We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tartaruga Restaurant & Bar

Tartaruga Restaurant & Bar
Yaddehemulla Road | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 59 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
“all great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great place, great food, and very friendly stuff. We had a lobster and the waiter there actually bring us a fresh one and took a photo of us. Also very good decor. The food itself was amazing, it was cooked very thoroughly. It's not easy to access it from the beach, but trust me this restaurant should not be passed when Your are in Unawatuna.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our Tuk Tuk driver recommended this place and we loved it . Great view ,crashing waves and amazing jumbo prawns . Everything was fresh and delicious. Some icey cold Coronas and Carlsbergs topped it off nicely. The service was spot on; finger bowls with lime wedges and plates for the shells readily on hand . We have eaten at Kingfisher too - Tartaruga is certainly as good if not better .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Crashing waves & Jumbo prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The beach has changed giving a very romantic edge of crashing waves below as we ate devilled chicken & jumbo prawns. Both dishes very tasty garlic sauce on the prawns extra cost without being full explained, garlic sauce but on menu 'Singapore chilly' jumbo prawns, still did not detract from the overall evening. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice place overlooking crashing surf! Grilled fish and calamari were terrific! Excellent service in a relaxed environment. Good prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great views, friendly staff, and plenty choices of the menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner went there to dine and hugely enjoyed our food. Plenty choices on menu and reasonable prices. The vanilla milkshake is heaven there! Try it! Also banana fritters I feel is best out of all restaurants I've been. The view is nice, table is on beach, so you are relaxed. Go and see for yourself, you don't regret it! One more thing, do not be put off as there only one entrance to restaurant and that's back alley as the water from sea has eroded some of it main entrance through beach unfortunately but the quality has not changed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartaruga Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Tartaruga Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartaruga Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.