We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Tuna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucky Tuna
Save
You added Lucky Tuna to your Saves list
Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our room had such an amazing view, it was really gorgeous! Looks straight out on the sea, and a lovely balcony to enjoy this too (however it's open balcony shared with the room next door). The room was very modern and spacious and the bathroom was really big with a good shower.
I've reviewed it as average because it's above their restaurant, and it's not the noise that was annoying because it wasn't that noisy, but you had to walk through the restaurant and staff every time you came in or out and they would always try and sell us a day trip or get us to rent a mo-ped - we are backpacking and didn't have loads of money - we were staying here as a treat for a few days before my birthday, we kept telling the guy that we didn't have loads of money to splurge and he just said it's really cheap etc and it was really difficult to keep saying no.
One day we did want to rent a mo-ped and he was nowhere to be found, we asked another member of staff who tried to call him but didn't get through and said he'd be back in around 30 minutes (who knows if that was true) anyway, we really wanted to get going so we walked on and found another place to rent a mo-ped from, and when we returned in the evening he looked really annoyed with us for not waiting around and goingsomewhere else. I know they are trying to help and be friendly by offering us day trips but it was too pushy and not the way we are enticed into buying things.
We ate at the restaurant a few nights and it was good food & atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Whilst I agree kingfisher is number 1 for dinner in Una, the Lucky Tuna is still definitely worth a visit. The seafood BBQ is what most people go for and it did not disappoint. The jumbo prawns were seriously delicious and the BBQ tuna was stood too (although a little overcooked). Really reasonable prices and good serving sizes. Would go back next visit to una.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The rooms are quite expensive (we paid around £50 per night as we booked 4 nights, that's around 10,000 rupees per night), but it was beautiful. Amazing shower, very large room, and balcony overlooking the bright blue sea. Wake up, have a swim, relax on a lounger, have a fresh lime juice, tan up. God I wish I was back there!!!
Had some really splendid fresh from the barbecue, with prawns as big as your forearm. Really good to see a lot of local people eating there at the weekend as well - always a good sign. Staff were very attentive, and I would recommend the Arrack (coconut) spirit - but beware the hangover.... They also have a very loud rave next door on a Friday til late, but don't complain about the noise - go and join in!!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are bigger but more expensive. All rooms are really, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

i have heard about the place but wasnt sure about the rooms. Didnt expect to have decent rooms. It was cleaner than expected.View is amazing.but i thought room only $80 is bit too much for the place. Staff was helpful. Nothing special about the food. do not try the milkshake. wasn't good at all...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is right on the beach just above a restaurant. So when we were taken there we thought it would be an absolute dump! How wrong we were! The room we had was stunning! Flat screen TV, big double bed, amazing balcony to look over the stunning beach, and an amazing bathroom! Couldn't ask for more! We had one of the best 3 nights of our lives there, really living it up!

The guys that own the place were amazingly nice as well.

For young travellers that are here to enjoy themselves, this is the place to be. It isn't a family place, and nor does it pretend to be.

We got the place for $40 a night, which I know is 50% the norm, but it was also the low-season. This was incredible value for money for 3 of us!

One problem is the cleaning up, which isn't normally done, you need to ask them to do it especially.

But this place made Unawatuna for me. I was very happy to be there and experience the amazing beaches that Sri Lanka had to offer!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Like many other "joints" in Unawatuna I didn't expect lucky tuna to have decent rooms but I was completely in shock when i saw the rooms... It was quite good!!! However it is NOT a boutique hotel. that is quite a bit of an overstatement. Its just 4 rooms above the bar and restaurant!

IT is however clean. Hot water was available. check in and check out is both at 12.

As a local i'm quite used to not being given the same respect as foreigners when I go down south but I have say lucky tuna you took it to a different level. You completely ignored us. We had to wait for service for quite a while. then when the chips arrived it was cold!!! That was just the start... anyway we didn't stay too long because we went off to see the whales!!! but still don't think i'd come again...

Quite sad really!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a nice swim, this place provided a good respite from the sun (while still being on the beach) and an amazing lunch. The grilled calamari and the prawn curry are both excellent! Service may be a little slow. It is a beach-shack after all.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucky Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Tuna

Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Tuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.