an atmosphere but then again all roti shops are so. The food was not great but not bad either. What impressed us most was the friendly service and meticulous attention to detail in terms of cleanliness. All raw ingredients were clingwrapped etc. Biggest advantage this place has going is tht it is open late. Something hard to come by in Unawatuna.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roti Shop also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Roti Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roti Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.