We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chintha was very welcoming and passionate about cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Spice

Happy Spice
Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
94771113572
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chintha was very welcoming and passionate about cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had a cooking class here and selected this place entirely at random (there are a few places that offer this along the same road). I would definately recommend Happy Spice! Chintha showed us how to cook the full traditional rice and curry and adjusted the recipe to our tastes (inability to handle HOT food!). She really took her time and got us involved (although you don't have to if you don't want to get yoru hands dirty). We then had the pleasure of eating all of the food afterwards, which there was plenty of. Chinta is very personable and shared some stories about what she has been doing throughout her life and after the class she emailed all of the recipes so we can try to recreate rice and curry at home.
Fanatstic experience which i would thoroughly recommend.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    48
    13
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great cooking class for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband, kids (6 and 8) and I did the 3 hour Happy Spice cooking class in March 2012. Chintha is a great cook and teacher and the lesson was great fun. We cooked fish (tuna) curry, chicken curry, dahl, pumpkin curry, spicy potatoes, pickled eggplant and coconut sambal. The feast that we prepared was delicious!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fab Breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Go here for breakfast. The pot of tea is HUGE and appears to be bottomless and the Sri Lankan omelettes are the best I have tasted. They have free wi fi and are in no rush to send you on your way. I am alsi told that their french fries are home made and very tasty. Lovely family.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food worth waiting for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were told about happy spice by a lady we met, who recommended doing the cooking lesson and that it as the best curry in Unawatuna. She was not wrong. My husband and I did the cooking lesson which included going to the food market in Galle to get ingredients. The food market is fascinating and anyone that is into cooking will certainly enjoy the experience.
The owner of the restaurant Chentua is delightful and clearly works very hard to make her restaurant work. All the curries are cooked from fresh so it does take about 40 mins to make but so worth it! The day after we did the cooking lesson we went back to eat as they had the most amazing giant blue prawns on the menu and again we weren't disappointed.
Chentua's curries are without doubt the best in Unawatuna, and we are big curry lovers... Go on try it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I'll be Back !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Small family run affair with four tables within the restaurant and two tables on the outside, a bit run down looking but all added to the overall affect.  Waited 40 minutes for meal, quick service, ordered prawn curry and pumpkin curry with an aubergine curry on the side.  Tried to order rotti but waiter said they weren't serving any breads.  The waiter was quite sullen but overall service was good.  All food served with white rice, albeit the rice a bit on the cold side.  Wifi available which was really quick.  Meal was cheapest we have had so far in Unawatuna, total cost 1500 including one Lion beer and a bottle of water.  Will be back to try the other curries and when they serve the big jumbo prawns and salad again as the table next to us were served this and it looked delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Spice also viewed

 

Been to Happy Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.